Rename Formats Changed?

AfterShot Pro General Questions & Getting Started Forum
bus-error
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 4:16 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Tyan Thunder K8WE
processor: 2 x AMD Opteron 285
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: nVidia Quadro FX 3500
sound_card: nVidia nForce
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 370GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: NEC Multisync PA241W

Rename Formats Changed?

Post by bus-error »

It looks to me like rename formats have changed and that it is no longer possible to change the file extension. For example, in Bibble, I used to use the rename format:

Code: Select all

[year][month][day]-[3rseq][<oext]
to change the extension of my Nikon RAW file from "NEF" to "nef". Now if I try and use this format string, I end up with filenames like:

Code: Select all

20120117-001.nef.NEF
Has anyone else found this or, better still, found a way around it?
grubernd
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 8:17 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Rename Formats Changed?

Post by grubernd »

the [oext] tag is not needed for REGULAR renaming in aftershot anymore to avoid confusion and frustration by forgetting it.
it still works as usual for batchQs.

EDIT. sorry for the late night misread.. corrected above text..
Bibble since 2004. Aftershot until 2020. From then on darktable.
bus-error
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 4:16 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Tyan Thunder K8WE
processor: 2 x AMD Opteron 285
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: nVidia Quadro FX 3500
sound_card: nVidia nForce
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 370GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: NEC Multisync PA241W

Re: Rename Formats Changed?

Post by bus-error »

grubernd wrote:the [oext] tag is not needed for REGULAR renaming in aftershot anymore to avoid confusion and frustration by forgetting it.
it still works as usual for batchQs.
Thanks for the confirmation. To say the [oext] tag is not needed for regular renaming is not true. I use it as part of my standard workflow to change the the file extension from upper case to lower case. I would very much like to see this functionality restored.
grubernd
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 8:17 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Rename Formats Changed?

Post by grubernd »

bus-error wrote:To say the [oext] tag is not needed for regular renaming is not true. I use it as part of my standard workflow to change the the file extension from upper case to lower case. I would very much like to see this functionality restored.
you can still do that.. use a Download BatchQ.

but renaming in the filesystem/catalog, where you can change single files etc,
was always prone to forget to enter the extension and
therefore losing it and having images "vanish" in front of ones eyes.
Bibble since 2004. Aftershot until 2020. From then on darktable.
bus-error
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 4:16 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Tyan Thunder K8WE
processor: 2 x AMD Opteron 285
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: nVidia Quadro FX 3500
sound_card: nVidia nForce
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 370GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: NEC Multisync PA241W

Re: Rename Formats Changed? [ANSWERED]

Post by bus-error »

I've created a batch queue as suggested and will rename as I ingest.

Thanks for the advice.