To make shapes with Ulead Cool 3D 3.5...

Post Reply
RoITA
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 5:43 pm

To make shapes with Ulead Cool 3D 3.5...

Post by RoITA »

Hi all

I have seen many posts here and no one had problems to make shapes.
I have the program: Ulead Cool 3D 3.5 and I have tryed many times to make shapes with it but I think that it's very very difficult to adjust the lines with that system.
My question is very easy...maybe I wrong something but I have used other program as Xara Xtreme to make shapes but there it was very very easy and you can make precisious shapes.
I need to make many shapes to transfer and to use with UC3D
Are there other easy program to make shapes for Cool 3D?
I need to copy and paste the shape in the Cool 3D program...easy and fast system as Xara3D6.
Thanks in advance.

Best Regards

RoITA
RoITA
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 5:43 pm

Post by RoITA »

These are some samples of shapes that I have made with Xtreme :

Image Image

Image Image


The second question is....can I convert the shapes made with Xara Xtreme in right file for Ulead Cool 3D?

I have seen here in the forums threads around this matter but I never find the answer to this question in programs as PolyTrans.

The actual problem is that without to make shapes or to transfer old shapes...I cannot use Ulead Cool 3D 3.5 and I like that program.

Thanks in advance

RoITA
RoITA
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 5:43 pm

Post by RoITA »

I think that those are too complicate questions........after much time, I have not the answers there.
I have tryed many times to use the vector system of the program but it's absolutely a bad system.....I'm sorry to say this.
I have found another system........but I belive that it is not much interesting for you, no one has answered here.
If you use all the time that system to do shapes you have never tryed to do the same with Xara Xtreme ...number 1
All my compliments for your skill and have a nice day.

Greets

RoITA
rguthrie
Posts: 425
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 1:56 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Pegatron IPMTB-TK
processor: Intel Core i7 930
ram: 9GB
Video Card: GeForce GTX 750 Ti
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB

Post by rguthrie »

RoITA,

I'm sorry that nobody responded to your questions! I'm not familiar with Xara Xtreme, but making shapes in Cool3D isn't that difficult. In fact it is similar to drawing paths in Adobe's Photoshop. If you are looking for an easy way to get shapes into C3D, you can import Adobe Illustrator files, or X files. I created a sample shape from one of your examples. To do it, I Googled and downloaded a "tecktonik logo." Next I used Insert Graphics, and then Insert Background Graphics. This gave me the basic shapes to follow. I created three shapes: the eagle, the board, and the star. I also added text. After adding appropriate color and bevel adjustments for the different objects, I created the animation that you see.

Image
SFC (Retired) Ronald Guthrie (aka Alt0S4x)

VS4SE/6-11.5+/X2-X10 Ultimate/2018-2020 Ultimate; MotionStudio 3D; PI11/PIX3;Corel PainterEssentials 4
ParticleIllusion SE; Photoshop CS5; Audacity; SonicFire Pro 6.0
Wacom Bamboo Fun Tablet
Canon Rebel T4i
RoITA
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 5:43 pm

Post by RoITA »

Hi rguthrie

I can't believe...someone has answered me....lol 29 October 2008 my first post...lol

Don't worry it's all right.

You are very kind to put here your very nice work.

Interesting solution, just a little bit long but the result is excellent.
The big problem with the shape maker inside the 3D program is to make shapes using the line and curves....it's impossible to make a good shape.
If you have time, try Xtreme, it's incredible and you can make all the shapes, the most complicate too.
Thanks for shared with me your work.
I have found another solution to use the "Path Editor" of cool 3D, before all I make the shape with Xtreme ;) , after that, I make a photo of the black shape, now I import in the cool 3D Path editor the photo and I use the automatic convert to vector of the cool 3D program as the Batman symbol here:

Image Image


What do you think?

Thanks agn and have a nice day.

RoITA
Ormond Williams
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 8:41 am

Post by Ormond Williams »

Rguthrie,
Your rotating 3D graphic is excellent!
I have a logo that is in tif format and want to use Cool3D to make a 3D logo from it. I don't have Adobe Illustrator to convert it to that format so that I can get it into Cool3D
Is there another way I can get it into Cool3D perhaps using PIX2 or something else?

Thanks
Ormond.
rguthrie
Posts: 425
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 1:56 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Pegatron IPMTB-TK
processor: Intel Core i7 930
ram: 9GB
Video Card: GeForce GTX 750 Ti
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB

Post by rguthrie »

RoITA,

Very nice job with the Batman logo! And yes, making a photo of your shape, then converting to a vector is a good way to get shapes into C3D. I've found that I still need to do some editing depending on the complexity of the shape when importing a shape like this. It's good to remember that most of the time, the less nodes (those little circles or "points") you use, the smoother your graphic will be. And the best way to learn is to just play with the program...keep it up and you'll soon be doing things that you thought you couldn't do! When I created my version of Tecktonik, I did some things that I haven't done before, believe it or not! :)

Sincerely,
Ron
SFC (Retired) Ronald Guthrie (aka Alt0S4x)

VS4SE/6-11.5+/X2-X10 Ultimate/2018-2020 Ultimate; MotionStudio 3D; PI11/PIX3;Corel PainterEssentials 4
ParticleIllusion SE; Photoshop CS5; Audacity; SonicFire Pro 6.0
Wacom Bamboo Fun Tablet
Canon Rebel T4i
rguthrie
Posts: 425
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 1:56 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Pegatron IPMTB-TK
processor: Intel Core i7 930
ram: 9GB
Video Card: GeForce GTX 750 Ti
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB

Post by rguthrie »

Ormond,

Thank you for the compliment! Could you post your tif graphic so that I can see it? That way, I can have a better idea of what to recommend for you to do.

