Can I give the colored labels names?

AfterShot Pro General Questions & Getting Started Forum
Post Reply
Kneops
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 2:43 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS P8 Z68
processor: Intel i7 2600
ram: 16GB
Video Card: nVidia 450
sound_card: onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 14 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell U2713H & Spider4
Corel programs: ASP3
Contact:

Can I give the colored labels names?

Post by Kneops »

Now it's just red, yellow etc. but I would like to give them names like 'Published' or 'Sold', just like the color markers inside an email client.
kaymann
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 5:25 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS P8P67 PRO REV 3.1
processor: Intel i-7 6800K
ram: 32 GB
Video Card: NVidia GeForce RTX 2060
sound_card: Onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3.5 T
Monitor/Display Make & Model: MSI MAG 341CQ & Dell 2470
Corel programs: PSP 2019 Ult, Painter 2020, CorelDraw X7

Re: Can I give the colored labels names?

Post by kaymann »

AfterShot Pro is customizable if anything but this is one thing no one has been able to figure a fix for.
Kneops
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 2:43 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS P8 Z68
processor: Intel i7 2600
ram: 16GB
Video Card: nVidia 450
sound_card: onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 14 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell U2713H & Spider4
Corel programs: ASP3
Contact:

Re: Can I give the colored labels names?

Post by Kneops »

Thanks for the reply. Hopefully someone from the ASP crew can answer this, or take it into their to-do list.
ferdinand-paris
Posts: 224
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 4:37 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: GA-X58A-UD3R
processor: 3.20 gigahertz Intel Core i7 960
ram: 4Gb
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GS
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio on-board
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2500 Gb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Eizo CG222W

Re: Can I give the colored labels names?

Post by ferdinand-paris »

Some programs allow for this. I stopped doing it because it causes issues. Let's suppose you rename "Red" to "XXX". Then "XXX" gets written into the file's XMP metadata instead of "Red". I.e. this is not just a presentational thing - if affects what gets written to the metadata. For this to be correctly interpreted by all programs you use then you'll need to make this change in them all. If one program doesn't, e.g. ASP, then it won't recognise the label "XXX". I came to the conclusion that it's simpler to stick with the colours.
Kneops
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri May 09, 2014 2:43 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS P8 Z68
processor: Intel i7 2600
ram: 16GB
Video Card: nVidia 450
sound_card: onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 14 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell U2713H & Spider4
Corel programs: ASP3
Contact:

Re: Can I give the colored labels names?

Post by Kneops »

If there is one thing I won't do is changing things in the software ;), especially when it gets written into the meta data.
I will follow your advice and stick to the colors.
gdwsr
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 3:24 am
operating_system: Mac
System_Drive: B
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Mac Late 2009
processor: Intel Core 2 duo
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: NVIDIA GFORCE 9400 256 MB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 gb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: IMAC
Corel programs: Aftershot Pro 3

Re: Can I give the colored labels names?

Post by gdwsr »

How about just allowing the end user to give each color name for a hoverover not actually changing it in the Metadata?
grcolts
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 11:41 pm
operating_system: Mac
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: 2.5 ghz intel core i5
ram: 8gb
Video Card: Radeon HD
sound_card: apple
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500gb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 21.5 Imac

Re: Can I give the colored labels names?

Post by grcolts »

As others have already mentioned it does not appear you can do that in this software.
What I do is just keep a printed cheatsheet for the colors, example blue= landscape images, red = people, etc.
That way, if someone other than me wants to sort out images all they have to do is use my cheatsheet.
Not perfect but it works.
GR
Post Reply