Change the "center" of an object?

dnavarrojr
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 12:41 am
Location: Kansas, USA

Change the "center" of an object?

Post by dnavarrojr »

Is it possible to change the center of an existing object or group?

I am messing with the laptop object in PS and I want to open/close the monitor on the laptop. However, the center/pivot point of the monitor object is in the wrong spot.
User avatar
VikingAnimations
Moderator
Posts: 942
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:14 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD A4-6300 APU with Radeon HD Graphics 3-7 GHz
ram: 4 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Corel programs: Ulead GIF Animator 5.05, MotionStudio 3D
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

Post by VikingAnimations »

Well, for a simple object, that's not too difficult... But for that laptop, well, it's not quite so simple.

You have to upgroup the lid, then edit each object so that the bottom of each is lined up with the red crosshair on the edit dialog box. That is where an object's pivot point is.

I tried that with the laptop, and after finishing that had to drag those objects back down to meet the body of the laptop. The pivot did change as desired.

Does this help any?
dnavarrojr
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 12:41 am
Location: Kansas, USA

Post by dnavarrojr »

VikingAnimations wrote:Well, for a simple object, that's not too difficult... But for that laptop, well, it's not quite so simple.

You have to upgroup the lid, then edit each object so that the bottom of each is lined up with the red crosshair on the edit dialog box. That is where an object's pivot point is.

I tried that with the laptop, and after finishing that had to drag those objects back down to meet the body of the laptop. The pivot did change as desired.

Does this help any?
Hmm... So, I can take an existing object and move it to the image editor?

Cool. I'll have to give that a try.

Many thanks!
User avatar
VikingAnimations
Moderator
Posts: 942
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:14 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD A4-6300 APU with Radeon HD Graphics 3-7 GHz
ram: 4 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Corel programs: Ulead GIF Animator 5.05, MotionStudio 3D
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

Post by VikingAnimations »

Yup - just make the Object Manager visible so you can select the individual parts.
dnavarrojr
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 12:41 am
Location: Kansas, USA

Post by dnavarrojr »

Robert,

I need to make a couple of wedding bands. My problem is that I can't find a decent gold texture. Can you tell me where you got the one you used in your LOTR animation?

Also, how can I make an object "shiny" like polished metal?

Thanks!
User avatar
VikingAnimations
Moderator
Posts: 942
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:14 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD A4-6300 APU with Radeon HD Graphics 3-7 GHz
ram: 4 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Corel programs: Ulead GIF Animator 5.05, MotionStudio 3D
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

Post by VikingAnimations »

For that one, I just used a gold color - the only texture on that is the ring inscription. RGB 255, 241, 152. The "Luster" I set to 6.

Try fiddling with that luster setting. As for images, so far I've used only the textures that are in C3D PS. I think for the inside of the ring, I used the 9th texture down, left side, from "Object style, material attributes, image texture."