Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Corel Paint Shop Pro

Moderator: Kathy_9

Post Reply
Linda Lou
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 10:26 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD Ryzen 7 Pro Mobile-Intel i7-Intel i7vPro10th
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1024 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: ThinkPad X395/ThinkPad L14/ThinkPad Extreme Gen3
Corel programs: PaintShop Pro 7, 8.1, 2018

Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Post by Linda Lou »

Hi Happy New Year, everybody!
Something that has been bothering me ever since I installed PSP 2018 on my new computer in November:
I am constantly having to use Window>Fit to Image while working on images that seem to automatically open in new windows. That doesn't happen on my old computer, so I presume I've missed a PSP setting this time around. It usually happens if I click on an image in the workspace to edit>copy/paste etc. from one image to another.
If there is a setting to prevent this I haven't found it. Is there a way to stop a clicked image from automatically opening in a new window? Am I hitting a certain spot with my cursor that is causing this?
Kathy_9
Site Admin
Posts: 2434
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:44 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: 8th Generation Intel Core i7 8700 3 20 GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 [6 GB GDDR6 dedicated]
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP EliteDisplay E243m 23.8-inch
Corel programs: PSPX4 ~2021; Painter 2018~21
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Post by Kathy_9 »

If by new window you are talking about tabbed documents, go to the Window menu and un-tick tabbed documents. For the other issue, try File - Preferences - General Program Preferences - View and make your selection(s) there.
PSPX ver. 10.10, PSPX9 ver. 19.0.0.96, PSP2021 ver. 23.1.0.27, PSP2020 ver. 22.2.0.8 2019 ver. 21.1.0.22, and & PhotoMirage installed; PSPX2 thru PSP2018 owned but not installed
http://www.flickr.com/photos/37153430@N03/
Linda Lou
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 10:26 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD Ryzen 7 Pro Mobile-Intel i7-Intel i7vPro10th
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1024 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: ThinkPad X395/ThinkPad L14/ThinkPad Extreme Gen3
Corel programs: PaintShop Pro 7, 8.1, 2018

Re: Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Post by Linda Lou »

Tabbed Documents was already unchecked (I had asked about that a couple of years ago.)
In Gen. Pref. View: Everything is checked to fit image. Did I misinterpret one of those?
User avatar
hartpaul
Advisor
Posts: 2871
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:38 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK P7P55D STRIX B240F GAMING
processor: IntelCore i7 7700 3.60 Ghz
ram: 8 Gb
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050
sound_card: Nvidia High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1000 Gb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: AOC
Corel programs: PSP8,X2 to X9,2018,2019,2020
Location: Australia

Re: Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Post by hartpaul »

I gather from your posts that you have Tabbed Documents unticked and have two or more images on the workspace and wish to right click > Copy followed by moving the cursor to the other image and then right click > paste -(probably as a new Layer).
You are finding that each image is surrounded by a border (background) and do not want this to appear. I tried to find instances where this occurred and found two:
1. where you drag the corner of an image window to reveal thebackground.
2. If you have the crop tool chosen then it automatically shows the background.

Solutions :
1. Roll the mouse to partially scale the image
2. Choose the Pan tool or some other tool and repeat 1).
Systems available Win7, Win 8.1,Win 10 Version 1607 Build 14393.2007 & version 20H2 Build 19042.867
Linda Lou
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 10:26 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD Ryzen 7 Pro Mobile-Intel i7-Intel i7vPro10th
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1024 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: ThinkPad X395/ThinkPad L14/ThinkPad Extreme Gen3
Corel programs: PaintShop Pro 7, 8.1, 2018

Re: Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Post by Linda Lou »

1. where you drag the corner of an image window to reveal thebackground.
Yes. That is the only thing it could be based on your experiment. Now I'm wondering if the small change in desk/chair height/arm position at the new computer is causing me to drag the cursor slightly as I click on an image. I've never used the pan tool. I'll give it a try. I'm usually focused on the images rather than on what my arm is doing as I click. Thank you for the suggestion!
User avatar
hartpaul
Advisor
Posts: 2871
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:38 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK P7P55D STRIX B240F GAMING
processor: IntelCore i7 7700 3.60 Ghz
ram: 8 Gb
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050
sound_card: Nvidia High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1000 Gb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: AOC
Corel programs: PSP8,X2 to X9,2018,2019,2020
Location: Australia

