Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Bugs & Suggestions
Lijpeijp
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:12 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Dat weet ik niet
processor: Intelcore i7
ram: 6 GB
Video Card: Ati mobility radeon HD 5650 1GB
sound_card: Dat weet ik niet
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1000 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer
Corel programs: Paintshop 4 Paintshop 2018 AfterShot p
Location: Nederland
Contact:

Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Post by Lijpeijp »

After update 6 of AfterShot 3, AfterShot 3 no longer works properly and has become slow in everything.
when i apply edits then it goes completely wrong the previews that are displayed at the bottom go over and through each other, there are also gaps where no previews can be seen.

I hope they will soon do something about it, otherwise I will be forced to switch to Adobe.
so hurry up. :mrgreen:
Attachments
bad update3
bad update3
bad update2
bad update2
bad update
bad update
Voiceofexperience
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:42 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD FX-4300
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: AMD Radeon 7 200
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 5 tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG S-IPS
Corel programs: None - I'm fussy.

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Post by Voiceofexperience »

Lijpeijp wrote:I hope they will soon do something about it
God loves an optimist...
Lijpeijp
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:12 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Dat weet ik niet
processor: Intelcore i7
ram: 6 GB
Video Card: Ati mobility radeon HD 5650 1GB
sound_card: Dat weet ik niet
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1000 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer
Corel programs: Paintshop 4 Paintshop 2018 AfterShot p
Location: Nederland
Contact:

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Post by Lijpeijp »

I keep hoping but I don't see it resolved quickly.
I have already created multiple ticks and had several chads with Corel but they don't know anything at all.
I think they have released the update 6 to disrupt AfterShot 3 and hope that people will switch to AfterSho Pro 3.
But I'm not going to do that, then I will switch to Adobe
dFlyer
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 3:18 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Post by dFlyer »

Same problem in Pro
Thanks.
Gary Garibaldi
Linux since 96
Sony a700
Sony a100
tintin
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 2:45 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Ryzen R5 3600X

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Post by tintin »

Same for me!
It's not usable like that.
What helps at the moment is deleting the full 'cache' folder after each session.
(What I observed is that the 'settings' database file in the 'cahe' folder is growing massively for each relaunch of ASP3)

Corel, please fix that. And/Or provide a download for the last working version!
Thank you!
my plugins on the official plugins homepage
If you find my plugins helpful, please make a donation to support further developments - just click here, thank you!
tintin
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 2:45 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Ryzen R5 3600X

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Post by tintin »

Another - less anoying - workaround seems to be to set the 'target cache size' to a low value. I set it to 1 (MB) and it works for me. By such small value seemginly ASP is cleaning the cahce itself each time ASP is relaunched.

how to change it:
File Menu --> Preferences... --> Import & Cache --> Target Cache Size = 1 MB

maybe it helps for you, too :-)
my plugins on the official plugins homepage
If you find my plugins helpful, please make a donation to support further developments - just click here, thank you!
Cliff_77
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 11:34 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 5TB
Corel programs: Aftershot pro 2 & aftershot pro 3

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Post by Cliff_77 »

tintin wrote:Another - less anoying - workaround seems to be to set the 'target cache size' to a low value. I set it to 1 (MB) and it works for me. By such small value seemginly ASP is cleaning the cahce itself each time ASP is relaunched.

how to change it:
File Menu --> Preferences... --> Import & Cache --> Target Cache Size = 1 MB

maybe it helps for you, too :-)
Tintin - you're a Knight of the Internet & I kneel before you!

Been having the same problem as all have reported above, just tried your workaround & it seems to have resolved things.

Thank you for saving me from tearing my hair out!

Cliff
Lijpeijp
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:12 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Dat weet ik niet
processor: Intelcore i7
ram: 6 GB
Video Card: Ati mobility radeon HD 5650 1GB
sound_card: Dat weet ik niet
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1000 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer
Corel programs: Paintshop 4 Paintshop 2018 AfterShot p
Location: Nederland
Contact:

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Post by Lijpeijp »

What a bad at Technical Support!
I finally had to reinstall Windows After Update 6 for AfterShot 3 so I have now a clean system.
Then i asked for a nice offer of Aftershot pro 3 but you came with a far too high offer so i am forst to installed AtterShot 3 again and there I got offer of 22 euros that I had already indicated to Corel Technical Support.
I have done the update to AfterShot pro 3 and the same problem remains AfterShot pro 3 dont works properly.

