Beta 1.1.0.30 at start !!!

AfterShot Pro General Questions & Getting Started Forum
claus_uetersen
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:57 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: intel i5
ram: 4GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 750GB

Beta 1.1.0.30 at start !!!

Post by claus_uetersen »

Just got the message, that a new beta-version is available :

http://www.aftershotpro.com/testbuilds/

good luck Claus
Dutchmm
Posts: 297
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 8:55 am
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asus 97
processor: Intel i7 4785T
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Onboard Intel
sound_card: Intel AC97
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2.5TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Philips 28"
Corel programs: ASP 3 Pro (and 2 and 1 before)

Re: Beta 1.1.0.30 at start !!!

Post by Dutchmm »

Installs fine - the same things that work on 1.1.0.28 still work for me on Linux
As I use the software in English, I wasn't expecting the changes to localised text to affect me.
It isn't clear from the changelog which plugins might behave differently so how we are supposed to know whether our concerns have been addressed, I know not.
algreen345

Re: Beta 1.1.0.30 at start !!!

Post by algreen345 »

This is really good news as it shows that Corel is listening to users and openning up the beta testing process. Very happy that Corel is embracing openness and user interaction.
swimmer
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:18 am
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: Z
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Beta 1.1.0.30 at start !!!

Post by swimmer »

Did anyone else notice a change in the functioning of HighlightRecovery in the new Beta? I can't help but think that it shows visible changes again if you pull up the slider ...

This wasn't the case for me until the last beta.

Kindly yours
swimmer
Feel free to visit my galleries
FernandoBatista
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 4:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Ultimate
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Beta 1.1.0.30 at start !!!

Post by FernandoBatista »

Looks very good to me at first glance, opens NEFs quite fast with no problems noticed so far converting them.
But I hope it gets support for a Panasonic G5 too before the final version.
dFlyer
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 3:18 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee

Re: Beta 1.1.0.30 at start !!!

Post by dFlyer »

Anyone beside me having linux printing issuses with Ubuntu 12.10?
Thanks.
Gary Garibaldi
Linux since 96
Sony a700
Sony a100
eDDe
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 4:44 am
operating_system: Mac
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8gb

Re: Beta 1.1.0.30 at start !!!

Post by eDDe »

Be really grateful if someone could tell me how to install Beta!
Which files do I download.
Running Win XP 32bit

Many thanks

Ed
eDDe ~ (Sony Alpha a77 ii; Sony Alpha A6000)
Mel
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 9:33 am
operating_system: Windows XP Home
System_Drive: N/A

Re: Beta 1.1.0.30 at start !!!

Post by Mel »

eDDe
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 4:44 am
operating_system: Mac
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8gb

Re: Beta 1.1.0.30 at start !!!

Post by eDDe »

OK thanks. I ran it from the website and it worked. Previously I had downloaded it first and then run it - came up with an error message.

All working fine now.

Ed
eDDe ~ (Sony Alpha a77 ii; Sony Alpha A6000)
andrewh
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 5:53 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asus P6T
processor: Intel i7 920
ram: 6 GB
Video Card: ATI Radeon 4800
sound_card: Motherboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 6.5 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP LP2475W

Re: Beta 1.1.0.30 at start !!!

Post by andrewh »

Having major problems with OpenCC. My Radeon 4800 under Windows 7 64 does not want to work with teh latest AMD drivers - I get a startup error "kdbsync has stopped working". Then when I start ASP it simply crashes within a few seconds of starting - I cannot get it to start without trying to use OpenCC. Any ideas??
SteveCase
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 8:16 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASRock 990FX Extreme4
processor: AMD FX-8350
ram: 16.0 GB
Video Card: GTX 550ti
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Beta 1.1.0.30 at start !!!

