Divx codec installed but not available

Moderator: Ken Berry

RedRocker777

Divx codec installed but not available

Post by RedRocker777 »

I installed Divx 6.5, then when I open up VS and try to save... select AVI, then options, then AVI tab, the drop down does not show Divx as an option.
Anything I can do?
User avatar
Ron P.
Advisor
Posts: 12002
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Post by Ron P. »

Are you running WinXP or Vista? The DivX codec should show in the Compression pull-down menu, of the AVI tab.

View System Specifications for DivX:
http://www.divx.com/divx/system_requirements.php

It should not require re-installing to get VS to recognize the new codec, but if all else fails then you might try doing a repair. Be sure to back-up any filters, effects, etc. that you have personally created or installed prior to doing a repair or re-install.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
sjj1805
Posts: 14383
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB
Location: Birmingham UK

Post by sjj1805 »

User avatar
Ron P.
Advisor
Posts: 12002
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Post by Ron P. »

I just took a quick look through the Encoding in DivX link. I'm more convinced that the reason the OP can not see the DivX codec in his AVI compression menu, is due to it being an MPEG-4, and that VS with Vista does not support MPEG-4.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
RedRocker777

Vista :(

Post by RedRocker777 »

Yes, Vista.
Guess I'll be reverting back to XP for time being. Thanks for the replies!
etech6355
Posts: 2121
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 3:24 am
Location: US

Post by etech6355 »

I don't see Divx as being supported in Vista according to this link:
http://www.divx.com/divx/system_requirements.php
rhand

Post by rhand »

vidoman wrote:I just took a quick look through the Encoding in DivX link. I'm more convinced that the reason the OP can not see the DivX codec in his AVI compression menu, is due to it being an MPEG-4, and that VS with Vista does not support MPEG-4.
I've also tried and failed to see the DivX codec. I'm using VS 10 Standard and Vista Business. Does VS 11 support DivX output in Vista?

For what it's worth VirtualDub can use the DivX encoder with no problem.

This is important to me because a digital picture frame I bought only supports DivX movies.

TIA,
-Roger
Svuppe
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 11:51 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Svuppe »

I had the exact same problem when I first installed Vista, not only with DivX but several other codecs as well. I since found the solution, which apparently is a well-known old bug in XP. Vista must have inherited it :P Anyway, here is the original description for the XP fix:
DeXT
Senior Member
Registered: Mar 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 293
Dissappearing CODECs in XP: FIX!!

Well I discovered this some weeks ago but only published it in a spanish forum (www.peque.org).

As you know, seems there is a 'bug' in XP, perhaps related to DivX 4 and up, which causes CODECs "dissappearing", so you cant install any new CODEC and the only solution being format and reinstall.

The fact is, I discovered what causes this and how to fix it without the need to reinstall everything again. The procedure is as follows:

1. Search the followind Key in the registry:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Drivers32]

2. You'll see a list of values containing FOURCC references and CODECs, such as:

"VIDC.I420"="msh263.drv"
"VIDC.IYUV"="iyuv_32.dll"
"vidc.iv50"="ir50_32.dll"
"msacm.l3acm"="D:\WINXP\System32\l3codeca.acm"
"vidc.DIV3"="DivXc32.dll"
"vidc.DIV4"="DivXc32f.dll"
"msacm.divxa32"="DivXa32.acm"
"vidc.DIVX"="DivX.dll"
"vidc.BT20"=""

Look at the empty one (vidc.BT20). Search empty values like this one and delete 'em (they are useless).

3. Enjoy your full list of CODECs again!!

The fun part is, seems no one was able to discover this even on the DivX official forum where there have been lots of requests for this subject. I did it with Sysinternals' RegMon utility. VDub reported an OVERFLOW error while enumerating the CODEC list so this was easy to track down.

Hope you find it useful. And if anyone wishes to publish it in a FAQ, just do it.

Regards,

DeXT
This didn't help me directly, but I searched my entire registry for empty codecs, and I had one in another location, namely here:
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\DRIVERS32] called "vidc.uldx"=""

When I removed this one, all my codecs showed up again in VS as well as VirtualDub. So search for all codecs in the registry, and delete all empty ones you may find. And a backup before you do may be wise too.
sjj1805
Posts: 14383
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB
Location: Birmingham UK

Post by sjj1805 »

Svuppe
Above 'fix' added to Useful tips