Questions about cool 3D 1.0, 3, 3.5

Post Reply
Joe90
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:51 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Dont Know
processor: Q6600
ram: Dont Know
Video Card: Dont Know
sound_card: Dont Know
Hard_Drive_Capacity: Dont Know

Questions about cool 3D 1.0, 3, 3.5

Post by Joe90 »

Hi. I only recently got out my cool 3D after a long time. Now i quite like it, it's easy ish to use but it is a bit dated now. So are corel going to relese an updated version with lots more options? If not, can I suggest that corel sell it on, so another firm can improve on it. I do find it simpler than some morden 3d software like 3DS max
I have some question now about cool 3D. Sorry if i'm not clear as it's not easy to explain.

First I have cool 3d studio 1.0 I think. Now I found a disk with all my other junk, with cool 3D 3 and 3.5. So I though I would try them out. It seems cool 3d 3 and 3.5 have less things to use than 1.0 and some options from 1.0 are no longer in 3 or above. Why is this? for example, there is no option for background music or an video backgrounds.

Is there a way to use files from cool 3d 3, 3.5 in cool 3d 1.0 or vice versa?

In cool 3d 1.0, when you move your object around to the correct position say, it seems to mess the animation up. So it may move even when you don't want it to. This seems like a annoying bug. The time line is not much help as you can't find anything to stop it with.

When you are using animation, you can select what FPS you want. Now if I can select 12FPS why do I only have the option of saving a file in 15FPS and not 12FPS?

Thanks :)
teknisyan
Posts: 2422
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 4:18 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Sony Corporation VAIO
processor: Intel Corel i5
ram: 4 GB
Video Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650
sound_card: Realtek HD Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 GB
Location: Riyadh, KSA
Contact:

Re: Questions about cool 3D 1.0, 3, 3.5

Post by teknisyan »

Hello Joe90,

I'm Abiel from Corel Support. I'm sorry for this since Cool3d is an old and obsolete program and I'm not sure if there will a new version that will be released by Corel and I have limited knowledge regarding the product but you can access these online resources for your reference.

Cool 3D: http://www.ulead.com/learning/cool3d.htm
Product Comparison: http://www.ulead.com/c3ds/compare.htm
Ulead COOL 3D Production Studio: http://www.ulead.com/learning/c3ds.htm
Like reading blogs?
About Tech
About Sports
Pnoy.Me - A URL Shortener
Follow me on Facebook & Twitter
Joe90
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:51 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Dont Know
processor: Q6600
ram: Dont Know
Video Card: Dont Know
sound_card: Dont Know
Hard_Drive_Capacity: Dont Know

Re: Questions about cool 3D 1.0, 3, 3.5

Post by Joe90 »

Thanks for the reply and the links.

I know cool 3D is quite old but I like it. It's just easy for people like me who are rubbish at doing 3D. It's in need of a lick of paint and to be updated with new options and things. Corel could try developing a new version and if that don't sell, then lay it to rest. There are not many alternative to cool 3D, that are easy to use. Blender and many others are to hard to use.

The link where you compare versions, seem to suggest the opposite. I though cool 3D 3.5 was the latest version but it was the first. Cool 3D studio is the latest version. :o

Just a bit of advice for others, as there were some conflicting advice I found on here. For cool 3D studio, to use adobe illustrator files in cool 3D, you have to save it in a illustrator 8 file format, not 10 like some have said. You will have problems with paths not being closed, if you save it in illustrator 10 format. :)

Thanks anyway. :)
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21465
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: Questions about cool 3D 1.0, 3, 3.5

Post by Ken Berry »

I though cool 3D 3.5 was the latest version but it was the first. Cool 3D studio is the latest version.
The correct name for "Cool 3D studio" is in fact Cool 3D Production Studio. And it is the 'big brother' of the cut-down Cool 3D 3.0 and 3.5...
Just a bit of advice for others, as there were some conflicting advice I found on here. For cool 3D studio, to use adobe illustrator files in cool 3D, you have to save it in a illustrator 8 file format, not 10 like some have said. You will have problems with paths not being closed, if you save it in illustrator 10 format.
Thanks for that information. I imagine that the older format Illustrator files being acceptable is because they are more equatable to the age of Cool 3D...
Ken Berry
htchien
Advisor
Posts: 2013
Joined: Sat Dec 11, 2004 12:10 pm
operating_system: Mac
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Contact:

Re: Questions about cool 3D 1.0, 3, 3.5

Post by htchien »

It seems cool 3d 3 and 3.5 have less things to use than 1.0 and some options from 1.0 are no longer in 3 or above. Why is this? for example, there is no option for background music or an video backgrounds.
COOL 3D Studio 1.0 (later renamed to COOL 3D Production Studio) is the latest version of the COOL 3D product line. When Ulead developed COOL 3D 3.5 and was planning for the features in the next version, they decided to make a version to be much more advanced. So they renamed the product to Ulead COOL 3D Studio and the version is been set back to 1.0. Later it's been renamed to Ulead COOL 3D Production Studio. That's why you got the confusion.

Background music, video backgrounds and video textures are only available in Ulead COOL 3D Studio 1.0 / Ulead COOL 3D Production Studio 1.0.1.
Is there a way to use files from cool 3d 3, 3.5 in cool 3d 1.0 or vice versa?
You should be able to open COOL 3D 3.x files in COOL 3D Studio 1.0 / COOL 3D Production Studio 1.0.1 without any problem.

If you want to open C3DS/C3DPS files in COOL 3D 3.x, some C3DS/C3DPS components / effects will be missing (for example, background music, video background, video textures, etc).
In cool 3d 1.0, when you move your object around to the correct position say, it seems to mess the animation up. So it may move even when you don't want it to. This seems like a annoying bug. The time line is not much help as you can't find anything to stop it with.
I don't really understand this, maybe you can explain more.

BTW, you can add any new object position by clicking on the place you want it to stop on timeline and then change the position (or direction / size) of the object, just like the way you use the timeline bar in COOL 3D 3.x.

And if you are still using COOL 3D Studio 1.0, Ulead / Corel has released a 1.0.1 patch to fix some issues, maybe you can try that.
When you are using animation, you can select what FPS you want. Now if I can select 12FPS why do I only have the option of saving a file in 15FPS and not 12FPS?
I remember it would depend on the file format you want to save. If the file format you use is only limited to some FPS, then you have to save it as it is.

You may try to save another file format to see if you can save in 12 FPS.
Ted (H.T.)

[color=red]The message is provided AS IS with no warranties and confers no rights. For official tech support please contact Corel Tech Support.[/color]

[url=http://www.youtube.com/htchien]My YouTube channel[/url]
Post Reply