Mercalli loses analysis of multiple clips from the same file

Moderator: Ken Berry

User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 13651
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX, 19, 20, 22 PSP2023, PI, MS3D
Location: UK

Re: Mercalli loses analysis of multiple clips from the same file

Post by lata »

Steve
Thanks for the new link from Mercalli. I guess Corel / Alludo could have provided that for us.

I'll give it a run to see if there is a difference.

A slight change in the installation process which gives us the choice of which programs gets the updated Mercalli plugin.

same as Kens findings re- version type, all my programs show running 5.0.518.1
yet Program and Features show version 5.0.519.3
Last edited by lata on Thu Nov 24, 2022 10:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: update to include versions
Regards Trevor
User avatar
RobertOZ
Advisor
Posts: 2313
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 12:50 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asus Prime B550M-A WI-FI AM4 mATX
processor: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 3 6 GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Asus Geforce GTX 1650 GDDR6 Driver 522 30
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 7 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Philips 32" IPS LED, Samsung 28" 3840x2160 UHD 4K
Corel programs: VS2018, VS2021 & VS2022, MS 3D, MCC XL
Location: Mornington, Vic. Australia

Re: Mercalli loses analysis of multiple clips from the same file

Post by RobertOZ »

Same results as Trevor, but my Mercalli 5.0 SLE is version 5.0.460
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 22123
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 11
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte B550M DS3H AC
processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
ram: 32 GB DDR4
Video Card: AMD RX 6600 XT
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB SSD + 2 TB HDD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS2022; PSP2023; DRAW2021; Painter 2022
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: Mercalli loses analysis of multiple clips from the same file

Post by Ken Berry »

Robert -- I don't have Mercalli 5 SLE and think you probably bought that as a stand-alone... As such, it might not be updated by the patches which are aimed at Corel-specific plug-ins.

EDIT: This reminded me that I had bought the stand-alone version 5 myself. So I found it and installed it, and it is indeed build 460.
Ken Berry
User avatar
Davidk
Posts: 2017
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:08 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS Prime B660M-K D4
processor: Intel core i3-12100 3_3ghz quad core processor
ram: 16Gb
Video Card: on-motherboard Intel UHD 730 graphics chipset
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 6Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP E240c video conferencing monitor
Corel programs: VideoStudio: 2021, 2022
Location: Brisbane Australia

Re: Mercalli loses analysis of multiple clips from the same file

Post by Davidk »

Interesting reading, esp re the hotfix . .
But back to the original issue of re-scan the video message.
I've been caught by this many times, and evolved a basic work practice that works with mercalli. Basically, do all the clip editing you need (cuts, trims etc) before applying the mercalli filter individually to each final clip that needs it in your project. Once that's done DO NOT change anything - which includes transitions - on the mercalli'd clips. Essentially, mercalli works on the length of the clip and editing functions like transitions, trims, cuts etc change that, and it's the change of length which generates that re-scan message. If you do something like just adding a transition just before your render, that re-scan message will appear in the rendered result.
Essentially, working with mercalli means understanding it's quirks and working with them. Given that, it's a great fix for wobbly video.
tletter
Posts: 1229
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA RTX 3080
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4,X5,X6,X7,X8,X9,X10,2018,2019,2021
Location: Canada

Re: Mercalli loses analysis of multiple clips from the same file

Post by tletter »

Davidk wrote: Once that's done DO NOT change anything - which includes transitions - on the mercalli'd clips. Essentially, mercalli works on the length of the clip and editing functions like transitions, trims, cuts etc change that, and it's the change of length which generates that re-scan message. If you do something like just adding a transition just before your render, that re-scan message will appear in the rendered result.
Fortunately this is not my experience with VS and Mercalli, i.e. adding or removing a transition between clips doesn't require a re-analysis.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
User avatar
RobertOZ
Advisor
Posts: 2313
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 12:50 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asus Prime B550M-A WI-FI AM4 mATX
processor: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 3 6 GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Asus Geforce GTX 1650 GDDR6 Driver 522 30
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 7 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Philips 32" IPS LED, Samsung 28" 3840x2160 UHD 4K
Corel programs: VS2018, VS2021 & VS2022, MS 3D, MCC XL
Location: Mornington, Vic. Australia

Re: Mercalli loses analysis of multiple clips from the same file

Post by RobertOZ »

I have to agree with tletter, adding/removing transitions does not require analyzing again, neither does a rescan message appear after rendering

Edit
The full version of Mercalli is 5.0 SAL not SLE, my mistake :oops: