4K video on HD timeline

Moderator: Ken Berry

Vdanny
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 5:02 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Nvidia 1060 6GB

4K video on HD timeline

Post by Vdanny »

Hi,
If I add a 4K clip to an HD timeline and want to perform HD pans and zooms will Videostudio use the full 3840x2160 resolution of the source clip? Alternatively, would it be necessary instead to add the clip, activate "Resize mode" and then choose "Original Size" to accomplish this? Surprisingly some, but not all, video editing programs actually downsample the UHD footage to HD when set "to fit" on the timeline and if pans or zooms are employed cause further degradation (below HD) of the image . Thanks for your assistance.
User avatar
RobertOZ
Advisor
Posts: 2399
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 12:50 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asus Prime B550M-A WI-FI AM4 mATX
processor: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 3 6 GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Asus Geforce GTX 1650 GDDR6 Driver 537 13
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 7 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Philips 32" IPS LED, Samsung 28" 3840x2160 UHD 4K
Corel programs: VS2018/21/22/23 & MS 3D, MCC XL
Location: Mornington, Vic. Australia

Re: 4K video on HD timeline

Post by RobertOZ »

Have you actually tried pan & zoom on 4k 3840x2160 video, seems OK without any down sampling
Vdanny
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 5:02 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Nvidia 1060 6GB

Re: 4K video on HD timeline

Post by Vdanny »

Hi Robert,
Thanks for your reply. I did try a few tests and it did seem to retain the resolution but I wanted to ask just to confirm. :D
Thanks again! That makes it much easier than having to mess around to get the desired results. I must say I am finding the 2022 version very quick and rock solid on my system.