DVD MovieFactory 7 SE Problem

Several users have been unsure where to post issues relating to the copy of MovieFactory 7 SE now supplied with VideoStudio X3. To make life easier you can post problems here.

Moderator: Ken Berry

Post Reply
zippy121966
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 6:07 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: AB48 Phoenix Technologies
processor: Intel Celeron 2.8GHz
ram: 768MB DDR
Video Card: VisonTek XTASY 9600 256MB AGP 2.0
sound_card: Creative Labs SB0220 SBLive 5.1 Digital
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 600GB

DVD MovieFactory 7 SE Problem

Post by zippy121966 »

8) I just installed Corel DVD MovieFactory 7 SE.
I have Windows XP Professional.
Intel Celeron 2.8Ghz CPU.
768MB DDR Ram...I know I should have 1GB but Christmas IS coming. :D
600GB of Hard Drive space

When I went to burn several video files, creating a menu, the first video was fine, the others had problems.
On MY DVD player a MAGNAVOX MWD 7006 Model, not your top-of-the-line, when you would click on the other videos to
play, the player would sit there, then come back to the root menu, as if it had a problem reading the file.
On another DVD player, the sound was not in sync with the video, when you would press stop then play, this would correct the problem. On another DVD player, you could not select, the first video would be highlighted and you could not select others.

Clicked YES to perform SmartRender.

Project Settings
16:9
MPEG Files
24Bits 720x480 29.97fps
Lower Field First
NTSC
Variable data rate: (Max. 8000kbps)
Audio data rate: 384 kbps
Dolby Digital Audio: 48KHz
ONLY BOX CHECKED: Do not convert compliant MPEG files

Settings and options
Preferences
Advanced Tab
3 boxes checked ONLY
VCD player compliant
Anti-flicker filter
Max. 30MB Menus

Moving Path, Show Highlight Button, Create To Disc Checked.
Archive images of slideshows UNCHECKED.

I will try to install UPDATE PATCH #1. It says that it corrects DVD Menu Problems and so on.
COULD THIS fix my problems???

Thanks!
zippy 8)
"What is SEEN is temporal, what is UNSEEN is eternal."
zippy
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
Posts: 12005
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Re: DVD MovieFactory 7 SE Problem

Post by Ron P. »

Welcome to the forums zippy.. :)

First, you should have 2-gigs of RAM. I find that Windows XP was very sluggish with just 1 gig, not to mention trying to do something that is very demanding of PC resources, edit video and produce DVDs. Now add to that your CPU a Celeron, which is a lower-end processor. Just saying that things may be running a little like molasses at some stages. My video editing machine is no muscle machine, by current standards, however I don't edit any Hi-Def video, just good ol' DV (avi), but I do have 2-gig of RAM, and also ease the demand on read/write of HDDs, by using a couple of HDDs internally, and then a couple of external.

If you have not installed the patches, and are having such problems, I would recommend doing so. Generally I will install them once they are released, unless reading the description of what the patch is to fix, will not affect/improve what I'm doing, ie; a fix for Hi-def file support.

Lower-end DVD players tend to be way more forgiving on the discs it will play, than the more expensive ones. I have a el-cheapo DVD player, I paid about $30 for it a couple of years ago. I think if I put a glaze doughnut in the tray it would somehow play it..:) My other more expensive player is very picky on what it will or will not play. You must use a good blank disc, and get a good burn, or it will spit it back out, like a child refusing to eat vegetables.

So anyway you might also try burning at a slower speed. I try to burn at around 4x, if the disc and program will allow it. Try to use good quality blanks, especially ones that are rated to be compatible with your burner. Here's a website that provides some information on Disc compatibility.
http://www.cdrinfo.com/sections/dvdmedi ... /home.aspx
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
zippy121966
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2010 6:07 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: AB48 Phoenix Technologies
processor: Intel Celeron 2.8GHz
ram: 768MB DDR
Video Card: VisonTek XTASY 9600 256MB AGP 2.0
sound_card: Creative Labs SB0220 SBLive 5.1 Digital
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 600GB

Re: DVD MovieFactory 7 SE Problem

Post by zippy121966 »

