Can't burn a DVD or file.

Several users have been unsure where to post issues relating to the copy of MovieFactory 7 SE now supplied with VideoStudio X3. To make life easier you can post problems here.

Moderator: Ken Berry

wstagner
Posts: 1089
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:29 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Ga-p43-es3g
processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 2.66 GHz
ram: 8gb
Video Card: ATI Radion HD4300 4500 series
sound_card: ATI High Definition Realtek ALC888 codec
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VH242H 24" 1920x1024 screen.
Location: Illinois, USA.
Contact:

Can't burn a DVD or file.

Post by wstagner »

Having been reporting for the past week on my inability to burn a file or DVD in X4, I tested the same project in Movie Studio 7. It fails immediately upon clicking the burn icon.

It fails with the helpful message: "Convert step got some problems."

The same file burns file to file or disk in X2.
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21466
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: Can't burn a DVD or file.

Post by Ken Berry »

At last!!! We agree on something!!! I just inserted those three mp4 files you sent me in MF7SE, accepted the default menu and went to burn a DVD folder. Got the same message as you: the wonderfully ungrammatical and unhelpful message "Convert step got some problems". I also tested the same files in X2 and confirm it could burn a DVD Folder with menu of the same files.

All I can suggest here is that MF 7 is rather picky when it comes to converting other formats. If you are making a DVD, it is better to insert a DVD-compatible mpeg-2.
Ken Berry
wstagner
Posts: 1089
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:29 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Ga-p43-es3g
processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 2.66 GHz
ram: 8gb
Video Card: ATI Radion HD4300 4500 series
sound_card: ATI High Definition Realtek ALC888 codec
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VH242H 24" 1920x1024 screen.
Location: Illinois, USA.
Contact:

Re: Can't burn a DVD or file.

Post by wstagner »

Agreement is eggselent!
I guess is unlikely MS will ever be fixed, eh, since Corel has moved on.
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21466
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: Can't burn a DVD or file.

Post by Ken Berry »

You never know. They got their fingers burned badly by the Corel Digital Studio 2010 debacle, and saw how (most) people welcomed the return of MF 7SE. So that might have given them reason to reconsider dropping MF altogether. However, that being said, I have heard nothing from them suggesting they may be doing anything about it...
Ken Berry
wstagner
Posts: 1089
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:29 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Ga-p43-es3g
processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 2.66 GHz
ram: 8gb
Video Card: ATI Radion HD4300 4500 series
sound_card: ATI High Definition Realtek ALC888 codec
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VH242H 24" 1920x1024 screen.
Location: Illinois, USA.
Contact:

Re: Can't burn a DVD or file.

Post by wstagner »

Yah, and if they aren't listenin 2 people like you, then there's no hope.

:cry:
wstagner
Posts: 1089
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:29 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Ga-p43-es3g
processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 2.66 GHz
ram: 8gb
Video Card: ATI Radion HD4300 4500 series
sound_card: ATI High Definition Realtek ALC888 codec
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VH242H 24" 1920x1024 screen.
Location: Illinois, USA.
Contact:

Re: Can't burn a DVD or file.

Post by wstagner »

I wonder which "suit" @ Corel had the brite idea to make the radical change?

I hope they were fired. They deserve it.
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
Posts: 12005
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Re: Can't burn a DVD or file.

Post by Ron P. »

FWIW, using those 3 mp4 video files, I attempted to burn DVD Folders in DVD MF 7 Pro, as I don't the SE version installed. On my first attempt it failed, however not with the unspecified error, it just crashed. I then looked at where I had my working folder and the destination folders set. I changed them, and repeated my attempt. This time I was successful in burning DVD Folders, which I could play using my software players.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
wstagner
Posts: 1089
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:29 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Ga-p43-es3g
processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 2.66 GHz
ram: 8gb
Video Card: ATI Radion HD4300 4500 series
sound_card: ATI High Definition Realtek ALC888 codec
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VH242H 24" 1920x1024 screen.
Location: Illinois, USA.
Contact:

Re: Can't burn a DVD or file.

Post by wstagner »

I always set my folders, working or otherwise, to something OTHERTHAN the defaults.
Typically whatever folder my video files are in.
Also, I always install software into folders OTHER THAN the defaults.

So for example, Movie Factory SE is installed in c:\moviefact.
All video studios are installed in: c:\vstudioXn where n is the version number.
wstagner
Posts: 1089
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:29 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Ga-p43-es3g
processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 2.66 GHz
ram: 8gb
Video Card: ATI Radion HD4300 4500 series
sound_card: ATI High Definition Realtek ALC888 codec
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VH242H 24" 1920x1024 screen.
Location: Illinois, USA.
Contact:

Re: Can't burn a DVD or file.

Post by wstagner »

I just tried changing the folders prior to burn. Same "convert step got some problems" message.

Here's another Corel program of no use to me. :(

BTW, how can I stay logged into this board for more than a few hours?

Is there something in my profile I need to change?

TIA,

Walt
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21466
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: Can't burn a DVD or file.

Post by Ken Berry »

When you log-in to the forum, there is a check box below your username and password which says something like "Log me in automatically each time". Tick that.

If that does not work, and you are in fact logged out several times a day, then quite apart from your DVD burning problems, you do indeed have something strange about your computer!! :lol: :roll:
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
Posts: 12005
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Re: Can't burn a DVD or file.

Post by Ron P. »

Also make sure that you're logging into "http://forum.corel.com" and not the old "http://phpbb.ulead.com". The latter will not allow you to stay logged in.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
wstagner
Posts: 1089
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:29 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Ga-p43-es3g
processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 2.66 GHz
ram: 8gb
Video Card: ATI Radion HD4300 4500 series
sound_card: ATI High Definition Realtek ALC888 codec
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VH242H 24" 1920x1024 screen.
Location: Illinois, USA.
Contact:

Re: Can't burn a DVD or file.

Post by wstagner »

Thanks, Ron....was the incorrect URL...thankfully.
So, it's NOT my pooter! :shock:
The box you mention is "ticked" and I'm getting there. :P
wstagner
Posts: 1089
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:29 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Ga-p43-es3g
processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 2.66 GHz
ram: 8gb
Video Card: ATI Radion HD4300 4500 series
sound_card: ATI High Definition Realtek ALC888 codec
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VH242H 24" 1920x1024 screen.
Location: Illinois, USA.
Contact:

Re: Can't burn a DVD or file.

Post by wstagner »

I created a DVD file from X3 that plays fine in X3. Spent all afternoon creating my menus, etc. Go to burn in MF7SE and get the "got some problems" message. GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR.

What's my best option here, since I don't have X4?

Use X2 to burn my DVD and recreate my menus from there?
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
Posts: 12005
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Re: Can't burn a DVD or file.

Post by Ron P. »

Yes, I would suggest using VS X2 to burn your DVDs. However I'm not sure how VS X2 will behave on Win7.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21466
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: Can't burn a DVD or file.

Post by Ken Berry »

X2 should work on Windows 7 as long as you have applied the update patches...
Ken Berry
Post Reply