Getting around RW2 problem

AfterShot Pro General Questions & Getting Started Forum
Post Reply
chamomileshark
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 4:30 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 32GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Corel programs: PSP 9 Aftershot Pro 3

Getting around RW2 problem

Post by chamomileshark »

hi, new to Aftershot Pro 3 and to anything other than simple jpeg photos.

I wanted to use Aftershot pro 3 with my Lumix DMC-TZ70. I've now realised that the RAW format used by the Lumix can't be read by Aftershot.

I've tried a number of conversion file software, e.g xnconvert, adobe DNG converter and I still can't convert to anything that can be read by Aftershot.

Does anyone have a solution?

The best I've come up with so far is to use Silkypix to convert the .rw2 files to TIFF and then get them into Aftershot pro. Is that a sensible thing to do as a sort of compromise?
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12614
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Getting around RW2 problem

Post by lata »

Hi

Seems strange that PSP will open those files, the program also offers Aftershot at a discount.
Then of course Aftershot does not open RW2, hmmm
Maybe contact Corel Support for their opinion?
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12614
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Getting around RW2 problem

Post by lata »

Hi

I have just looked at the user guide (Supported Camera and file Formats) that indicates it supports RW2

Maybe that's the pro version?
Regards Trevor
chamomileshark
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 4:30 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 32GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Corel programs: PSP 9 Aftershot Pro 3

Re: Getting around RW2 problem

Post by chamomileshark »

Lata, thanks for your reply.

When you go to Aftershot Pro and browse for files all my jpegs and .rw2 files show in the management tab. But if you try and open one of those files nothing happens. I saw the same comment on a different forum.

I actually also have PSP and I thought that might be an answer, I tried that last night, I opened a .rw2 file in PSP and then hit "save as", chose RAW files and saved. But unfortunately even those files aren't opened by Aftershot Pro.
hannes_hab
Posts: 299
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 4:49 am
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: Z
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK P8H77-I
processor: Intel Core i7 3770K 3.5 GHz x 8
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: AMD Radeon R7 200 Series
sound_card: Radeon HD 7700 7800 Sapphire
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2x250GbSSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG IPS 21:9 UltraWide 34UM95-P 3440x1440
Corel programs: AfterShotPro 1, 2, (3)
Location: Austria

Re: Getting around RW2 problem

Post by hannes_hab »

http://www.aftershotpro.com/de/products ... tech-specs
Panasonic®
DMC-GH4, FZ1000, FZ100, FZ150, FZ200, FZ18, FZ28, FZ30, FZ35, FZ38, FZ40, FZ45, FZ50, FZ8, G1, G2, G3, G5, G6, G10, GF1, GF2, GF3, GF5, GF6, GF7, GH1, GH2, GH3, GM1, GM5, GX1, GX7, L1, L10, LF1, LX100, LX1, LX2, LX3, LX5, LX7, TZ60, ZS40, Lumix DMC-G7

I have the TZ60 and this one is ok.

Send a feature request for the TZ70 (http://www.aftershotpro.com/en/feedback) - I don't know but if the TZ70 has the same sensor as any other Lumix above you can use exiftool to rename your camera model
regards Hannes
austria

Nikon D7000 + D70, Nikon P6000, Nikon P330 (use P7800) PanasonicTZ100, Vuescan
bibble 4, bibble 5, ASP mostly on Ubuntu 14.04 ( sometimes Suse Linux 11.4 or WIN10)
chamomileshark
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 4:30 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 32GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Corel programs: PSP 9 Aftershot Pro 3

Re: Getting around RW2 problem

Post by chamomileshark »

thank you Hannes, I send that request.

I'll also have a look at exiftool - I can see there are some videos on Youttube re how to use it.
chamomileshark
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 4:30 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 32GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Corel programs: PSP 9 Aftershot Pro 3

Re: Getting around RW2 problem

Post by chamomileshark »

ok, given up with Exiftool - it's beyond me. I've lost count of the number of conversion tools I've installed, even had to install winzip to open the .tar file the Exiftool downloads as.

I'll send in the request to Corel but don't hold much hope.
hannes_hab
Posts: 299
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 4:49 am
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: Z
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK P8H77-I
processor: Intel Core i7 3770K 3.5 GHz x 8
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: AMD Radeon R7 200 Series
sound_card: Radeon HD 7700 7800 Sapphire
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2x250GbSSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG IPS 21:9 UltraWide 34UM95-P 3440x1440
Corel programs: AfterShotPro 1, 2, (3)
Location: Austria

Re: Getting around RW2 problem

Post by hannes_hab »

http://u88.n24.queensu.ca/~bogdan/
Exiftool is no conversion-software but it may help you in several ways
e.g. you can tell your file that is not a tz70 but a tz60 file - don't know if that helps in your case ...
regards Hannes
austria

Nikon D7000 + D70, Nikon P6000, Nikon P330 (use P7800) PanasonicTZ100, Vuescan
bibble 4, bibble 5, ASP mostly on Ubuntu 14.04 ( sometimes Suse Linux 11.4 or WIN10)
chamomileshark
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2017 4:30 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 32GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Corel programs: PSP 9 Aftershot Pro 3

Re: Getting around RW2 problem

Post by chamomileshark »

Hannes, yes I understood that Exiftool isn't a conversion tool - I ran into the problem of just having command prompts.

So thank you very much for pointing me to the GUI programe - I've now managed to change the camera name from TZ70 to TZ60 which is supported and Aftershot pro is now opening the .rw2 files.

I'll still put in a support request but this is a work around.

Thanks, I've been trying to sort this for days!
neilmwhite
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 2:14 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C

Re: Getting around RW2 problem

Post by neilmwhite »

Not sure which version of Exiftool you were using but there is a GUI interface for it downloadable here:

http://u88.n24.queensu.ca/~bogdan/exiftoolgui516.zip

You only need one part of it. Once you have located the files you want to modify - selected them.
Then click on the ExifTool Direct button and in the command box enter this - [-Model="DMC-TZ60"] (without the [])
While still on that text box hit the Enter/Return key and it will apply the modification to the exif data.

I often do this for my TZ60 files as they can't be read in one of my other RAW processors.
Post Reply