Page 1 of 2

Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Posted: Sun Nov 17, 2019 3:02 pm
by Lijpeijp
After update 6 of AfterShot 3, AfterShot 3 no longer works properly and has become slow in everything.
when i apply edits then it goes completely wrong the previews that are displayed at the bottom go over and through each other, there are also gaps where no previews can be seen.

I hope they will soon do something about it, otherwise I will be forced to switch to Adobe.
so hurry up. :mrgreen:

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Posted: Sun Nov 17, 2019 9:26 pm
by Voiceofexperience
Lijpeijp wrote:I hope they will soon do something about it
God loves an optimist...

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Posted: Sun Nov 17, 2019 11:26 pm
by Lijpeijp
I keep hoping but I don't see it resolved quickly.
I have already created multiple ticks and had several chads with Corel but they don't know anything at all.
I think they have released the update 6 to disrupt AfterShot 3 and hope that people will switch to AfterSho Pro 3.
But I'm not going to do that, then I will switch to Adobe

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Posted: Mon Nov 18, 2019 3:17 am
by dFlyer
Same problem in Pro

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 9:25 pm
by tintin
Same for me!
It's not usable like that.
What helps at the moment is deleting the full 'cache' folder after each session.
(What I observed is that the 'settings' database file in the 'cahe' folder is growing massively for each relaunch of ASP3)

Corel, please fix that. And/Or provide a download for the last working version!
Thank you!

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Posted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 9:59 pm
by tintin
Another - less anoying - workaround seems to be to set the 'target cache size' to a low value. I set it to 1 (MB) and it works for me. By such small value seemginly ASP is cleaning the cahce itself each time ASP is relaunched.

how to change it:
File Menu --> Preferences... --> Import & Cache --> Target Cache Size = 1 MB

maybe it helps for you, too :-)

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2019 9:20 pm
by Cliff_77
tintin wrote:Another - less anoying - workaround seems to be to set the 'target cache size' to a low value. I set it to 1 (MB) and it works for me. By such small value seemginly ASP is cleaning the cahce itself each time ASP is relaunched.

how to change it:
File Menu --> Preferences... --> Import & Cache --> Target Cache Size = 1 MB

maybe it helps for you, too :-)
Tintin - you're a Knight of the Internet & I kneel before you!

Been having the same problem as all have reported above, just tried your workaround & it seems to have resolved things.

Thank you for saving me from tearing my hair out!

Cliff

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2019 12:28 pm
by Lijpeijp
What a bad at Technical Support!
I finally had to reinstall Windows After Update 6 for AfterShot 3 so I have now a clean system.
Then i asked for a nice offer of Aftershot pro 3 but you came with a far too high offer so i am forst to installed AtterShot 3 again and there I got offer of 22 euros that I had already indicated to Corel Technical Support.
I have done the update to AfterShot pro 3 and the same problem remains AfterShot pro 3 dont works properly.

And I also have another complaint with the update you get free Particle Shop and Winzip (a trial version) and all that free appears to be completely disillusioning because those are already programs that Corel have given away to me in my previous purchase of PaintShop Pro 2018.
These are not plus points for Corel.
I say clean up your mess corel so that we don't walk over to Adobe Lightroom

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2019 11:13 am
by Lijpeijp
tintin wrote:Another - less anoying - workaround seems to be to set the 'target cache size' to a low value. I set it to 1 (MB) and it works for me. By such small value seemginly ASP is cleaning the cahce itself each time ASP is relaunched.

how to change it:
File Menu --> Preferences... --> Import & Cache --> Target Cache Size = 1 MB

maybe it helps for you, too :-)
It works but it seems to me that this is not the intention of Corel and hope that Corel will soon come up with a good update so that people do not drop out of Corel AfterShot.
Tintin thank you very much for the super tip I can use AfterShot again so far.
Thanks!

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Posted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 3:25 pm
by Lijpeijp
Now a new problem with AfterShot pro 3 AfterShot pro 3 No longer exports images if I reduce them. :shock: :? :cry: :cry:

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2019 1:12 pm
by Lijpeijp
I have said goodbye to AfterShot 3 and AfterShot Pro 3 for good.
I happen to run into the beautiful program Luminar4 on the internet and it takes my breath away and blows up my brain.
what a super de luxe standalone photo program.
I had no choice but to switch to Luminar4
Bye AfterShot.

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Posted: Mon Dec 30, 2019 2:26 pm
by Lijpeijp
Will Corel AfterShot come up with a new update in 2020?
Let's hope that we can start a happy AfterShot New Year in January.
So hurry up Corel! :evil:

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Posted: Mon Dec 30, 2019 3:46 pm
by csh2000
I have an open case with Corel, but I am being ignored. I have even resorted to copying the CEO (Patrick Nichols) on my emails. I wish they would send me the link to go back to 3.5. I've downloaded the latest version of Darktable to replace AfterShot Pro.

I went to look for recent reviews of Corel and the vast majority agrees with my assessment. Corel technical support sucks.

https://www.trustpilot.com/review/www.corel.com

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Posted: Tue Dec 31, 2019 10:32 am
by Lijpeijp
I totally agree with that they let you do nonsense things.
The support is a joke - they asking for the same information over and over again without resolving a problem :roll:

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Posted: Wed Jan 01, 2020 2:10 pm
by Voiceofexperience
None of this is new information, people: the software - and the baggage that comes with it - have long been recognised as abysmal; and Corel's behaviour a disrespectful insult to paying customers.