And I also have another complaint with the update you get free Particle Shop and Winzip (a trial version) and all that free appears to be completely disillusioning because those are already programs that Corel have given away to me in my previous purchase of PaintShop Pro 2018.
These are not plus points for Corel.
I say clean up your mess corel so that we don't walk over to Adobe Lightroom
Attachments
Now only 22.99 euros
Now only 22.99 euros
After the installation AfterShot Pro3
After the installation AfterShot Pro3
Lijpeijp
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:12 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Dat weet ik niet
processor: Intelcore i7
ram: 6 GB
Video Card: Ati mobility radeon HD 5650 1GB
sound_card: Dat weet ik niet
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1000 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer
Corel programs: Paintshop 4 Paintshop 2018 AfterShot p
Location: Nederland
Contact:

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Post by Lijpeijp »

tintin wrote:Another - less anoying - workaround seems to be to set the 'target cache size' to a low value. I set it to 1 (MB) and it works for me. By such small value seemginly ASP is cleaning the cahce itself each time ASP is relaunched.

how to change it:
File Menu --> Preferences... --> Import & Cache --> Target Cache Size = 1 MB

maybe it helps for you, too :-)
It works but it seems to me that this is not the intention of Corel and hope that Corel will soon come up with a good update so that people do not drop out of Corel AfterShot.
Tintin thank you very much for the super tip I can use AfterShot again so far.
Thanks!
Lijpeijp
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:12 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Dat weet ik niet
processor: Intelcore i7
ram: 6 GB
Video Card: Ati mobility radeon HD 5650 1GB
sound_card: Dat weet ik niet
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1000 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer
Corel programs: Paintshop 4 Paintshop 2018 AfterShot p
Location: Nederland
Contact:

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Post by Lijpeijp »

Now a new problem with AfterShot pro 3 AfterShot pro 3 No longer exports images if I reduce them. :shock: :? :cry: :cry:
Lijpeijp
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:12 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Dat weet ik niet
processor: Intelcore i7
ram: 6 GB
Video Card: Ati mobility radeon HD 5650 1GB
sound_card: Dat weet ik niet
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1000 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer
Corel programs: Paintshop 4 Paintshop 2018 AfterShot p
Location: Nederland
Contact:

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Post by Lijpeijp »

I have said goodbye to AfterShot 3 and AfterShot Pro 3 for good.
I happen to run into the beautiful program Luminar4 on the internet and it takes my breath away and blows up my brain.
what a super de luxe standalone photo program.
I had no choice but to switch to Luminar4
Bye AfterShot.
Lijpeijp
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:12 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Dat weet ik niet
processor: Intelcore i7
ram: 6 GB
Video Card: Ati mobility radeon HD 5650 1GB
sound_card: Dat weet ik niet
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1000 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer
Corel programs: Paintshop 4 Paintshop 2018 AfterShot p
Location: Nederland
Contact:

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Post by Lijpeijp »

Will Corel AfterShot come up with a new update in 2020?
Let's hope that we can start a happy AfterShot New Year in January.
So hurry up Corel! :evil:
csh2000
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 3:54 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel Core i7-6500U CPU 2.50GHz
ram: 12GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: PSP X9, Aftershot Pro 3, VideoStudio X9

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Post by csh2000 »

I have an open case with Corel, but I am being ignored. I have even resorted to copying the CEO (Patrick Nichols) on my emails. I wish they would send me the link to go back to 3.5. I've downloaded the latest version of Darktable to replace AfterShot Pro.

I went to look for recent reviews of Corel and the vast majority agrees with my assessment. Corel technical support sucks.

https://www.trustpilot.com/review/www.corel.com
Lijpeijp
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 11:12 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Dat weet ik niet
processor: Intelcore i7
ram: 6 GB
Video Card: Ati mobility radeon HD 5650 1GB
sound_card: Dat weet ik niet
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1000 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer
Corel programs: Paintshop 4 Paintshop 2018 AfterShot p
Location: Nederland
Contact:

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Post by Lijpeijp »

I totally agree with that they let you do nonsense things.
The support is a joke - they asking for the same information over and over again without resolving a problem :roll:
Voiceofexperience
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 12:42 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD FX-4300
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: AMD Radeon 7 200
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 5 tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG S-IPS
Corel programs: None - I'm fussy.

Re: Update 6 for AfterShot 3 is a bad update !

Post by Voiceofexperience »

None of this is new information, people: the software - and the baggage that comes with it - have long been recognised as abysmal; and Corel's behaviour a disrespectful insult to paying customers.
Post Reply