Post by SteveCase »

andrewh wrote:Having major problems with OpenCC. My Radeon 4800 under Windows 7 64 does not want to work with teh latest AMD drivers - I get a startup error "kdbsync has stopped working". Then when I start ASP it simply crashes within a few seconds of starting - I cannot get it to start without trying to use OpenCC. Any ideas??
This problem is well documented on the NET. Easy to search for.
Steve in Seattle,WA
afx
Moderator
Posts: 1675
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 1:38 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Video Card: FirePro 4900
Monitor/Display Make & Model: NEC PA301w, ColorMunki
Location: München
Contact:

Re: Beta 1.1.0.30 at start !!!

Post by afx »

I am used to Copy&Paste not always including the crop (old bug), but this build added an interesting twist.
A straighten image with a crop gets a messed up crop when using copy&paste....
And that seems to be consistent.

cheers
afx
Send bugs to the Monkey // AfterShot Kickstart Guide // sRGB clipping sucks and Adobe RGB is just as bad
Bibble since 2005 // W7 64 on quad Phenom // Ubuntu 14.4 on quad i7 and dualcore AMD // Images
afx
Moderator
Posts: 1675
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 1:38 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Video Card: FirePro 4900
Monitor/Display Make & Model: NEC PA301w, ColorMunki
Location: München
Contact:

Re: Beta 1.1.0.30 at start !!!

Post by afx »

What a piece of lameness.
Thanks to a hint from andreas I found the problem (missing 32bit libnvidia-opencl.so in the Nvidia 64bit driver) that prevented me from activating OpenCL in AS and can now play with the OpenCL version.

The following numbers are averages of several runs on 32 raw files from the D700 and the XZ-1:
1.1.0.30 No OpenCL: 0.75s/image
1.1.0.30 OpenCL min: 0.75s/image
1.1.0.30 OpenCL low: 7.8 - 32s/image (also crashes)
1.1.0.30 OpenCL std: 1.7-2.3s (when it does not crash...)
1.1.0.30 OpenCL high: 1.78s/image

1.0.1.10: 0.78s/image

Not much of an improvident so far.

When using the High setting images without highlight warning on where shown with some shadow warning in preview... With the highlight warning on, only the highlights where shown as configured in preferences.

cheers
afx
Send bugs to the Monkey // AfterShot Kickstart Guide // sRGB clipping sucks and Adobe RGB is just as bad
Bibble since 2005 // W7 64 on quad Phenom // Ubuntu 14.4 on quad i7 and dualcore AMD // Images
_andreas_
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 4:21 am
operating_system: Mac
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MacBook Pro Retina 13inch - Late 2012
processor: i5 2.5 Ghz
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 128 GB
Location: Munich/Germany

Re: Beta 1.1.0.30 at start !!!

Post by _andreas_ »

afx wrote:Thanks to a hint from andreas I found the problem (missing 32bit libnvidia-opencl.so in the Nvidia 64bit driver) that prevented me from activating OpenCL in AS and can now play with the OpenCL version.
wow! Thanks!
Now openCL "works" also on my Thinkpad w520 :lol:

Here are my results (40 images, sony nex-5 14 Mpixel, raw-->"full jpg" batch, restart ASP after each test):

1.1.0.30 without OpenCL : 0.975s / image
1.1.0.30 with OpenCL "std" : 1.18s / image, hangs sometimes
1.1.0.30 with OpenCL "high" : 1.2s / image
1.1.0.30 with OpenCL "low" : 1.15s / image
1.1.0.30 with OpenCL "min" : 0.945s / image

and for comparisation the result of ASP 1.01.10: 0.976s / image

Hm.... :lol: :lol: :lol:
grubernd
Moderator
Posts: 245
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 8:17 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: from atom to quadcore
Hard_Drive_Capacity: not enough
Location: Graz, Austria
Contact:

Re: Beta 1.1.0.30 at start !!!

Post by grubernd »

..

those numbers remind me of the infamous do-nothing-machine.
use the Monkey to report bugs - include as much precise information as you can provide!
Bibble since 2004 - lots of it in my public archive: http://bilder.grubernd.at
Post Reply