Any challenges with Sony's proprietary mpg's

Post Reply
RonEmser
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 6:13 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 0868h
processor: 2.4 GHz
ram: 3GB
Video Card: GeoForce
sound_card: SoundMax
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB x2

Any challenges with Sony's proprietary mpg's

Post by RonEmser »

I know that my Sony DCR-SR68 has the proprietary mp2 format, which needs to be converted to be used on Premiere CS3.

I'm awaiting my new CorelDRAWX5 PRO w/ Video Studio. Will I have the same problem with COREL's software, relative to SONY?

-Ron
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
Posts: 12005
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Re: Any challenges with Sony's proprietary mpg's

Post by Ron P. »

Welcome to the forums,

Checking the specs for that camcorder, it shows that it records MPEG-2 to SD card, which seems like what my Canon FS 300 does, however it uses the *.MOD extension. I'm not sure if the Sony does the same, if it does, it should not be a problem for VS X3, it does recognize MOD files.

So you should not have any problem using VS X3 to edit them.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
RonEmser
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 6:13 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 0868h
processor: 2.4 GHz
ram: 3GB
Video Card: GeoForce
sound_card: SoundMax
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB x2

Re: Any challenges with Sony's proprietary mpg's

Post by RonEmser »

The DCR-SR68 has a 80GB hard drive, but so far does not show up as a source to download from. I need to convert to WMV before VSX3 will utlize, (a step I was hoping I didn't need to take).

The native files are identified as "MPG's", but when attempting an import to Adobe Premiere (CS3) the audio track is stripped, or at least not present in timeline. (A symptom of Sony's proprietary format, as indicated by Adobe.)

That help? I see no indication of a "mod" format.

-Ron
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
Posts: 12005
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Re: Any challenges with Sony's proprietary mpg's

Post by Ron P. »

Since your camcorder uses a HDD, are you trying to capture as in real-time to your computer or are you using the copy/paste method? You should be able to copy them just like any other file, to your computer's hard drive. Then once you have them on your computer, open VS, and use Insert>Video File. If they are MPEG-2, you should be able to. Since it is not a high-definition camcorder, the MPEG-2 video files, should be compliant with DVD standards. If that's the case, VS should insert them without a problem. If you can get a video file inserted to the Library or the time-line of VS, right-click on it, select Properties and post them here. The Windows Explorer properties for files tells us nothing on what we need to know.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
Post Reply