Question on Titles and Chapters

yugisama

Question on Titles and Chapters

Post by yugisama »

I'm very new at DVD Workshop 2 so forgive my ignorance.

What I want to do: I have 7 indiviual video files, that I would like to put onto a dvd. The person watching the DVD could either hit "play all" and watch each video file continuously and press "next" to see the next video file, or go to chapters @ the menu and select the video file individually.

What I did: So I imported all 7 video files as "titles" and made the menu like I described above. However, the problem I'm having is: When I press "next" on the dvd controller, nothing happens. It won't go to the next video file. I think it's because "next" only works for chapters and not titles? And instead of one big video file with individual chapters, I have 7 titles with no chapters. How do I fix this?
DVDDoug

Post by DVDDoug »

The person watching the DVD could either hit "play all" and watch each video file continuously ...
Make a "Play All" button, and link that button to a playlist that includes all titles.
...and press "next" to see the next video file, or go to chapters @ the menu and select the video file individually.
You can put an "extra" chapter-point at the end of each title. When you hit the >>| button on the remote, it will jump to the end of the title, control will return to the playlist, and the playlist will start playing the next title. (The end-of-title chapter-points, don't need a menu-button linked to them.)

Note that the |<< button won't return you to the previous title. :(

A playlist is always associated with a particular menu button. And, once you start a title it will continue to the end. It's only at the end of a title that program-control returns to the playlist. (You can't create a playlist that stops playback at the end of a chapter.)
[size=92][i]Head over heels,
No time to think.
It's like the whole world's
Out of... sync.[/i]
- Head Over Heels, The Go-Gos.[/size]
yugisama