mpg files will not import

Several users have been unsure where to post issues relating to the copy of MovieFactory 7 SE now supplied with VideoStudio X3. To make life easier you can post problems here.

Moderator: Ken Berry

Post Reply
rmsscans
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 8:47 pm
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Dell 0C5706
processor: 3 gh Intel Pentium 4
ram: 1.00GB
Video Card: Radeon X300 Series
sound_card: SoundMax
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 410 GB

mpg files will not import

Post by rmsscans »

I have a project due on Tuesday. I completed the editing and created an .mpg file. When I went into DVD FActory 2010 to burnthe DVD, I could not get the files to show up in the media organizer. I had the files in a special folder, and I used Import. I checked the folder and clicked Start. The blue wheelcomes up for a second, then dumps me back into media organizer. But it's empty.

I actually copied my mpg file to an external drive, then imported it, and got a message that said it was importing. But nothing still shows up. I can't burn the dvd and I have been trying all day.

After banging my head against the table, I decided to download a trial version - maybe something is scrambled in my software. I downloaded the trial and when I started it, a window came up asking me to input my user name and password, which I did. Then I got a window and message that the link wasn't working.

At this point, I am ready to throw this software away - I really hate it. Every option is fraught with bad user interfaces.

Can anyone help me?

Thanks.
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
Posts: 12005
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Re: mpg files will not import

Post by Ron P. »

First DVD Factory 2010 which is the default burning application supplied with VS X3, is pure junk. Corel provided DVD MovieFactory 7SE as a replacement, and should be installed with one of the service packs for VS X3. Have you installed them? Have you tried using DVD MovieFactory 7SE?

You mention downloading a trial version, trial version of what? I've never heard of one of Corel's programs asking for a user name and password during the install routine. You should always download the software, then install it from your system, never try to install it from the internet, which is what that sounds like.

Finally please do not double-post, it only causes confusion. It doesn't get answers any faster. When someone reads your post, and has some helpful information they will post. We're all users just like you, and just volunteer our free time here.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
rmsscans
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 8:47 pm
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Dell 0C5706
processor: 3 gh Intel Pentium 4
ram: 1.00GB
Video Card: Radeon X300 Series
sound_card: SoundMax
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 410 GB

Re: mpg files will not import

Post by rmsscans »

i apologize for double posting. i rarely go on this forum and i am still finding my way around. i did not know that it was taboo to double post. also, i was following the directions of one administrators who instructed another user to post in a different forum.

i did download a trial version of x4 and installed it. it is on my desktop as an icon. when i open it, a window comes up and asks for registration. when filled out, i get a message that the link is inoperable. this was actually a desparation move. i need to have these dvd's ready on tuesday.

also, sorry for lack of capitaliation. i am using an old substitute keyboard because my primary computer had a virus. it has been healed, but i am still dodging back and forth as i install the patches on the primary computer.

later - i did get the patch and the app installed and have stumbled thru the menu - at least i have something now. i still have a lot of questions but will look at tutorials.

thanks.
Post Reply