How to load custom palette?

Corel Paint Shop Pro

Moderator: Kathy_9

Gareth Hawker
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 27, 2022 8:03 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

How to load custom palette?

Post by Gareth Hawker »

I have followed the instructions of make a custom palette of 13 swatches, but when I try to load the palette in order to process a jpeg, the name of the palette does not appear in the list of palettes. What should I do? I do not know where the custom palette is saved.
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21921
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 11
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte B550M DS3H AC
processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
ram: 32 GB DDR4
Video Card: AMD RX 6600 XT
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB SSD + 2 TB HDD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2021; PSP 2022; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW2021
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: How to load custom palette?

Post by Ken Berry »

Welcome to the forum. I have moved your post to the PaintShop Pro forum since I assume that is the program you are using. Your Profile does not indicate which Corel product(s) you are using. But you are more likely to get responses here.

I can't help personally with your specific palette problem, but hopefully someone else with an answer will come along soon.
Ken Berry
LeviFiction
Advisor
Posts: 6303
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 1:07 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Alienware M17xR4
processor: Intel Core i7-3630QM CPU - 2_40GH
ram: 6 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M
sound_card: Sound Blaster Recon3Di
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500GB
Corel programs: PSP: 8, 9, X, XI, X2, X8,X9, 2018, 2019
Location: USA

Re: How to load custom palette?

Post by LeviFiction »

When you say you made a "custom palette of 13 swatches" are you referring to the palettes on the Materials Palette? (as shown in the image below)
Materials Color Palette.png
If so then you've been confused by the overuse of the word "palette" inside PSP. (yes the word fits, but the distinction isn't clear) An Image color palette is an index of 256 colors (or fewer) representing the colors in an indexed color image. A Materials Color Palette is just a grouping (folder) of swatch colors. These are not equivalent.

However, there is a script for that. I wrote a script a while back that converts Swatch Palettes into Image Color Palettes.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/16ccnXq ... sp=sharing

There are two scripts in that zip folder one converts ACO (adobe color) files to PSP Materials Color Palettes. The other will convert your materials Color Palette into an Image Color Palette.

To use this script you need to put it in the Scripts-Trusted folder as it needs to be able to read and save files on your Harddrive. Your Scripts Trusted folder is usually located at c:\Users\YOURUSERNAME\Documents\Corel PaintShop Pro\YOURVERSIOn\Scripts-Trusted. Just unzip the *.pspscript file from the zip file into that folder. Then inside PSP (if you don't already) open up the Script Toolbar by going to View -> Toolbars -> Script. Choose my script from the drop-down an dhit the Blue play button to run it. A dialog will pop up asking you to pick a swatch name from a list. Double click it, the dialog will close and you should be able to load the new image color palette from Image -> Palette -> Load Palette.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Gareth Hawker
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 27, 2022 8:03 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: How to load custom palette?

Post by Gareth Hawker »

Brilliant! You have identified exactly the problem I am trying to solve.

I shall look forward to following your instructions.

(On a side-note, on my old computer, using CorelDraw/PhotoPaint10, this operation was extremely easy. It is a mystery why PSPP makes it so difficult).

Many thanks!
Gareth Hawker
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 27, 2022 8:03 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: How to load custom palette?

Post by Gareth Hawker »

To Ken Barry,

Thanks for putting my query in the best place.