AfterShot Pro High Pass Sharpen [and Wavelet Sharpen Plugin]

AfterShot Pro General Questions & Getting Started Forum
Tadjio
Posts: 1202
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 3:23 pm
operating_system: Windows 8 Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte
processor: Core i7 2.8GHz 860
ram: 8GB
Video Card: ATI HD5570
sound_card: Sound
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2.5TB
Location: UK

AfterShot Pro High Pass Sharpen [and Wavelet Sharpen Plugin]

Post by Tadjio »

One feature of PaintShop Pro that I use all the time is High Pass Sharpen.
In particular I do a fine sharpening with a radius of 0.5 (with Stremgth 100% and Blend Mode 'Hard Light')

Is it possible to do the same in AfterShot Pro?
Last edited by Tadjio on Fri Jan 20, 2012 4:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Tadjio
PSP X7.2 Ultimate user
AfterShot Pro 2.1 ASPirant
Windows 8.1 64-bit Pro
Canon EOS 100D, Olympus E-PM1 & iPhone 6
afx
Posts: 1675
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 1:38 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Video Card: FirePro 4900
Monitor/Display Make & Model: NEC PA301w, ColorMunki
Location: München

Re: AfterShot Pro High Pass Sharpen

Post by afx »

Grab the Wavelet Sharpen Plugin.
Beats all those USM tricks any time (but has USM if needed)

cheers
afx
Send bugs to the Monkey // AfterShot Kickstart Guide // sRGB clipping sucks and Adobe RGB is just as bad
Bibble since 2005 // W7 64 on quad Phenom // Ubuntu 14.4 on quad i7 and dualcore AMD // Images
Tadjio
Posts: 1202
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 3:23 pm
operating_system: Windows 8 Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte
processor: Core i7 2.8GHz 860
ram: 8GB
Video Card: ATI HD5570
sound_card: Sound
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2.5TB
Location: UK

Re: AfterShot Pro High Pass Sharpen

Post by Tadjio »

afx wrote:Grab the Wavelet Sharpen Plugin.
Thanks.
Is this available for ASP now?
Tadjio
PSP X7.2 Ultimate user
AfterShot Pro 2.1 ASPirant
Windows 8.1 64-bit Pro
Canon EOS 100D, Olympus E-PM1 & iPhone 6
spoilerhead
Posts: 133
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 8:18 am
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 13.5TB
Location: Vienna

Re: AfterShot Pro High Pass Sharpen

Post by spoilerhead »

Tadjio wrote:Is this available for ASP now?
right at http://aftershotpro.com/plugins/index.h ... etsharpen3
my ASP Plugins - donation button ( send beer! :) )
linux,7d, glass and a huge mug of coffee.
If you got any immediate problems with my plugins, don't by shy on contact me on GoogleTalk.
Tadjio
Posts: 1202
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 3:23 pm
operating_system: Windows 8 Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte
processor: Core i7 2.8GHz 860
ram: 8GB
Video Card: ATI HD5570
sound_card: Sound
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2.5TB
Location: UK

Re: AfterShot Pro High Pass Sharpen

Post by Tadjio »

That looks great.
Can you tell me, can I achieve the same effect as I do with PSP HPS Radius 0.5 as I described above?
Tadjio
PSP X7.2 Ultimate user
AfterShot Pro 2.1 ASPirant
Windows 8.1 64-bit Pro
Canon EOS 100D, Olympus E-PM1 & iPhone 6
Tadjio
Posts: 1202
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 3:23 pm
operating_system: Windows 8 Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte
processor: Core i7 2.8GHz 860
ram: 8GB
Video Card: ATI HD5570
sound_card: Sound
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2.5TB
Location: UK

Re: AfterShot Pro High Pass Sharpen

Post by Tadjio »

OK, I have installed the plug-in, thanks very much.
(Incidentally it knocked my 'Toggle Orientation' (Ctrl+L) from Vertical to Horizontal - took a while to find how to reset it :)

Are there any instructions / explanation / user manual for all the features?
What are Wavelet1 and Wavelet2? Are they some form of presets?
When might you use them as opposed to Gradient or USM?
What's Clarity Mode and Microcontrast?
And 'Deprecated'? Why two Salt+Pepper boxes?

I followed the tooltip prompts but "with of the Gradient (slow)" stumped me!
Sorry for so many questions...
Tadjio
PSP X7.2 Ultimate user
AfterShot Pro 2.1 ASPirant
Windows 8.1 64-bit Pro
Canon EOS 100D, Olympus E-PM1 & iPhone 6
andysalay
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 5:17 am
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: Z
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS P5E WS PRO
processor: Core2 Quad Q6700
ram: 8GB
Video Card: AMD Radeon HD 6670
Location: Slovakia

Re: AfterShot Pro High Pass Sharpen

Post by andysalay »

I am quoting Spoilerhead from one of his posts in Bibble5 forum:
spoilerhead wrote:the "manual" can be summarised in just some sentences:
* use USM for local contrast control, "Clarity" will emulate the bevarior of a well known product ;). don't use usm for general purpose sharpening, sharpen1/2 will give much better results
* use sharpen1 and sharpen2 for detail sharpening, if just sharpen1 isn't enough use sharpen2 with a larger radius
* turn off bibble sharpening it you use sharpen1/2
* use gradient sharpen only if you need it. it can be helpful against the anti-aliasing blur certain sensors produce, usually its enough if you find a setting that "just works" and save it as a preset
* gradient sharpening is slow.

