Unable to reinstall Cool 3D

Post Reply
Delcole
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 4:55 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Ultimate
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: AsusTek M4A77 Rev X.0x
processor: 2.9GHz Quad Core AMD AthlonII 635
ram: 4GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7300 LE
sound_card: Onboard Realtek
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 800GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Hanns-G HZ221
Location: Clacton-on-Sea UK

Unable to reinstall Cool 3D

Post by Delcole »

I have used Cool 3D successfully in the past but in attempting to reinstall the (VS10) Bonus disc into a new computer I am shown the message 'Windows was unable to find the installation program. Click back to try again. Click Browse to find the installation program manually.' Can anybody help me please. Delcole.
User avatar
Ron P.
Advisor
Posts: 12005
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Post by Ron P. »

attempting to reinstall the (VS10) Bonus disc into a new computer
New computer generally means new operating system. Is it by chance Vista? If so you may have to change the OSs themes from Vista Aeros to Windows Classic.

Also did you locate the installer (setup.exe) file for Cool 3D on your bonus disc, and did you try running it? I'm not at home currently, where I can look at my bonus disc for VS10, but if I recall correctly you need to locate the setup file and run it.

If you are installing VS10 on a Vista machine, make sure you install the Vista update patch, which will have to be downloaded from Corel's website..
http://www.corel.com/servlet/Satellite/ ... 7911963266
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
sjj1805
Posts: 14419
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB
Location: Birmingham UK

Post by sjj1805 »

Operating System : MSI
Image
I have dozens of Operating systems

Windows 3.11, 95B, 98SE, ME, XP, 2K, Vista, Suse, Xandros, Fedora, Ubunto, Mandrake, Mandriva, MCN, Solaris

Plus a few others I can't recall off hand.
I have Never heard of an operating system named MSI.
Delcole
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 4:55 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Ultimate
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: AsusTek M4A77 Rev X.0x
processor: 2.9GHz Quad Core AMD AthlonII 635
ram: 4GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7300 LE
sound_card: Onboard Realtek
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 800GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Hanns-G HZ221
Location: Clacton-on-Sea UK

Unable to reinstall Cool 3D

Post by Delcole »

Sorry that I misled you re MSI. The operating system is XP. I have tried 'setup.exe' without success. Best wishes, Delcole.
User avatar
Ron P.
Advisor
Posts: 12005
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Post by Ron P. »

Is it XP Pro, XP Home, and is it perhaps SP3 updated?

Is your problem with installing VS10 or just the Cool3D program? Your post is a little confusing when reading it. It does appear that you're trying to install VS10 and getting the install error.

When you insert your Bonus CD, does it Auto Run, and provide you with menu choices, such as install utilities, browse CD, ect..?

You can also try copying the Cool 3D setup files to your hard drive and running it from there. Try disabling any spyware, antivirus programs while installing. Just be sure to enable them again upon completion.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
Delcole
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 4:55 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Ultimate
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: AsusTek M4A77 Rev X.0x
processor: 2.9GHz Quad Core AMD AthlonII 635
ram: 4GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7300 LE
sound_card: Onboard Realtek
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 800GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Hanns-G HZ221
Location: Clacton-on-Sea UK

Unable to reinstall Cool 3D

Post by Delcole »

I am sorry to have given you some ambiguous information regarding this matter. I have taken your advice and have autorun the program to hard disc successfully and is now working well. Thank you for you help, best wishes, Delcole.
User avatar
Ron P.
Advisor
Posts: 12005
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Post by Ron P. »

Nothing to apologize for, I just wanted to be sure I was understanding your problem so that I would not advise you incorrectly.

Glad you have it working..:) :)
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
david_k_jordan
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 11:53 pm

Post by david_k_jordan »

So am I to understand that if I have Vista OS 64 bit that I can indeed use Cool 3d Production if I use Windows Classic instead of Aero? Idf so, THANK YOU so very much...if not is there something else I am missing. Thank you again so much for your help...as always.

:lol:
Dave Jordan
Post Reply