How do you increase quality?

gmoses3

How do you increase quality?

Post by gmoses3 »

I have 3d Production Studio. I've created a project with the following settings:
Size 360x240
Output Quality Good
Frame Rate 29.97
I would like to increase quality to:
Size 720x480
Output Quality Optimal
When I render at original settings then change to new settings and rerender the output file is exactly the same.
Thanks
Gary
User avatar
VikingAnimations
Moderator
Posts: 942
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 2:14 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD A4-6300 APU with Radeon HD Graphics 3-7 GHz
ram: 4 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Corel programs: Ulead GIF Animator 5.05, MotionStudio 3D
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

Post by VikingAnimations »

Did you increase the curve quality too? That may help.
gmoses3

Post by gmoses3 »

What's the curve quality?
User avatar
Ron P.
Advisor
Posts: 12002
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Post by Ron P. »

It's found here:

Image
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
gmoses3

Post by gmoses3 »

Great. I'll give it a try.
gmoses3

Post by gmoses3 »

Thanks for the try but it did not increase the file size or change the final look of the project.
Gary
htchien
Advisor
Posts: 2013
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 12:10 pm
operating_system: Mac
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Location: Taipei, Taiwan

Post by htchien »

You did not mention the output file format and the output file quality, please specify.

H.T.
Ted (H.T.)

[color=red]The message is provided AS IS with no warranties and confers no rights. For official tech support please contact Corel Tech Support.[/color]

[url=http://www.youtube.com/htchien]My YouTube channel[/url]
gmoses3

Post by gmoses3 »

Actually I did in my original post. It was set to "good".
Gary
User avatar
Ron P.
Advisor
Posts: 12002
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Post by Ron P. »

I don't know how complex your project is, but you might try re-doing it with the frame size you intended to output to (720 x 480). Also are you wanting to create an overlay AVI (32 bit,with transparency), 24bit AVI, SWF, Quick Time (MOV), RealTime (RM), or an animation file like GIF?
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
htchien
Advisor
Posts: 2013
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 12:10 pm
operating_system: Mac
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Location: Taipei, Taiwan

Post by htchien »

Have you tried this?

File->Create Video File->Options->General->Frame Size and change the file output dimension.

Hope this helps.

H.T.
Ted (H.T.)

[color=red]The message is provided AS IS with no warranties and confers no rights. For official tech support please contact Corel Tech Support.[/color]

[url=http://www.youtube.com/htchien]My YouTube channel[/url]
gmoses3

Post by gmoses3 »

Vidoman, it's a straight AVI.
htchien, I'll give that a try. It's a pretty complicated end graphic with multiple text and motions, so if I can avoid recreating it that would be nice.
Thanks for you help I get back to you with the results.
Gary
gmoses3

Post by gmoses3 »

htchien,
Incredible advice. It worked perfectly. What's nice is I can make my projects in a smaller format to reduce render times and then output it a high resolution. This continues to be such a powerful program, but it's a little frustrating how so much potential is hidden in nooks and crannies.
Gary