Re: Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Post by hartpaul »

Just tested and I automatically drag images around on the workspace by clicking and dragging on each images title bar as that is the largest target, dragging from the other three margins does not work as you get nothing or a double headed arrow which makes the window larger exposing the background.
Systems available Win7, Win 8.1,Win 10 Version 1607 Build 14393.2007 & version 20H2 Build 19042.867
Linda Lou
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 10:26 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD Ryzen 7 Pro Mobile-Intel i7-Intel i7vPro10th
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1024 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: ThinkPad X395/ThinkPad L14/ThinkPad Extreme Gen3
Corel programs: PaintShop Pro 7, 8.1, 2018

Re: Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Post by Linda Lou »

Just a follow up: I still have not been able to resolve this problem. It's a bit annoying to have images keep opening this way whenever I click on any image on the workspace, but I'm just going to have to live with it.
patara
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 11:49 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: GA-Z77X-UD3H P5K
processor: Intel i5-3570K CPU at 3.40 GHz
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: GeForce GTX 1060 GI Gaming 6G
sound_card: VIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 250GB+22TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell U2715H
Corel programs: PSP7 to PSP 2020
Location: Australia

Re: Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Post by patara »

Linda Lou wrote:
Sat Jan 16, 2021 12:39 am
Just a follow up: I still have not been able to resolve this problem. It's a bit annoying to have images keep opening this way whenever I click on any image on the workspace, but I'm just going to have to live with it.
If you are double clicking on the Tile Bar it will make the image open up to the full working area.
Perhaps that could happen with a single click if your mouse double click speed was set to fast.

Also, when I want to move one image into another image I drag the item from the layer of one image and drop it onto the other image. I find that's quicker than selecting and copy and paste and there is no need to click and select, which might avoid your problem.
I only use Copy and Paste when I want to Paste into a Selection.
migf1
Posts: 480
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 3:09 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Post by migf1 »

Hi LInda,

To be honest, I've not understood the issue but it could be some of your View settings, under File -> Preferences -> General Program Preferences: http://prntscr.com/wstx4l

EDIT. Just saw this was already suggested by Kathy, and you said everything is set to "fit to window". The screenshot above shows my settings, which is pretty much every box checked in the View dialog. Would it be possible for you to share a small video or screen-cast, showing the issue you are having?
Good Unofficial PaintShop Pro Tutorials: Creation CasselMake Shop ProHEC Image EditingLeviFiction PSP Basics
(plus my own Gimp & Stuff)
Linda Lou
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 10:26 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD Ryzen 7 Pro Mobile-Intel i7-Intel i7vPro10th
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1024 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: ThinkPad X395/ThinkPad L14/ThinkPad Extreme Gen3
Corel programs: PaintShop Pro 7, 8.1, 2018

Re: Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Post by Linda Lou »

Thank you for the additional suggestions. It may be my mouse settings on the new computer. I don't have the problem with my older one. I'll check those. Thanks, @patara.
Linda Lou
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 10:26 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD Ryzen 7 Pro Mobile-Intel i7-Intel i7vPro10th
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1024 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: ThinkPad X395/ThinkPad L14/ThinkPad Extreme Gen3
Corel programs: PaintShop Pro 7, 8.1, 2018

Re: Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Post by Linda Lou »

Finally no more "Fit to Image" problems. Believe it or not, it must have been the way PSP installed on that computer.
I have a new computer for testing. PSP 2018 is installed on it with the same settings, same external mouse - same everything. This most recent PSP 2018 install is from the same installation media and is normal (except for bugs that were not fixed on Corel's end.) Now I'm wondering if a "Repair" on the other computer will fix the Window issue. I'm tending to think not since it was doing that since Day 1. Strangest thing I've ever seen! :shock:

Now it's such a pleasure to use PSP again.
Post Reply