First of all, the patch #1 fixed the problem.
Second, my brothers OLD DVD player that says in the instructions it doesn't play DVD-R discs and did with mine.
Guess I forgot to mention I use DVD-R because I am using a 1999 DVD Burner a Pioneer DVR-105 which burns at 4x max.
I heard by other techs at Best Buy, and other places that any RAM over 1GB in Windows XP Pro is OVERKILL. The OS does not show much improvement and is a waste of money. Considered they're referred to as the "GEEK SQUAD", does that make these PAID TECHS GOD?
I find that my system cannot multi-task. It seems to act at times like Windows 98SE in the effect that it has memory allocation problems...
Question: I thought Windows XP was to correct the memory allocation problems that 98 had?
I am using PC3200 RAM, but I know for a fact I don't have enough.
I am actually having my computer upgraded to a 9.8GHz processor receiving a desktop from a local military base.
They refer to it as an obsolete super desktop.
It doesn't use a silicon chip, it uses a Gallium Arsenide Chip developed by a Japanese Company and sold to Motorola.
You can READ about this AWESOME technology on the internet.
Unfortunately it's not sold in stores...YET.

This computer has state-of-the-art technology, of which I MAY NOT be able to run certain software that I would like;
however, being a songwriter, I was told it has excellent sound and video quality.

This CPU is said to be manufactured in JAPAN and NOT the United States.

I will inform you about the specs when I get this machine at Christmas Time.

Thanks for the advice!!! 8)
"What is SEEN is temporal, what is UNSEEN is eternal."
zippy
User avatar
brouillette
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 10:13 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD5H
processor: Intel i7-4790K 4.0 MHz quad core 8 threads
ram: 32 Gb
Video Card: Zotac GeForce GT-640 2Gb
sound_card: integrated realtek
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 9 Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: samsung 27B370
Corel programs: Ulead6 to VSX9,X10,VS2018,2019,MS3D
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: DVD MovieFactory 7 SE Problem

Post by brouillette »

zippy121966 wrote:First of all, the patch #1 fixed the problem.
Where did you find patches for DMF 7 SE ? I downloaded patches SP1 and SP2 for DMF 7 from Corel's site but it won't install as I get a message saying that " I have to upgrade to retail version..." ????
Guy
VS2019 Ultimate, MyDVD with Bluray add-on, Motion 3D, Intel i7-4790K 4.0 Mhz/4cores/8 threads, Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H, 32 Gb RAM, Zotac GT-640 video card,Sony DSC-RX100M5 digital camera, NTSC, PS3, 55 inch plasma, LG WH10LS30 Bluray Rewriter, PowerDVD
supernanny+
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 5:04 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Ultimate
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: GIGABITE X58A-UD3R 3WAY CROSSFIRE
processor: INTEL i7-960 3.20GHZ 8M 1366 RETAIL
ram: 12 GB
Video Card: ATI RADEON 5770 1GB DDR
sound_card: ONBOARD 7.1 SOUND
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TbX2 SATA
Location: Alexandria,Va

Re: DVD MovieFactory 7 SE Problem

Post by supernanny+ »

Hi brouillette!
I saw you post about pushing to upgrade "to retail version" for getting 2 patches. I have the same problem. Did you get the patches or at least the answer?
I thought about patches like about the last resort. My DVD MF7SE works fine. I created and burnt at least ten movies. In both DVD standart and ACVHD formats. Since I have a kind of back-lock of footage I decided to use the option Strait Capture to the disk. I have a camcorder Canon Vixia HF11, ACVHD files .MTS. Looks like I can not load the files from Canon disks. K/G:\private\ACVHD...There is a long root directory of these folders. Every time the sign is "..No valid contest.." whatever combination of folders/files I choose. I thought the patches may help.
Thank you!
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21465
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: DVD MovieFactory 7 SE Problem

Post by Ken Berry »

Normally, you can transfer the video files from the camcorder to your computer, possibly using the Canon software which would have come with the camera. Then you can open VS and right click in the timeline (or library window), choose Insert Media Files, then navigate to the folder where the video files are stored to choose which you want to open.
Ken Berry
Post Reply