Insufficient Memory

Legacy Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:17 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: HP Omen 870-255xt
processor: i7 7700
ram: 16GB
Video Card: nVidia 1070
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Vizio 43" M-series 4k television
Corel programs: Photo Impact X3, Paint Shop Pro 2018

Insufficient Memory

Post by Legacy Author »

LOVE Photo Impact, and even though I upgraded to Paint Shop Pro 2018, I still find myself going back to PI. The only problem I have EVER experienced is "Insufficient Memory", even though I have an 8gb 1070 video card and 16gb of RAM.

Is there a patch or does anyone have any suggestions?

I know that other programs have a place where you can set the allocate how much memory a program uses. Is there any setting like this for PI, maybe in the registry?
jernatety
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Insufficient Memory

Post by jernatety »

It's the physical ram and the processor on your computer. Doesn't have anything to do with the video card. I would suggest closing all other open programs when you plan on doing any resource intensive image editing. It's not going to change unless you get a different computer. I have the same problem when I edit on my company issued business class Lenovo laptop. Although it has 16gb of ram and an i5 core processor, it does the same thing. It never does it on my personal HP laptop with 16gb of ram and an i7 dual core processor.
Legacy Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:17 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: HP Omen 870-255xt
processor: i7 7700
ram: 16GB
Video Card: nVidia 1070
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Vizio 43" M-series 4k television
Corel programs: Photo Impact X3, Paint Shop Pro 2018

Re: Insufficient Memory

Post by Legacy Author »

Task manager only says I'm using 40% of my RAM, though. Are you saying that if I upgrade my RAM, I won't get/will get fewer insufficient memory warnings?
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 13370
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 19, 20, PSP2021, PI, MS3D
Location: UK

Re: Insufficient Memory

Post by lata »

Hi

What version of PI are you using?
I have X3 installed with 16 Gb ram and do not get this error.
I do not think increasing the ram will fix this issue.
What are you actually doing when the error shows?

i assume you have re-installed the program?
Regards Trevor
Legacy Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:17 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: HP Omen 870-255xt
processor: i7 7700
ram: 16GB
Video Card: nVidia 1070
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Vizio 43" M-series 4k television
Corel programs: Photo Impact X3, Paint Shop Pro 2018

Re: Insufficient Memory

Post by Legacy Author »

It shows in my information to the right. X3. And yes, I even reinstalled Windows and reinstalled it.

What am I doing? Just editing large pictures with multiple objects. The funny thing is that on my last computer, much weaker but still with 16gb of RAM, I never ran out of memory.

I have 16 GB of RAM and it's just frustrating.
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 13370
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 19, 20, PSP2021, PI, MS3D
Location: UK

Re: Insufficient Memory

Post by lata »

Hi
Just trying to edit an image 5472 x 3648
Added a lot of shapes, as I did that I watched Task Manager – Performance to view the ram used
There was no change when adding these objects.
I think the error report may be describing the problem incorrectly.
That is if the program simply stalls and cannot id the problem could return any obscure message
So what do you see viewing Task Manager
What type of images are you using , my test used Jpeg.

Clutching at straws, can you run the program choosing to “Run As Administrator” does that make a difference?
Can you provide a sample?
If you save your work as a UFO, you can upload to a sharing site, one drive google drive, Dropbox etc
I am quite willing to try using your files.
Regards Trevor
JustDucky
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2021 4:58 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Insufficient Memory

Post by JustDucky »

I know this is an older thread, but I'm having a similar problem.

I have Windows 10 and am using PhotoImpact X3. I've been using it for many years. Today I encountered this issue for the first time. In the past, I've seen the "Insufficient memory" error when trying top copy and paste an image into PI and I typically just shut down the program and reopen and it works fine.

Today was something different. A client sent me several images, some .png some .jpg - one folder of these files opens fine in PI, the other folder will not open any of them. Some as small as 445 KB. Here is what happens - I click on "Open", I browse to the image I want to open, it starts to open in PI, but then I get a box (the dimensions of the image) in gray with the words "Insufficient memory" within the gray image box and then a separate pop up box which reads: "Unable to pen the file X:xxx.PNG" and then when I click "OK" in that box, the entire program shuts down.

I can open several other images without issue - but as soon as I try these specific ones, it crashes. I tried closing and reopening the program, I tried restarting my computer...same problem. I download the free trial of Paint Shop Pro and these same images open with no problem. Photoshop also will open these images with no problem.

Does anyone have a clue why this would happen? I thought at first that the image files themselves were corrupt - but since they will open in other programs, that seems unlikely. Since all other images seem to be opening with no problems with my PI, it seems the program itself is working fine as well.

