PhotoImpact X3 - Windows 7 64-bit

sisom
Posts: 143
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 10:47 pm

Re: PhotoImpact X3 - Windows 7 64-bit

Post by sisom »

Just writing to say that PI X3 works fine for me on Windows 7 64 bit, but sorry, I can't help the original poster.
karlaa
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 6:38 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
Contact:

Re: PhotoImpact X3 - Windows 7 64-bit

Post by karlaa »

hi there, i have also faced these issues recently and i still do not know what to do..perhaps i must re install my windows and try again..on the other hand, a friend of mine uses the PI X3 with the same windows and has not faced any problem..
trueblue
Moderator
Posts: 1563
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:43 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS Z97M Plus
processor: Intel Core i7-4790 CPU 3.60 GHz
ram: 12GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750
sound_card: NVIDIA High Def Audio Realtek High Def
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1.740GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Benq E2420HD 24" wide x 2 monitors
Corel programs: PSPX8-VideoStudio-AfterShot
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: PhotoImpact X3 - Windows 7 64-bit

Post by trueblue »

Heesenproductions wrote:
Abiel Corel NA wrote: You may want to try the Paintshop Photo Pro X3, which is also a photo editing program like PhotoImpact X3. PaintShop Photo Pro X2 is fully compatible with Windows 7. You can download the 30 day full working trial at http://www.corel.com/trials.
Talking about PaintShop Photo Pro X3... Abiel, can you tell me why PhotoImpact X3 users aren't eligible for the upgrade version of PaintShop X3? Just curious..
Easy answer, two different programmes.
~~~~Maureen~~~~
Tutorial Writer for PaintShop Pro

Creative-Designs
Free! PaintShop Pro Tutorials
PaintShop Pro - VideoStudio Pro - AfterShot - CorelDraw - Painter
trueblue
Moderator
Posts: 1563
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:43 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS Z97M Plus
processor: Intel Core i7-4790 CPU 3.60 GHz
ram: 12GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750
sound_card: NVIDIA High Def Audio Realtek High Def
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1.740GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Benq E2420HD 24" wide x 2 monitors
Corel programs: PSPX8-VideoStudio-AfterShot
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: PhotoImpact X3 - Windows 7 64-bit

Post by trueblue »

twosisters wrote:Thank you for your response. This is a major setback that Photoimpact is being phased out. Do you know which programs support UFO files?
PaintShop Pro X4 supports .ufo files.
~~~~Maureen~~~~
Tutorial Writer for PaintShop Pro

Creative-Designs
Free! PaintShop Pro Tutorials
PaintShop Pro - VideoStudio Pro - AfterShot - CorelDraw - Painter
BobSloneker
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 5:38 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: PhotoImpact X3 - Windows 7 64-bit

Post by BobSloneker »

PhotoImpact X3 started crashing under Windows 7 after I dragged a scanned-file from Windows Explorer into the open Photoimpact workspace.
After that, PhotoImpact X3 would crash frequently after opening, printing, or closing a file.

The fact that it would crash even after I had closed all open files made me suspect some sort of memory/cache problem, so I went on a hunt for options and settings.

I've found that turning off the "Brose Manager Cache" seems to have made PhotoImpact X3 stable under Windows 7, at least for the functions I primarily use.

File/Preferences/General/Photoimpact
UNCHECKED "On/Off Browse Manager Cache. Change for next execution"
then closed Photoimpact and started it fresh.
trueblue
Moderator
Posts: 1563
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:43 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS Z97M Plus
processor: Intel Core i7-4790 CPU 3.60 GHz
ram: 12GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750
sound_card: NVIDIA High Def Audio Realtek High Def
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1.740GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Benq E2420HD 24" wide x 2 monitors
Corel programs: PSPX8-VideoStudio-AfterShot
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: PhotoImpact X3 - Windows 7 64-bit

Post by trueblue »

Good to hear you found a solution to crashes.

