transparency in overlays doesn't work

Moderator: Ken Berry

Post Reply
Steve Berer
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 4:02 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: FOXCONN ALOE 1.01
processor: 3.00 gigahertz AMD Phenom II X4 945
ram: 8184 MB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce G210
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 639.89 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP 2310m
Corel programs: WP Office X5; Video Studio X6;
Location: DC area
Contact:

transparency in overlays doesn't work

Post by Steve Berer »

I have experienced a problem creating overlay files with objects that are supposed to fade into transparency. They don't. They turn black when used as an overlay file (tho when saved as an mp3 they fade out properly; unfortunately, mp3's can't be used as overlays, since their background is not transparent). This topic was discussed a year ago by David1939, Jan 30, 2012, but the only resolutions were complex work-arounds. Has this problem been fixed? Or do you have any suggestions about how to get a working fade-out of objects in an overlay file.
Thanks for your help.
Steve Berer
Kingston
Posts: 427
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:26 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gateway [Acer] DX4860
processor: Intel Core i5 3rd gen. 3 GHz
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: Intel HD 2500
sound_card: Bluetooth
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell ST2210; Samsung SmartTV 3D 40"
Location: CA, USA

Re: transparency in overlays doesn't work

Post by Kingston »

I still haven't found anything else.

The object's transparency works as long as the "overlay" isn't an overlay and instead is on the main video track. Try adding an image or video as a background (Project > Background > Image) in Motion3D, export to VideoStudio, and drag the clip up to the main video track. You'll see that the transparency works in that situation. You almost have to go the other way, from VideoStudio to Motion3D. You have to create the background video in VideoStudio that you want to be behind the 3D objects, then in Motion3D you change the background from a color (black) to a video, where the video will be the background video you created in VideoStudio. Then save it as a regular video file in Motion3D.
MotionStudio 3D 1.0; Corel VideoStudio Ultimate X7 (w/o sp1) (Download), Corel PaintShop Pro 15.2.0.12 (Download)
kenneithharris
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 27, 2013 12:46 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Starter
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel
processor: Dual Core
ram: 2GB
Video Card: NVIDIA
sound_card: ASUS sound card
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 350Gb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG
Location: Pune India
Contact:

Re: transparency in overlays doesn't work

Post by kenneithharris »

It has been noticed that getting transparency for objects sometime creates problems for images sometime. So, with the motion 3D software we can fix this problem truly easily. Actually, it's a clearly indicates that for creating background specially 3D background this is actually very useful.
Kingston
Posts: 427
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 7:26 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gateway [Acer] DX4860
processor: Intel Core i5 3rd gen. 3 GHz
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: Intel HD 2500
sound_card: Bluetooth
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell ST2210; Samsung SmartTV 3D 40"
Location: CA, USA

Re: transparency in overlays doesn't work

Post by Kingston »

Thank you for that brilliant observation and for wasting my time.
MotionStudio 3D 1.0; Corel VideoStudio Ultimate X7 (w/o sp1) (Download), Corel PaintShop Pro 15.2.0.12 (Download)
Post Reply