* find settings that work for your camera(s) and store them as presets/default. i find myself using the same sharpening settings over and over again
*play with the sliders to get a feel about what the plugin can do
* all rules are meant to be broken :)
And maybe you find attachment of the first post of this thread most valueable.

Bibble5 forums are full of gems. :wink: And they are well categorised. I was able to find it without search engine, in very short time.

Regards,
Andy Salay
Tadjio
Posts: 1202
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 3:23 pm
operating_system: Windows 8 Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte
processor: Core i7 2.8GHz 860
ram: 8GB
Video Card: ATI HD5570
sound_card: Sound
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2.5TB
Location: UK

Re: AfterShot Pro High Pass Sharpen

Post by Tadjio »

andysalay wrote:I am quoting Spoilerhead from one of his posts in Bibble5 forum:
spoilerhead wrote:the "manual" can be summarised in just some sentences:
* use USM for local contrast control, "Clarity" will emulate the bevarior of a well known product ;). don't use usm for general purpose sharpening, sharpen1/2 will give much better results
* use sharpen1 and sharpen2 for detail sharpening, if just sharpen1 isn't enough use sharpen2 with a larger radius
* turn off bibble sharpening it you use sharpen1/2
* use gradient sharpen only if you need it. it can be helpful against the anti-aliasing blur certain sensors produce, usually its enough if you find a setting that "just works" and save it as a preset
* gradient sharpening is slow.
* find settings that work for your camera(s) and store them as presets/default. i find myself using the same sharpening settings over and over again
*play with the sliders to get a feel about what the plugin can do
* all rules are meant to be broken :)
And maybe you find attachment of the first post of this thread most valueable.
Bibble5 forums are full of gems. :wink: And they are well categorised. I was able to find it without search engine, in very short time.
Regards,
Andy Salay
Thanks a lot Andy - lots to read and study. I've downloaded the pdf and studied the 'famous' flowcharts but I'm not sure I will plough through all 23 pages of the thread!
Tadjio
PSP X7.2 Ultimate user
AfterShot Pro 2.1 ASPirant
Windows 8.1 64-bit Pro
Canon EOS 100D, Olympus E-PM1 & iPhone 6
spoilerhead
Posts: 133
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 8:18 am
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 13.5TB
Location: Vienna

Re: AfterShot Pro High Pass Sharpen

Post by spoilerhead »

nobody found that typo in width for a year or so, i guess that means nobody reads the mouseovers anyways :D
Yes, a real manual is missing, but honestly, the old "learning by doing" applies. As every camera is different, a reciepe that works well for camera a might not work well for camera b, so best is just to play with it until you found some settings you like, and create a preset
my ASP Plugins - donation button ( send beer! :) )
linux,7d, glass and a huge mug of coffee.
If you got any immediate problems with my plugins, don't by shy on contact me on GoogleTalk.
Tadjio
Posts: 1202
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 3:23 pm
operating_system: Windows 8 Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte
processor: Core i7 2.8GHz 860
ram: 8GB
Video Card: ATI HD5570
sound_card: Sound
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2.5TB
Location: UK

Re: AfterShot Pro High Pass Sharpen

Post by Tadjio »

spoilerhead wrote:but honestly, the old "learning by doing" applies. As every camera is different, a reciepe that works well for camera a might not work well for camera b, so best is just to play with it until you found some settings you like, and create a preset
Thanks, spoilerhead, I took your advice and had a play tonight.
The trouble is, there are so many variables and options one could play for ever but it does seem very useful.
I'm using RAW+JPEG Canon Images, so my JPGs have the Standard Picture Style Sharpening whereas my CR2 files don't.

I'm new to Bibble/ASP - I have just found how to save a preset but can I amend the 'default' settings without a preset?
Tadjio
PSP X7.2 Ultimate user
AfterShot Pro 2.1 ASPirant
Windows 8.1 64-bit Pro
Canon EOS 100D, Olympus E-PM1 & iPhone 6
afx
Posts: 1675
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 1:38 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Video Card: FirePro 4900
Monitor/Display Make & Model: NEC PA301w, ColorMunki
Location: München

Re: AfterShot Pro High Pass Sharpen

Post by afx »

Tadjio wrote:I'm new to Bibble/ASP - I have just found how to save a preset but can I amend the 'default' settings without a preset?
All AS settings can be saved as defaults....
Adjust image as needed, then right click on thumbnails, settings, save as raw default.

Use the advanced tab and make sure all the stuff you want to save as a default is ticked and everything else is off.

cheers
afx
Send bugs to the Monkey // AfterShot Kickstart Guide // sRGB clipping sucks and Adobe RGB is just as bad
Bibble since 2005 // W7 64 on quad Phenom // Ubuntu 14.4 on quad i7 and dualcore AMD // Images