Insufficient Memory

Post Reply
Legacy Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:17 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: HP Omen 870-255xt
processor: i7 7700
ram: 16GB
Video Card: nVidia 1070
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Vizio 43" M-series 4k television
Corel programs: Photo Impact X3, Paint Shop Pro 2018

Insufficient Memory

Post by Legacy Author »

LOVE Photo Impact, and even though I upgraded to Paint Shop Pro 2018, I still find myself going back to PI. The only problem I have EVER experienced is "Insufficient Memory", even though I have an 8gb 1070 video card and 16gb of RAM.

Is there a patch or does anyone have any suggestions?

I know that other programs have a place where you can set the allocate how much memory a program uses. Is there any setting like this for PI, maybe in the registry?
jernatety
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Insufficient Memory

Post by jernatety »

It's the physical ram and the processor on your computer. Doesn't have anything to do with the video card. I would suggest closing all other open programs when you plan on doing any resource intensive image editing. It's not going to change unless you get a different computer. I have the same problem when I edit on my company issued business class Lenovo laptop. Although it has 16gb of ram and an i5 core processor, it does the same thing. It never does it on my personal HP laptop with 16gb of ram and an i7 dual core processor.
Legacy Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:17 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: HP Omen 870-255xt
processor: i7 7700
ram: 16GB
Video Card: nVidia 1070
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Vizio 43" M-series 4k television
Corel programs: Photo Impact X3, Paint Shop Pro 2018

Re: Insufficient Memory

Post by Legacy Author »

Task manager only says I'm using 40% of my RAM, though. Are you saying that if I upgrade my RAM, I won't get/will get fewer insufficient memory warnings?
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12985
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 19, 20, PSP2021, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Insufficient Memory

Post by lata »

Hi

What version of PI are you using?
I have X3 installed with 16 Gb ram and do not get this error.
I do not think increasing the ram will fix this issue.
What are you actually doing when the error shows?

i assume you have re-installed the program?
Regards Trevor
Legacy Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:17 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: HP Omen 870-255xt
processor: i7 7700
ram: 16GB
Video Card: nVidia 1070
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Vizio 43" M-series 4k television
Corel programs: Photo Impact X3, Paint Shop Pro 2018

Re: Insufficient Memory

Post by Legacy Author »

It shows in my information to the right. X3. And yes, I even reinstalled Windows and reinstalled it.

What am I doing? Just editing large pictures with multiple objects. The funny thing is that on my last computer, much weaker but still with 16gb of RAM, I never ran out of memory.

I have 16 GB of RAM and it's just frustrating.
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12985
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 19, 20, PSP2021, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Insufficient Memory

Post by lata »

Hi
Just trying to edit an image 5472 x 3648
Added a lot of shapes, as I did that I watched Task Manager – Performance to view the ram used
There was no change when adding these objects.
I think the error report may be describing the problem incorrectly.
That is if the program simply stalls and cannot id the problem could return any obscure message
So what do you see viewing Task Manager
What type of images are you using , my test used Jpeg.

Clutching at straws, can you run the program choosing to “Run As Administrator” does that make a difference?
Can you provide a sample?
If you save your work as a UFO, you can upload to a sharing site, one drive google drive, Dropbox etc
I am quite willing to try using your files.
Regards Trevor
JustDucky
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2021 4:58 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Insufficient Memory

Post by JustDucky »

I know this is an older thread, but I'm having a similar problem.

I have Windows 10 and am using PhotoImpact X3. I've been using it for many years. Today I encountered this issue for the first time. In the past, I've seen the "Insufficient memory" error when trying top copy and paste an image into PI and I typically just shut down the program and reopen and it works fine.

Today was something different. A client sent me several images, some .png some .jpg - one folder of these files opens fine in PI, the other folder will not open any of them. Some as small as 445 KB. Here is what happens - I click on "Open", I browse to the image I want to open, it starts to open in PI, but then I get a box (the dimensions of the image) in gray with the words "Insufficient memory" within the gray image box and then a separate pop up box which reads: "Unable to pen the file X:xxx.PNG" and then when I click "OK" in that box, the entire program shuts down.

I can open several other images without issue - but as soon as I try these specific ones, it crashes. I tried closing and reopening the program, I tried restarting my computer...same problem. I download the free trial of Paint Shop Pro and these same images open with no problem. Photoshop also will open these images with no problem.

Does anyone have a clue why this would happen? I thought at first that the image files themselves were corrupt - but since they will open in other programs, that seems unlikely. Since all other images seem to be opening with no problems with my PI, it seems the program itself is working fine as well.

Anyone?
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21626
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: Insufficient Memory

Post by Ken Berry »

Unfortunately, given the fact that Corel apparently dropped support for PI quite a few years ago now, we have only one expert on it, and he is currently on a holiday cruise for several weeks. So I'm afraid you will probably have to wait for his return before you can expect a response.
Ken Berry
Post Reply