[IDEA] Sharpening by denoising a highpass copy

AfterShot Pro Plugins
Arnfinn
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 2:00 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC. SABERTOOTH X58 Rev 1.xx
processor: Intel Core i7 CPU 960 3.20GHz 3.20GHz
ram: 12 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670
sound_card: High Definition Audio Device [5x]
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 12 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: BenQ G2400W 24,0" + Acer X203H 19,9"
Corel programs: ASP
Location: Norway

[IDEA] Sharpening by denoising a highpass copy

Post by Arnfinn »

I just saw this amazing new technique for sharpening an image without making the noise worse.
Look at this video


Forget that it's done with PS/Topaz. I thought the idea of denoising a desaturated highpass copy to sharpen an image was quite brilliant. I'm not good at programming myself or have any knowledge about what's possible or not with ASP, but I instantly thought about Wavelet Denoise/Sharpen when I saw this. The problem with sharpening in ASP with the current tools/plugins is that it enhances noise one way or the other. If it's possible to apply some of the ideas into sharpening plugins or functions it could give better results on our images...
Long time AfterShot Pro & Bibble user...
http://creativewithlight.com/
tintin
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 2:45 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Ryzen R5 3600X

Re: [IDEA] Sharpening by denoising a highpass copy

Post by tintin »

hi,

the idea is indeed brilliant.
the problem i see to get this done in asp is the speed... in ASP everything is processed on the fly. in the video you see how long it takes to process each of the step for the whole image (you also know how long it takes to let full image be sharpened or denoised by ASP). in such plugin you would have to do both plus some extra steps (e.g. the high pass) in 'one' step...
so principally i think it should be possible in asp - all the steps had to be programmed in one plugin (we might ask spoilerhead, since he already has the denoise and the sharpen, high pass should be easy) - but i think it would be slow...

br
tintin
my plugins on the official plugins homepage
If you find my plugins helpful, please make a donation to support further developments - just click here, thank you!
spoilerhead
Posts: 133
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 8:18 am
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 13.5TB
Location: Vienna

Re: [IDEA] Sharpening by denoising a highpass copy

Post by spoilerhead »

Imho this is what Wavelet Sharpen does already.

Sharpening always boils down to an amplification of the high pass part of an image.

What WS does is to combine the amplification part (the actual sharpening) with an edge based factor. (i.e. it only gets applied around edges), what imho is the same as as denoising the HP, as it won't amplify noise in smooth parts of the image. (this is the "edge" control in WS)
my ASP Plugins - donation button ( send beer! :) )
linux,7d, glass and a huge mug of coffee.
If you got any immediate problems with my plugins, don't by shy on contact me on GoogleTalk.
Arnfinn
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 2:00 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC. SABERTOOTH X58 Rev 1.xx
processor: Intel Core i7 CPU 960 3.20GHz 3.20GHz
ram: 12 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670
sound_card: High Definition Audio Device [5x]
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 12 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: BenQ G2400W 24,0" + Acer X203H 19,9"
Corel programs: ASP
Location: Norway

Re: [IDEA] Sharpening by denoising a highpass copy

Post by Arnfinn »

Thanks for the feedback Spoilerhead :D I guess I haven't used the "edge" control properly then...
Long time AfterShot Pro & Bibble user...
http://creativewithlight.com/