looking for help with Print House

A forum dedicated to Vista / Windows 7 related fixes and work rounds in relation to Corel's Intervideo/Ulead range of products.

Moderator: Ken Berry

whitestars
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 12:32 am
operating_system: Windows 8
System_Drive: C

looking for help with Print House

Post by whitestars »

I know that this is the wrong category but I can't find right one.
This is the problem:
I have some very important files that were created with Print House 1.1
I was previously using Windows XP and now I have switched to Windows 8 and I cant get the cd to run. The computer recognizes the disc but won't install or open.
ALL my files have .cph at the end and nothing will open them.
I get the following error messages:
+++++++++++++++++++
Message 1
[Autorun]
OPEN=AUTORUN.EXE
ICON=setup\AUTOHSE.ICO

[Product]
Title = Corel Print House CD-ROM
RegistryKey = SOFTWARE\Corel\CorelPrintHouse\1.1
WaveFile = setup\INTRO.WAV
SetupProgram = SETUP.EXE
NoProcessCaption = Missing Program
NoProcessTextLine1 = It is possible the CD-ROM has been removed.
NoProcessTextLine2 = Please reinsert the CD-ROM and click 'Retry' to continue, or click 'Cancel' to quit.
LabelFont = Ariel
TextFont = Times New Roman
Charset = 1

[Buttons]
SetupLabel = Setup
SetupText = Click here to launch the Corel Print House installation program
CancelLabel = Cancel
CancelText = Click here to quit

[Bitmaps]
2Color = setup\INTROBW.BMP
16Color = setup\INTRO16.BMP
256Color = setup\INTRO256.BMP
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Message 2
PRINTHSE.EXE-System Error

The program can't start because MFCAN32.dll is missingfrom your computer. Try re-installing the program to fix this problem
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 22114
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 11
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte B550M DS3H AC
processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
ram: 32 GB DDR4
Video Card: AMD RX 6600 XT
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB SSD + 2 TB HDD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS2022; PSP2023; DRAW2021; Painter 2022
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: looking for help with Print House

Post by Ken Berry »

Do you have any of the programs mentioned in http://forum.corel.com/EN/viewtopic.php ... 35#p239635 which raises a not dissimilar question?
Ken Berry
whitestars
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 12:32 am
operating_system: Windows 8
System_Drive: C

Re: looking for help with Print House

Post by whitestars »

Thanks so much but sadly Print House is the only graphics program I have ever had and I've been using it since 1995.
I have to find out a way to open my .cph files and work with them
Jackie, whitestars
whitestars
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 12:32 am
operating_system: Windows 8
System_Drive: C

Re: looking for help with Print House

Post by whitestars »

Hi
Is there no one who can help me with my Print House problem. I really need to be able to open my .cph files.
Thanks
Jackie whitestars
canuck
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:28 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Location: Deep River, Ontario, Canada

Re: looking for help with Print House

Post by canuck »

If that PrintHouse is really from 1995 I doubt very much that it will work under Windows 8
whitestars
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 12:32 am
operating_system: Windows 8
System_Drive: C

Re: looking for help with Print House

Post by whitestars »

CAN 2 VERSIONS OF WINDOWS BE INSTALLED SIMULTANEOUSLY? WHAT IF I INSTALLED WINDOWS XP OR WINDOWS 7, PREFERABLY XP?
Oops sorry, caps lock was on
Jackie
BrianCee
Posts: 5487
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 1:04 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP
Corel programs: VS X4,X5,X6,X7,X8, X9, X10, 2018 , 2019
Location: London England UK

Re: looking for help with Print House

Post by BrianCee »

The problem is that we do not have any print house users on here - I do not even know if there are any forums anywhere for it.

With many programmes if you RIGHT click over the programme .exe file and choose properties a dialogue window will open with tabs at the top - one of these is compatibility - if you click on that you will see options to run the programme in Windows XP mode - IF Print house has that option then it's worth trying.

You can have more than one version of windows on a computer BUT it must be done by partitioning the hard drive so that you effectively have two hard drives - this is not difficult but it is a bit technical and if you are not a computer whizz it would be best to get a local expert to do it for you. You cannot install two different windows systems on a un-partitioned hard drive


...
whitestars
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 12:32 am
operating_system: Windows 8
System_Drive: C

Re: looking for help with Print House

Post by whitestars »

Hi Brian
Thanks for your response. I do have a shortcut icon on the desktop which appeared after I tried to install PH. I right clicked but the tab you mentioned wasn't there so I tried it on another icon and not there either. There is however a blank space (to fill in) that says "Start In" if that is something useful.
As to the other option of installing XP here is some of my computer info:
PRODUCT NAME: HP Omni 27-1210xt ALL-IN-ONE
PRODUCT #: C1B23AV#ABA
Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
MICROPROCESSOR: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770S CPU @ 3.10GHz
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770S CPU @ 3.10GHz
SYSTEM MEMORY: 12GB
SLOT #1: 8GB SODIMM Samsung 1600MHz
SLOT #2: 4GB SODIMM Micron 1600MHz
HARD DRIVE #1 ST2000DM001-9YN164
"C" DRIVE: 1840.73 GB (1775.68 GB free)
"D" DRIVE: 20.81 GB (2.61 GB free)

Is it already compartmentalized?
Jackie
whitestars
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 12:32 am
operating_system: Windows 8
System_Drive: C

Re: looking for help with Print House

Post by whitestars »

OOOps, meant partitioned not compartmentalized.
Jackie
BrianCee
Posts: 5487
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 1:04 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP
Corel programs: VS X4,X5,X6,X7,X8, X9, X10, 2018 , 2019
Location: London England UK

Re: looking for help with Print House

Post by BrianCee »

yes it looks as though it already is into "C" and "D" - but I would think that "D" is your recovery partition which will come into use if you have a computer crash or need to re-install windows - you will not be able to install Win XP in there - you may need to to discuss options with a local computer retailer/engineer I would think they could help you.




....
whitestars
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 12:32 am
operating_system: Windows 8
System_Drive: C

Re: looking for help with Print House

Post by whitestars »

Yes, D is for recovery. I have 1.7 TB free on C drive
How do I get to programme .exe file ?
Thank for your help
Jackie
BrianCee
Posts: 5487
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 1:04 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP
Corel programs: VS X4,X5,X6,X7,X8, X9, X10, 2018 , 2019
Location: London England UK

Re: looking for help with Print House

Post by BrianCee »

You need to see the files on the installation CD - Insert the Cd into your disc drive - if the CD starts to run automatically stop it - and go to windows explorer - if it does not run then just open Windows explorer.

In either case just click on the CD to open it and you should be able to see all the files on it.


....
whitestars
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 12:32 am
operating_system: Windows 8
System_Drive: C

Re: looking for help with Print House

Post by whitestars »

Hi
It's showing 28 files but none with an .exe extension
Also, I finally got to place to alter compatibility but nothing worked and Windows 95 was one of the choices.
Jackie
BrianCee
Posts: 5487
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 1:04 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP
Corel programs: VS X4,X5,X6,X7,X8, X9, X10, 2018 , 2019
Location: London England UK

Re: looking for help with Print House

Post by BrianCee »

Well it rather looks as though getting your hard drive further partitioned may be your answer.

The only other suggestion I have at the moment is do you have a friend or acquaintance (or local computer shop) who has a computer with XP on it, who would let you install Print House so that you could open your files and then export them in a more usable format.