Rename, Reorder, and Customize Tabs (Howto)

Tips, Tricks, and Results
grooveman
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:59 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Rename, Reorder, and Customize Tabs (Howto)

Post by grooveman »

--Look to the 4th post in this thread for the solution--

Original post below:
===========================================================================================================
Hi,

I have read through the manual, and have not found a solutions for this. I'm wondering if there is a way I can change the order tool blocks on my tabs, you know, all the tools on the "Standard", "Color", "Tone" tabs, etc. all the way through the plugins. Especially with the plugin tabs, I'd like to organize the plugins in a way that makes sense to me and to my work flow. They are all jumbled in there, pretty much willy-nilly.

I know there is a collaps and pin option (pretty useless if you ask me) -- that isn't what I want. I just want to reorder them within a tab, and be ablt to move them from one tab to another. It would be nice if I could do this by drag and drop, but even if I have to hack an .inf or config file I'd take it.

Thanks.

-G
Last edited by grooveman on Wed Mar 21, 2012 4:59 pm, edited 5 times in total.
Dutchmm
Posts: 297
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 8:55 am
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asus 97
processor: Intel i7 4785T
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Onboard Intel
sound_card: Intel AC97
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2.5TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Philips 28"
Corel programs: ASP 3 Pro (and 2 and 1 before)

Re: Reordering tabs and their contents

Post by Dutchmm »

As I understand it, you can use the same interface customisation techniques in ASP as you could in B5. You can read about that here. I am not sure that this will achieve all the customisation you require, but at least it will get all the tools you always want onto the same tab and in the order in which you use them.

HTH

Mike
grooveman
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:59 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Reordering tabs and their contents

Post by grooveman »

Dude. You are awesome.

Thanks!

G
grooveman
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:59 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Reordering tabs and their contents

Post by grooveman »

SOLUTION:

Ok,

Thanks to Mike for pointing me in the right direction, and of course to AFX, for posting these instructions in the first place. The instructions were for bibble, so I had to redo everything from scratch, but, after some effort, I was able to find all the ui blocks (cuz you have to recreate the entire menu list, you can't just do some of it, or the items you miss simply won't be there). I also was able to find the identifier strings for all the plugins for ASP to date.

So, I am including the fruits of my labor for the last few hours below, in case someone else wants to do this with ASP. Just copy the code block below and save to a file called customToolsUI.txt. Place it in the ~/.AfterShotPro directory or into c:\users\username\appdata\local\corel\aftershotpro -- and it should work. Of course, you will have the tabs as I set them, but you can feel free to change tab names, and cut & paste each line (just watch for typos). At least you won't be hunting for plugin identifiers and ui blocks. It will still save you a lot of time.

Enjoy!

-G

Code: Select all

Basic, STD, Histogram.ui
Basic, STD, com.roland65.AutoLevels
Basic, STD, BasicTools.ui
Basic, STD, Presets.ui
Color, Clr, Advanced/Curves.ui
Color, Clr, SelectiveColor/SelectiveColorWidget.ui
Color, Clr, ColorBalance.ui
Color, Clr, tin.tin.zchannelmixer
Color, Clr, com.SMP.Nuance
Color, Clr, Advanced/WhiteBalance.ui
Color, Clr, Advanced/ColorManagement.ui
Tone, Tone, Advanced/Tone.ui
Tone, Tone, Advanced/Exposure.ui
Tone, Tone, com.ferdinand-paris.bez
Tone, Tone, sph.FatToni
Noise, NZ, Advanced/RAWNoise.ui
Noise, NZ, sph.waveletdenoise
Noise, NZ, NoiseNinjaStandard.ui
Noise, NZ, Advanced/NoiseNinjaRegistered.ui
Noise, NZ, sph.grain
Sharp, SHP, Advanced/Sharpen.ui
Sharp, SHP, sph.waveletsharpen
Sharp, SHP, USM
Sharp, SHP, tin.tin.zSoften
Correct, CRCT, name.deindl.mdRedEyes
Correct, CRCT, MirrorInvert.ui
Correct, CRCT, Advanced/LensCorrection.ui
Correct, CRCT, tin.tin.zPerspector
Correct, CRCT, com.kbarni.grid
Correct, CRCT, CAQuest
B+W, B+W, com.kbarni.equalizer
B+W, B+W, sph.SiliconBonk
B+W, B+W, com.ferdinand-paris.mix3
B+W, B+W, com.corel.BlackAndWhite
B+W, B+W, com.nexe.nuance
Finish1, FNSH1, com.corel.vigne
Finish1, FNSH1, com.SMP.Nostalgia
Finish2, FNSH2, net.sadman.aftershot.texa
Finish2, FNSH2, tin.tin.zFrame
Finish2, FNSH2, tin.tin.zText
Finish2, FNSH2, net.sadman.aftershot.typewriter
Finish2, FNSH2, tin.tin.zShadow
Metadata, Mdata, Metadata.ui
Metadata, Mdata, Keywords.ui
Metadata, Mdata, Keywords/KeywordSets.ui
Metadata, Mdata, de.schrell.asGPS
Last edited by grooveman on Mon May 07, 2012 3:20 pm, edited 11 times in total.
grooveman
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:59 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: [Solved]Reordering tabs and their contents

Post by grooveman »

Just added entries for Ferdinand's Bez and Mix3. :D
grooveman
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:59 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: [Solved]Reordering tabs and their contents

Post by grooveman »

Just added entries for zSoften and mdRedEye by tin tin. :D

Also added USM and caQuest by Andrew Johnston :D
Ianr
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 4:09 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell 30

Re: [Solved]Reordering tabs and their contents

Post by Ianr »

Thanks heaps for this .... just placed the text file in user folder location for it to work for me.

