Solution: BORIS won't install on X8 if you had X7

Post Reply
jaholstein
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 5:56 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: H57M01_x64
processor: 2.93 gigahertz Intel Core i3 530
ram: 6GB
Video Card: Intel HD Graphics [Display adapter]
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 980.77 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Gateway LP1925

Solution: BORIS won't install on X8 if you had X7

Post by jaholstein »

When you purchase x8 you get links to three executable files
3programs.jpg
3programs.jpg (13.81 KiB) Viewed 9748 times
I just happened to see an error message concerning BORIS Graffiti, so I dug deeper

Turns out I had to manually remove this file from WINDOZE
Boris for X7.jpg
Boris for X7.jpg (7.69 KiB) Viewed 9748 times
and then BORIS installed cleanly in X8.

Regards, Jim

@ADMIN:
What is the best way to communicate to Corel that the next installer programs for VSx9 check for & delete prior versions of BORIS?
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12458
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Solution: BORIS won't install on X8 if you had X7

Post by lata »

Hi Jim

First I think you are the only one to have this problem, certainly I have installed X8 along with X7 and have not had any problems.
Neither have other members of this forum reported this, at least I don’t think so.

Your best option is to use your free support period and contacting Corel Support.
Logon to your Corel account for details.
Corel also have a facebook account, you could try that.
Regards Trevor
Umatic
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2015 10:17 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Solution: BORIS won't install on X8 if you had X7

Post by Umatic »

jaholstein is correct. I had this same problem and fixed it the same way. I don't see why Boris has to refuse to coexist with itself.
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12458
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Solution: BORIS won't install on X8 if you had X7

Post by lata »

Hi

Ok

Well I have X7 installed along with the Bonus pack ProDad Boris etc
I have also installed X8 without any problems relating to Boris.

I assume your X7 version was 64 bit and not 32 bit?
Regards Trevor
Umatic
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2015 10:17 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Solution: BORIS won't install on X8 if you had X7

Post by Umatic »

That's great, thanks. Yes, 64 bit.
Umatic
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2015 10:17 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

SUPPORT RESPONSE - BORIS won't install on X8 if you had X7

Post by Umatic »

This is in fact an issue. I received this from Corel support:

"The version of Boris Graffiti that came with VideoStudio Ultimate X7 is the same version that comes with X8 Ultimate. So uninstalling it and then reinstalling it from the X8 Ultimate Bonus will correct that or you could have copied the Graffiti6.vft plugin from the following folder:
c:\Program Files\Corel\Corel VideoStudio Ultimate X7\vft_plug
to:
c:\Program Files\Corel\Corel VideoStudio Ultimate X8\vft_plug "

A little confusing but basically, if you want X7 and X8 to coexist with Boris in both you must temporarily uninstall it form your existing version. Afterward you will not get the error message from Boris and it will install. After install copy the plug in from/to the appropriate folders mentioned above.
o0spyder0o
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 2:49 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asus P8z68 Gen 3
processor: Intel I7 2700k
ram: 12 gb
Video Card: Asus GTX 970 4gb ram
sound_card: Realtek HD audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VE248
Corel programs: VS Ultimate X7/X8/X10 : PSP Pro X9

Re: Solution: BORIS won't install on X8 if you had X7

Post by o0spyder0o »

I had the same issue, I didn't uninstall X7 before making sure X8 would run properly, it seems it leaves out that graffiti plugin for some reason. Bit of a bug in the install there.
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12458
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Solution: BORIS won't install on X8 if you had X7

Post by lata »

Hi

Corel have provided a patch for this problem, please view here

http://www.videostudiopro.com/en/support/updates/
Regards Trevor
o0spyder0o
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 2:49 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asus P8z68 Gen 3
processor: Intel I7 2700k
ram: 12 gb
Video Card: Asus GTX 970 4gb ram
sound_card: Realtek HD audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VE248
Corel programs: VS Ultimate X7/X8/X10 : PSP Pro X9

Re: Solution: BORIS won't install on X8 if you had X7

Post by o0spyder0o »

Ahh nice one, that was quickly sorted. Thanks
o0spyder0o
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 2:49 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asus P8z68 Gen 3
processor: Intel I7 2700k
ram: 12 gb
Video Card: Asus GTX 970 4gb ram
sound_card: Realtek HD audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VE248
Corel programs: VS Ultimate X7/X8/X10 : PSP Pro X9

Re: Solution: BORIS won't install on X8 if you had X7

Post by o0spyder0o »

I removed X7 and X8 then did a fresh install of X8 and Boris still didn't add its files. This is with the Ultimate upgrade.
The patch above worked although adding the graffiti vft file from X7 also did the trick initially.
Prodad initially had issues setting itself up when I launched X8 for the first time, that's why I removed all versions and started again, that works fine now.
I only have one hiccup and that is with 'error! Can't load image file' with quite a few of Adorage's effects, these are showing as being part of Adorage 10 and not the starter pack, is this right? I didn't know Adorage 10 was part of the install. Anyhow, some work and some don't so something is amiss there.
The starter pack is all ok.
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12458
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Solution: BORIS won't install on X8 if you had X7

Post by lata »

Hi
Certainly I don’t have Adorage 10 installed on my pc so I doubt that came with Video Studio.
Regards Trevor
Post Reply