Movie factor7 Se and Movie factory 7 Pro

Several users have been unsure where to post issues relating to the copy of MovieFactory 7 SE now supplied with VideoStudio X3. To make life easier you can post problems here.

Moderator: Ken Berry

Post Reply
Peter Ilyk
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 9:27 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8gb

Movie factor7 Se and Movie factory 7 Pro

Post by Peter Ilyk »

Does anyone know the difference between Movie Factory 7 SE and Movie Factory 7 Pro? Is the Pro version better than the SE version in any particular way?
Black Lab
Posts: 7430
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2004 3:11 pm
operating_system: Windows 8
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Location: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Movie factor7 Se and Movie factory 7 Pro

Post by Black Lab »

I do know the SE version is not crippled in any way. You get full funtionality. My guess would be the pro version has more templates, themes, etc.
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
Posts: 12005
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Re: Movie factor7 Se and Movie factory 7 Pro

Post by Ron P. »

Welcome to the forums,

Have a look at the Pro (full) version.. DVDMF 7 Pro.

The SE version does not include the extra utilities, such as Quick Drop, some of the functions in the Edit Room: Time-line is not available, only Storyboard, Burn.now, Label@Once (I think) are not included. They attempted to make the SE version much like the old burn module of previous VS versions.

Next very important question, are you located in the UK? My understanding is that the full Pro version is not available there.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
Peter Ilyk
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 9:27 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8gb

Re: Movie factor7 Se and Movie factory 7 Pro

Post by Peter Ilyk »

Thanks Ron P and Black lab

That's something like I thought. Have to admit, though that the SE is so much better than the 2010 version that came with the ProX3 - that was basically useless. But I wouldn't mind trying the Pro version - I'm in Austra;ia so hopefully it is available here? Why wouldn't they release it in the UK - that's very strange.
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
Posts: 12005
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Re: Movie factor7 Se and Movie factory 7 Pro

Post by Ron P. »

Well Australia was the very first place the Pro version was released, in fact I think it was about the only place it was originally released, and the rest of the world was never to see it. You should be able to get it there.

Why, we don't know. Corel has done this a couple of times, releasing versions or variations of them, to only certain regions or countries.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
Post Reply