Thanks,
Ron
SFC (Retired) Ronald Guthrie (aka Alt0S4x)

VS4SE/6-11.5+/X2-X10 Ultimate/2018-2020 Ultimate; MotionStudio 3D; PI11/PIX3;Corel PainterEssentials 4
ParticleIllusion SE; Photoshop CS5; Audacity; SonicFire Pro 6.0
Wacom Bamboo Fun Tablet
Canon Rebel T4i
Ormond Williams
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 8:41 am

Post by Ormond Williams »

Thanks Ron.

This is the image (my business logo) and I want to give it some thickness and to have a silver metallic finish.
Image

I am a complete novice at Cool3D, but have had some experience with some graphics programs, mainly fixing photos, but some experience with basic stuff in PhotoImpact.

I would appreciate any help you can give!
Ormond.
rguthrie
Posts: 425
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 1:56 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Pegatron IPMTB-TK
processor: Intel Core i7 930
ram: 9GB
Video Card: GeForce GTX 750 Ti
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB

Post by rguthrie »

Ormond,

There are several things you can do depending on how you exactly want your graphic to look. I simply took what you gave me and saved it from Photoshop without making any edits to get a 24-bit jpeg. Next I opened C3D, chose Insert Graphics, then clicked on the Convert To Vector Icon. I cleaned up the graphic a little bit by removing extra nodes. The eye and beak didn't convert well so I then clicked on the Insert Background Image icon, Zoomed in all the way to 10x and just created an eye (and you'll notice I didn't spend any time getting like the original as I just wanted it be give the impression of an eye). I also adjusted the nodes to create a (little) better beak. The other thing I did was click on the Adjust icon, click on nodes and change them from Curve Segment to Line Segments. This helped makes the lines straighter without me having to adjust the handles on each and every point. Of course I still did this on many nodes! Anyway, that was about 20 minutes or so work. Not great, but no too shabby either. I hope this helps!

Image


Ron
SFC (Retired) Ronald Guthrie (aka Alt0S4x)

VS4SE/6-11.5+/X2-X10 Ultimate/2018-2020 Ultimate; MotionStudio 3D; PI11/PIX3;Corel PainterEssentials 4
ParticleIllusion SE; Photoshop CS5; Audacity; SonicFire Pro 6.0
Wacom Bamboo Fun Tablet
Canon Rebel T4i
Ormond Williams
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 8:41 am

Post by Ormond Williams »

Thanks Ron,
That looks pretty close to what I wanted. I have saved that image and your instructions and will try to follow your instructions and hope to learn a little about Cool 3D.

I think it will probably take me a lot longer than 20 mins. Probably 20 days to come even close to getting a result.

I appreciate the trouble you have gone to!
Ormond.
danie53595
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 7:21 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Ultimate
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel915
processor: 3.6GHZ
ram: 8GB
Video Card: Intel Inside Chipst
sound_card: Sound Blaster
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB

Re: To make shapes with Ulead Cool 3D 3.5...

Post by danie53595 »

Very nice job with the Batman logo! And yes, making a photo of your shape, then converting to a vector is a good way to get shapes into C3D. I've found that I still need to do some editing depending on the complexity of the shape when importing a shape like this. It's good to remember that most of the time, the less nodes (those little circles or "points") you use, the smoother your graphic will be. And the best way to learn is to just play with the program...keep it up and you'll soon be doing things that you thought you couldn't do! When I created my version of Tecktonik, I did some things that I haven't done before, believe it or not! :)

----------------------------------

mcpd | ccna security | mcp certification | cissp certification
RoITA
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 5:43 pm

Re:

Post by RoITA »

rguthrie wrote:RoITA,

I'm sorry that nobody responded to your questions! I'm not familiar with Xara Xtreme, but making shapes in Cool3D isn't that difficult. In fact it is similar to drawing paths in Adobe's Photoshop. If you are looking for an easy way to get shapes into C3D, you can import Adobe Illustrator files, or X files. I created a sample shape from one of your examples. To do it, I Googled and downloaded a "tecktonik logo." Next I used Insert Graphics, and then Insert Background Graphics. This gave me the basic shapes to follow. I created three shapes: the eagle, the board, and the star. I also added text. After adding appropriate color and bevel adjustments for the different objects, I created the animation that you see.

Image

Hi Ron
I have a question for you.
how do you make any text or logos in relief?
like yours logo the writing "tecktonic" was originally written flat but your logo is in relief, how do you make that with Ulead Cool 3D or Production Studio?

Thanks in advance.

RoITA
Post Reply