Photo Explorer 8.5

Post Reply
Iang
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 12:35 pm
Location: Ashtonfield NSW Australia

Photo Explorer 8.5

Post by Iang »

i have been using this program for quite a long time and really getting used to it.
I made the change last week to window7 64bi and found that I could not get this program to work.
So instead of looking for ways to get this program to work is there another program that you can renumber your images with that will work with Window7 64bit.
Maybe another Corel Program may do the job?
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
Posts: 12005
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Post by Ron P. »

Try using a freebie called Irfanview. A very powerful freebie, and works with Win7. It does more than just rename or renumber images.

http://www.irfanview.com/
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
sjj1805
Posts: 14419
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB
Location: Birmingham UK

Post by sjj1805 »

Iang
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 12:35 pm
Location: Ashtonfield NSW Australia

PhotoExplore 8.5

Post by Iang »

i have an update for those who cannot get Photo explorer working on Windows 7 64bit operating system.

I have rebuilt my machine with windows 7 Professional 64 bit system and before when I did this I just could not get Photoexplorer to fire up but after a bit of research I found the answer on the Microsoft site.

If you search the Microsoft site for Windows Virtual Operating you will find two files tyo install the first one is a 500mb dowload and the other not as big but you must insatll both of these in a particular order, the result is that because Photoexplorer will allow you to insatll this program in any directory you can stear the insatll to C:/Program Files and not the default 64 bit folder C:/Program Files(X86).
If you let Photoexplorer insatll in C:/Program Files(X86) you will never get Photoexplorer to fire up but direct the install folder to C:/Progran Files you will, this applies to most older faithful programs taht will allow the install into any directory.

Hope you understand what I mean?
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
Posts: 12005
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Post by Ron P. »

Yep, that's understandable. Thanks for reporting back on the fix for this, so that others having the same problem will know how to correct it..:)
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
Iang
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 12:35 pm
Location: Ashtonfield NSW Australia

Photoexplorer

Post by Iang »

Hi another update on Photo Explorer.

if you chage the attributes on your Photo Explorer install disk you will be able to insatall this wonderful program on WIN 7 64 bit or 32 bit then again after installing change the attributes of the icon on desktop to Windows XP service Pack 3 and it should work for you as t wked for me.

Best of Luck
Post Reply