Anyone?
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21921
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 11
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte B550M DS3H AC
processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
ram: 32 GB DDR4
Video Card: AMD RX 6600 XT
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB SSD + 2 TB HDD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2021; PSP 2022; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW2021
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: Insufficient Memory

Post by Ken Berry »

Unfortunately, given the fact that Corel apparently dropped support for PI quite a few years ago now, we have only one expert on it, and he is currently on a holiday cruise for several weeks. So I'm afraid you will probably have to wait for his return before you can expect a response.
Ken Berry
Mmostudio
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2021 6:01 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS F2AB5-M
processor: AMD trinity quad-core a10-5800k
ram: 8 GB DDR3
Video Card: ASUS Radeon RX 570 OC
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2x 500gb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung CR50 32"
Corel programs: Photoimpact

Re: Insufficient Memory

Post by Mmostudio »

Yo, I'm having memory issues too. I'm pretty sure I know what the problem is... if you go to File > Preferences > General or Press F6, then go to System you'll see an option to limit RAM usage. Mine is currently unchecked but what concerns me is it only says maximum memory 2047MB (2GB)... My guess is the program thinks I have 2GB of memory and crashes (not close but tool stops working) when using Path Drawing Tool when there are a little as 10 objects. It's very annoying designing trees for my game... My only solution when it happens is to minimize, then maximize program so I'm able to save my progress. Then I have to close and re-open program to continue my work. I have to do this every 30-60 minutes.

I'm hoping there is a spot in the registry where I can increase this 2047MB cap the program seems to have to utilize my 8gb. Don't think installing an additional 8gb will solve this issue. I've tried looking but can't seem to find where the program has this 2047mb hardcoded in registries.

It's just such a bummer, I've been using Ulead Photoimpact for about 15 years, I've tried multiple times to use Paintshop Pro, even again recently but I just find it difficult to transition, the layers, selecting things, it just doesn't work for me. I downloaded GIMP the other day but still same thing. I really would hate to learn another program. I just want to use what I'm use to. Damn you coral, and damn you Ulead for selling out I product I enjoy and seem many others still do.

Please... I'm on a deadline and I would really like to solve this memory issue along with others.
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21921
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 11
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte B550M DS3H AC
processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
ram: 32 GB DDR4
Video Card: AMD RX 6600 XT
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB SSD + 2 TB HDD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2021; PSP 2022; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW2021
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: Insufficient Memory

Post by Ken Berry »

As I've already said, we have only one PI expert, and he's not back from holidays for at least another week or so. I know nothing about the program, but I suspect you have already answered your question when you said you've been using PI for the past 15 years. When it came out, 2 GB of RAM was probably considered quite a lot, and the program designers would just not have contemplated anything higher. But hopefully our resident expert may have a different opinion when he returns.
Ken Berry
Mmostudio
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2021 6:01 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS F2AB5-M
processor: AMD trinity quad-core a10-5800k
ram: 8 GB DDR3
Video Card: ASUS Radeon RX 570 OC
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2x 500gb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung CR50 32"
Corel programs: Photoimpact

Re: Insufficient Memory

Post by Mmostudio »

Yea I've read what you said Berry, I was just adding additional information to the thread so our one expect may be able to help us solve the issue when he returns.
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 13370
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 19, 20, PSP2021, PI, MS3D
Location: UK

Re: Insufficient Memory

Post by lata »

Hi Ken not sure I would consider me as the expert in using PhotoImpact but thanks for that, it has been a while since I last used the program, In fact I have just installed PI today.
Mmostudio on the other hand has been using for 15 years so probably much more knowledgeable than I.

OK
First the setting via File – Preferences – System does allow us to set a maximum disc space but only by checking the box, otherwise NO cap is set then your ram could be fully accessed.
Where installed ram is low then Page Filing is applied, browsing the internet for info found this, maybe worth a read.

How To Manage Virtual Memory (Pagefile) In Windows 10 | Tom's Hardware (tomshardware.com)

https://www.tomshardware.com/news/how-t ... d%20Paging.

Page filing is by default set automatically for your system to manage, check that this is so.
Unless you have change Page Filing I doubt it is set wrong and that the PhotoImpact message is a little confusing.

JustDucky mentions having problems with specific files where PI refuses to open them
Mmostudio are you having the same issues where PI works with some images but fails with other images.

As other programs are also having problems using the same images (GIMP) I would again suspect the images are the problem and not the program, although we could argue that the programs should handle the files. You mentioned using PSP, do the images open without issues using that program.

As a thought---- It is possible that the images are newer types using High Efficiency Image Format (HEIF) which many programs may not be able to manage, of course other image codecs have been created since Photo Impact was last updated.

Are you able to share your problem images, you can upload to a sharing site then provide the share link.
If you do not wish to make the images public then PM me with the link.
Even so all we can do is confirm the problem with a possible fix in ueing another image editor to resave the files to a more editable format.
Regards Trevor