Aftershot Pro has stopped working

AfterShot Pro General Questions & Getting Started Forum
Post Reply
Autumnsboy
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 7:31 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Aftershot Pro has stopped working

Post by Autumnsboy »

Aftershot no longer loads. I get the message "Aftershot Pro has stopped working, windows is checking for a solution" and then the program stops loading. This program seems so unstable. I have used earlier versions and with other computers and have seen the program crash frequently before. Unfortunately, this is the first that I have seen it repeated crash like this and not get it eventually load. Help. Or is it time to go back to Lightroom?
uwe
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2015 5:54 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Aftershot Pro has stopped working

Post by uwe »

Same happens to me. I hate that Kind of behaviour of a Software. I thought give it a shot and purchased ASP 3 today, imported about 5000 Pictures for testing purposes. ASP 3 crahes everytime after clicking on keywords and frequently while using other selections in the metadata-browser. That is a nightmare.
I have no Problems at all with LR regarding stability, but would like to replace it. Well, it seems that I stay with LR. Or another competitor.
Dutchmm
Posts: 297
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 8:55 am
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asus 97
processor: Intel i7 4785T
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Onboard Intel
sound_card: Intel AC97
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2.5TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Philips 28"
Corel programs: ASP 3 Pro (and 2 and 1 before)

Re: Aftershot Pro has stopped working

Post by Dutchmm »

I wonder whether either of you deleted the cache file after the crash, and before restarting ASP? This directory is called "cache", and sits (in windows), in "Users\<your name>\AppData\Local\Corel\AfterShot Pro3\" generally on drive C I would think. At least that is where ASP has it on my W10 laptop. On Linux, it will be within whatever directory you specify as holding your User files, generally ".Aftershot Pro3" in your home directory.

Just nuke the cache, and ASP should restart.
Post Reply