Question about ASP cataloging

AfterShot Pro General Questions & Getting Started Forum
Post Reply
thazooo
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 2:39 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI Z170 A
processor: I5 6500
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Asus GT730
sound_card: SB Live Extreme audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell 2208WFP
Corel programs: PSP X8, VSP 9.5, ASP 1, 2, 3
Location: Mississippi, USA

Question about ASP cataloging

Post by thazooo »

New user but experienced with cataloging.
Is keywording imbedded or is this an additional step ?
If imbedded, where ? Metadata, IPTC, XMP ?
Will ASP pick up the keywording of other programs and from which field?

Thanks.

Dana
grubernd
Moderator
Posts: 245
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 8:17 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: from atom to quadcore
Hard_Drive_Capacity: not enough
Location: Graz, Austria
Contact:

Re: Question about ASP cataloging

Post by grubernd »

ASP should read all keywords that are inside images or in xmp-files next to the raw-files.
i say "should" because i dont know what camera and fileformat you use.
best is to just use the filesystem tab in ASP to browse to images and see if the keywords pop up in the field.
use the Monkey to report bugs - include as much precise information as you can provide!
Bibble since 2004 - lots of it in my public archive: http://bilder.grubernd.at
thazooo
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 2:39 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI Z170 A
processor: I5 6500
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Asus GT730
sound_card: SB Live Extreme audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell 2208WFP
Corel programs: PSP X8, VSP 9.5, ASP 1, 2, 3
Location: Mississippi, USA

Re: Question about ASP cataloging

Post by thazooo »

Thanks.

RAW is .PEF. Previous cataloging was ACDSee Pro 3.
I'm trying to decide if ASP is proprietary xmp or not.
Right now ASP is picking up some keywords from ACDSee but none of the catalog, ACDSee does not pickup the key words of ASP.

Staying with strictly Corel Products, PSP X3 and Photo Paint X4, neither prog is picking up the keywords generated in ASP.
What I'd like ( LOL ) is that keywording be readable across all the programs.

Dana
afx
Moderator
Posts: 1675
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 1:38 pm
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Video Card: FirePro 4900
Monitor/Display Make & Model: NEC PA301w, ColorMunki
Location: München
Contact:

Re: Question about ASP cataloging

Post by afx »

thazooo wrote:What I'd like ( LOL ) is that keywording be readable across all the programs.
Then you need to explicitly write standard XMPs. (Context menu option).

Thanks to the typical Adobe messup, standard XMPs are named File.XMP which makes it impossible to have two different image file types with individual XMPs. Therefore Bibble, AS and various other programs started to use File.type.xmp to store their settings.
But to facilitate metadata exchange with other programs, AS reads classic XMPs and can be told to write them.

cheers
afx
Send bugs to the Monkey // AfterShot Kickstart Guide // sRGB clipping sucks and Adobe RGB is just as bad
Bibble since 2005 // W7 64 on quad Phenom // Ubuntu 14.4 on quad i7 and dualcore AMD // Images
hannes_hab
Posts: 298
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 4:49 am
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: Z
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK P8H77-I
processor: Intel Core i7 3770K 3.5 GHz x 8
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: AMD Radeon R7 200 Series
sound_card: Radeon HD 7700 7800 Sapphire
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2x250GbSSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG IPS 21:9 UltraWide 34UM95-P 3440x1440
Corel programs: AfterShotPro 1, 2, (3)
Location: Austria

Re: Question about ASP cataloging

Post by hannes_hab »

bibble work queues
is the opening of work queues supported?
will there be a feature to write and add to work queues?

hannes
regards Hannes
austria

Nikon D7000 + D70, Nikon P6000, Nikon P330 (use P7800) PanasonicTZ100, Vuescan
bibble 4, bibble 5, ASP mostly on Ubuntu 14.04 ( sometimes Suse Linux 11.4 or WIN10)
ashmoore
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 3:45 pm
operating_system: Mac
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 16G
Monitor/Display Make & Model: iMac 27"

Re: Question about ASP cataloging

Post by ashmoore »

Check on the Bibble forums - there are a bunch of posts on that subject over there
old Bibble user
Hmm is that (old) Bibble user or (old Bibble) user?
thazooo
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 2:39 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI Z170 A
processor: I5 6500
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Asus GT730
sound_card: SB Live Extreme audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell 2208WFP
Corel programs: PSP X8, VSP 9.5, ASP 1, 2, 3
Location: Mississippi, USA

Re: Question about ASP cataloging

Post by thazooo »

Thanks Folks. I now know which direction to take my workflow.

Dana
hannes_hab
Posts: 298
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2012 4:49 am
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: Z
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK P8H77-I
processor: Intel Core i7 3770K 3.5 GHz x 8
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: AMD Radeon R7 200 Series
sound_card: Radeon HD 7700 7800 Sapphire
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2x250GbSSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG IPS 21:9 UltraWide 34UM95-P 3440x1440
Corel programs: AfterShotPro 1, 2, (3)
Location: Austria

Re: Question about ASP cataloging

Post by hannes_hab »

yes - opening of bibble 4 work queues is working like it used to be on b5
regards Hannes
austria

Nikon D7000 + D70, Nikon P6000, Nikon P330 (use P7800) PanasonicTZ100, Vuescan
bibble 4, bibble 5, ASP mostly on Ubuntu 14.04 ( sometimes Suse Linux 11.4 or WIN10)
Post Reply