Cannot find the TinTin redeye plugin anywhere though .. maybe its coming :)

Nice way you have laid out the tools ... Thought has gone into this. Ianr
Paul Wossidlo
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:04 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD
ram: 2GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 250GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 15.6 inch laptop

Re: [Solved]Reordering tabs and their contents

Post by Paul Wossidlo »

Ianr wrote:Thanks heaps for this .... just placed the text file in user folder location for it to work for me.

Cannot find the TinTin redeye plugin anywhere though .. maybe its coming :)

Nice way you have laid out the tools ... Thought has gone into this. Ianr
There's a separate thread here where you can get the red-eye plugin.

I agree that Grooveman did a nice job laying this out.
grooveman
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:59 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: [Solved]Reordering tabs and their contents

Post by grooveman »

Ianr wrote: Cannot find the TinTin redeye plugin anywhere though .. maybe its coming :)
Here is the direct link, that was mentioned in this post (though he accidentally forgot the "http" in his bbcode, so it isn't linked and it is easy to miss).

Bear in mind that mdRedEye, as yet, only works on linux.
Paul Wossidlo wrote:I agree that Grooveman did a nice job laying this out.
Thank you. We'll see, some things might get moved as I use APS more and more, but it is easy to do now that the leg work is done :)
grooveman
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:59 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: [Solved]Reordering tabs and their contents

Post by grooveman »

Updated again.

I just found out that kbarni's killer plugin has been released. It is harry and sally combined into one, and it is called Equalizer. It can be downloaded here. (I had to rename the file becuase it ended in .txt. You might need to do the same, that is, remove the .txt extension so the file ends in .afzplug).

Becuase it is both Harry and Sally, it is tough to classify... I put it under B+W, since I use Harry much more than sally. I also moved zchannel mixer onto the Color tab, as I find I'm using it much more for color photos than B+W. You know how to change them if you don't like it... ;)

G
michaeld
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 5:44 am
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit

Re: [Solved]Reordering tabs and their contents

Post by michaeld »

grooveman wrote:
Ianr wrote: Cannot find the TinTin redeye plugin anywhere though .. maybe its coming :)
Here is the direct link, that was mentioned in this post (though he accidentally forgot the "http" in his bbcode, so it isn't linked and it is easy to miss).

Bear in mind that mdRedEye, as yet, only works on linux.
2 small corrections: mdRedEyes is different from tin.tin's red-eye plugin (which lanr was asking for). And meanwhile mdRedEyes is also available for Windows and Mac-OS. New link is http://www.deindl.name/ASP-plugins/.

Bye,
Michael
grooveman
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:59 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: [Solved]Reordering tabs and their contents

Post by grooveman »

Ah, great! Sorry Michael.
grooveman
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:59 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: [Solved]Reordering tabs and their contents

Post by grooveman »

I was cruizing the bibble forums, and came across another great plugin by Kbarni: Grid. It is just a simple over-lay of traditional grids, the golden, ratio, the rule of thirds and the golden selection -- but a very clever tool to help you set up or check the layout of your photo.

So, I have added Grid, and placed it under the "Correction" Tab. I also moved FatToni to the "Tone" tab, if you don't like it there, well, you know what to do to fix that :)

G
Zarastro
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 10:34 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: M4A89TD
processor: AMD Athlon X6 1075T
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Point Of View GeForce GT 620 1024MB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1300 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell WA2209

Re: Rename, Reorder, and Customize Tabs (Howto)

Post by Zarastro »

Just one small correction: the line "Finish1, FNSH1, "com.corel.vigne" should read "com.Corel.vigne" (with a capital "C" in "Corel") or else vigne will not enter the Finish1 Tab.
grooveman
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:59 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Rename, Reorder, and Customize Tabs (Howto)

Post by grooveman »

Zarastro wrote:Just one small correction: the line "Finish1, FNSH1, "com.corel.vigne" should read "com.Corel.vigne" (with a capital "C" in "Corel") or else vigne will not enter the Finish1 Tab.
Hmm... That is not what I find on my system. This is the line:
identifier="com.corel.vigne"
No Capital. In fact, doing as you suggest here removes vigne from my ASP.

I don't know why you are finding that yours is capitalized, perhaps you have an older version of vigne? Or, perhaps, do you have an unregistered version? According to this, it was last updated on February 6th. Anyone else finding they have a capital "C" here?