Sometimes there is an image that can become corrupt or something else that can cause the software to malfunction at times. It happens to me occasionally with PSP too.
~~~~Maureen~~~~
Tutorial Writer for PaintShop Pro

Creative-Designs
Free! PaintShop Pro Tutorials
PaintShop Pro - VideoStudio Pro - AfterShot - CorelDraw - Painter
jimothy
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 6:46 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit

Re: PhotoImpact X3 - Windows 7 64-bit

Post by jimothy »

Hi,

I've been using PI X3 for ages. Recently it's started getting glitchy, mainly certain things like the clone tool not showing, just the timer.

I uninstalled and re-installed and now it won't work at all. I've tried installing to different drives, restore points, reboots, clearing registry keys, malware scans, running in compatibility mode - and it still won't work.

It seems like it installs ok but when I try to open, the timer wheel spins, stops and nothing happens.

Please help!
trueblue
Moderator
Posts: 1563
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:43 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS Z97M Plus
processor: Intel Core i7-4790 CPU 3.60 GHz
ram: 12GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750
sound_card: NVIDIA High Def Audio Realtek High Def
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1.740GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Benq E2420HD 24" wide x 2 monitors
Corel programs: PSPX8-VideoStudio-AfterShot
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: PhotoImpact X3 - Windows 7 64-bit

Post by trueblue »

I've heard of this happening so much. In fact, it happened to me too. I deleted my old version of X3 and purchased a new one for $20. It works okay, but like you it's glitchy. With Windows 10 shortly coming through I will be surprised if PI will work on that.
~~~~Maureen~~~~
Tutorial Writer for PaintShop Pro

Creative-Designs
Free! PaintShop Pro Tutorials
PaintShop Pro - VideoStudio Pro - AfterShot - CorelDraw - Painter
mjh
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 8:26 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

PhotoImpact X3 - Windows 10 64-bit

Post by mjh »

Hi, I really need to know if Photoimpact 12 & X3 are compatible before i change to Windows 10? I live in South Africa & there is no contact no. to phone (the number given is not in SA so would cost an arm & a leg<BG>) if they are not compatible is there an upgrade to whichever is compatible? i am currently on Windows Xp (10" notebook 32 bit) & Windows 7 (64 bit laptop). Would really appreciate a reply<BG> Do you notify me by email when there is a reply, or do i have to stay logged onto the forum? Thanks ... mjh
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12748
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: PhotoImpact X3 - Windows 7 64-bit

Post by lata »

Hi mjh

Welcome to the forums

Forum Post Notifications
I have taken the opportunity to set your user preferences to Auto Notify on post replies.
You can change that option yourself via the User Control Panel.
You should receive a notification of this post.
Ok

There was another post referring to windows 10 which does indicate that X3 does work with W10
http://forum.corel.com/EN/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=57359

I guess we are all in the same boat
Regards Trevor
mjh
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 8:26 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: PhotoImpact X3 - Windows 7 64-bit

Post by mjh »

Thanks Trevor, i see that other post is with windows 10 PRO, i don't think the win 10 they are offering to download free is exactly the same? Cheers mjh
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12748
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: PhotoImpact X3 - Windows 7 64-bit

Post by lata »

Hi

I would think the Windows 10 they are using is the free upgrade, I may be wrong.

I will be upgrading to W10 shortly, if I think on I will try PI X3

I had a lot of problems the first attempt, but was a hard drive issue rather than W10.
Regards Trevor
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21465
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: PhotoImpact X3 - Windows 7 64-bit

Post by Ken Berry »

mjh wrote: i see that other post is with windows 10 PRO, i don't think the win 10 they are offering to download free is exactly the same?
Just to clarify, the free upgrade to Win 10 includes both Home and Pro versions. So if you had Win 7 Pro or Win 8/8.1 Pro, then the free upgrade gives you Win 10 Pro. I know since I had one computer with Win 8.1 Pro on it and it upgraded to Win 10 Pro. But if you start with just the Home Edition of Win 7 or 8/8.1, you get only the Home version of Win 10.
Ken Berry
mjh
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 8:26 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: PhotoImpact X3 - Windows 7 64-bit

Post by mjh »

Thanks Ken, busy upgrading & it's taking HOURS, also insisted that i delete easy settings which is the only way i keep wifi going<SIGH> worst happens i'll just use the ethernet cable<BG> Cheers mj
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21465
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: PhotoImpact X3 - Windows 7 64-bit

Post by Ken Berry »

I have now updated 8 computers to Win 10 (only one Pro) and have never had to disconnect anything to do with wifi... I also don't recall any reference during the upgrade process to anything called 'easy settings'. Where are they located?

But yes, it does take hours...
Ken Berry
Post Reply