DVD Workshop 2.0 hangs with an error when I input video file

skier-hughes
Microsoft MVP
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:09 am
operating_system: Windows 8
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: gigabyte
processor: Intel core 2 6420 2.13GHz
ram: 4GB
Video Card: NVidia GForce 8500GT
sound_card: onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 36GB 2TB
Location: UK

Post by skier-hughes »

As you have downloaded the xvid codec I assume that the file you have ripped to is an xvid.avi
This file type won't work in WS.

You need to use mpeg2 or dv.avi
Baikonur
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 5:37 pm
Location: Mexico

Same problem cant load compliant mpg2 streams

Post by Baikonur »

I have the same problem. If I open an existing project that used to work ok, and try to view a video or set chapter to it or try to do subtitles I get the following error:
AppName: dvdws.exe AppVer: 2.0.0.2 ModName: udvdplayback.dll
ModVer: 0.0.0.0 Offset: 0000c0f0
If I do a new project, when I try to load a complain mpg2 file immediately I get that error again, I already have un installed and reinstalled 3 times, also the last time I went through the registry and deleted all Ulead entries, also deleted all ulead folders, IT CANNOT GET ANY CLEANER THAT THAT for a fresh installation. I am rather frustrated because I simply can not use the program what so ever.
So how do we fix this problem??
Domenico
WinXPpro sp2
pentium4 3ghs ht
2gigas ram.
skier-hughes
Microsoft MVP
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:09 am
operating_system: Windows 8
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: gigabyte
processor: Intel core 2 6420 2.13GHz
ram: 4GB
Video Card: NVidia GForce 8500GT
sound_card: onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 36GB 2TB
Location: UK

Post by skier-hughes »

Have you added any other programmes since it last worked?
My workshop will not work if I have nero installed.
Baikonur
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 5:37 pm
Location: Mexico

Post by Baikonur »

skier-hughes wrote:Have you added any other programmes since it last worked?
My workshop will not work if I have nero installed.
Well I have always had Nero in the same machine and had no problems. So I do not think that would be the problem. I also installed it on an other machine to see if it worked, and I get the same problem, the only thing that both computer have in common odd wise is a virus that was detected by AVG antivirus free when it deleted it I was not able to access the hard drives by clicking on their icon, the only drive that was normally accessible was C then I bought AVG home edition I run it detected the same virus and the program some how restored the normal access to the drives. I have not installed the AVG home edition in the second computer where I installed DVDWorkshop that does not work.
Domenico
skier-hughes
Microsoft MVP
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:09 am
operating_system: Windows 8
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: gigabyte
processor: Intel core 2 6420 2.13GHz
ram: 4GB
Video Card: NVidia GForce 8500GT
sound_card: onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 36GB 2TB
Location: UK

Post by skier-hughes »

I'd ensure your machine is totally virus free before ding anthing else, if you can't do it yourslef, then get a pro to do it for you. Then work on getting other things working properly.


Nero was only an example, you may have installed a codec pack, anorther video app, another authoring app, another video app, another burning app, an MS update.
Baikonur
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 5:37 pm
Location: Mexico

Well am starting from scrach

Post by Baikonur »

I just formatted an re installed winXP the first program I will install is DVD workshop and see how it goes.
skier-hughes
Microsoft MVP
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:09 am
operating_system: Windows 8
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: gigabyte
processor: Intel core 2 6420 2.13GHz
ram: 4GB
Video Card: NVidia GForce 8500GT
sound_card: onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 36GB 2TB
Location: UK

Post by skier-hughes »

Make sure you then download and install all the updates.
Baikonur
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 5:37 pm
Location: Mexico

An Update

Post by Baikonur »

skier-hughes wrote:Make sure you then download and install all the updates.
Well it turns out that the culprit was the file extensions, one of the videos had a file extension m2v and an other had the extension mpv which were the ones making the program lockup. The weird thing is that it did not use to have any problems with does file extensions, as this were old projects. I fixed the problem by muxig the files in to mpg file extensions, I did not even have to re render or anything.
Domenico
skier-hughes
Microsoft MVP
Posts: 2659
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:09 am
operating_system: Windows 8
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: gigabyte
processor: Intel core 2 6420 2.13GHz
ram: 4GB
Video Card: NVidia GForce 8500GT
sound_card: onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 36GB 2TB
Location: UK

Post by skier-hughes »

It's possibly the mixoing of the two file types that did it.
M2v is just video, whereas mpv is audio and video.
Baikonur
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 5:37 pm
Location: Mexico

it could be

Post by Baikonur »

skier-hughes wrote:It's possibly the mixoing of the two file types that did it.
M2v is just video, whereas mpv is audio and video.
Well yes and not exactly as I stated before, this were old projects, and I did not have any problem mixing different mpeg2 type files before. The only thing I suspect is that I uninstalled MainConcept Mpeg converter. I will install it again and do an experiment and will report back, if that makes any difference.
Domenico
Baikonur
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 5:37 pm
Location: Mexico

Update

Post by Baikonur »

Well installing MainConcept mpg encoder made no difference, so it had nothing to do with the problem.
Domenico