Page 1 of 1

Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Posted: Tue Jan 05, 2021 12:34 am
by Linda Lou
Hi Happy New Year, everybody!
Something that has been bothering me ever since I installed PSP 2018 on my new computer in November:
I am constantly having to use Window>Fit to Image while working on images that seem to automatically open in new windows. That doesn't happen on my old computer, so I presume I've missed a PSP setting this time around. It usually happens if I click on an image in the workspace to edit>copy/paste etc. from one image to another.
If there is a setting to prevent this I haven't found it. Is there a way to stop a clicked image from automatically opening in a new window? Am I hitting a certain spot with my cursor that is causing this?

Re: Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Posted: Tue Jan 05, 2021 1:42 am
by Kathy_9
If by new window you are talking about tabbed documents, go to the Window menu and un-tick tabbed documents. For the other issue, try File - Preferences - General Program Preferences - View and make your selection(s) there.

Re: Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Posted: Tue Jan 05, 2021 2:44 am
by Linda Lou
Tabbed Documents was already unchecked (I had asked about that a couple of years ago.)
In Gen. Pref. View: Everything is checked to fit image. Did I misinterpret one of those?

Re: Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Posted: Tue Jan 05, 2021 8:54 am
by hartpaul
I gather from your posts that you have Tabbed Documents unticked and have two or more images on the workspace and wish to right click > Copy followed by moving the cursor to the other image and then right click > paste -(probably as a new Layer).
You are finding that each image is surrounded by a border (background) and do not want this to appear. I tried to find instances where this occurred and found two:
1. where you drag the corner of an image window to reveal thebackground.
2. If you have the crop tool chosen then it automatically shows the background.

Solutions :
1. Roll the mouse to partially scale the image
2. Choose the Pan tool or some other tool and repeat 1).

Re: Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2021 2:14 am
by Linda Lou
1. where you drag the corner of an image window to reveal thebackground.
Yes. That is the only thing it could be based on your experiment. Now I'm wondering if the small change in desk/chair height/arm position at the new computer is causing me to drag the cursor slightly as I click on an image. I've never used the pan tool. I'll give it a try. I'm usually focused on the images rather than on what my arm is doing as I click. Thank you for the suggestion!

Re: Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Posted: Wed Jan 06, 2021 8:42 am
by hartpaul
Just tested and I automatically drag images around on the workspace by clicking and dragging on each images title bar as that is the largest target, dragging from the other three margins does not work as you get nothing or a double headed arrow which makes the window larger exposing the background.

Re: Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2021 12:39 am
by Linda Lou
Just a follow up: I still have not been able to resolve this problem. It's a bit annoying to have images keep opening this way whenever I click on any image on the workspace, but I'm just going to have to live with it.

Re: Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2021 3:10 am
by patara
Linda Lou wrote:
Sat Jan 16, 2021 12:39 am
Just a follow up: I still have not been able to resolve this problem. It's a bit annoying to have images keep opening this way whenever I click on any image on the workspace, but I'm just going to have to live with it.
If you are double clicking on the Tile Bar it will make the image open up to the full working area.
Perhaps that could happen with a single click if your mouse double click speed was set to fast.

Also, when I want to move one image into another image I drag the item from the layer of one image and drop it onto the other image. I find that's quicker than selecting and copy and paste and there is no need to click and select, which might avoid your problem.
I only use Copy and Paste when I want to Paste into a Selection.

Re: Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2021 8:40 am
by migf1
Hi LInda,

To be honest, I've not understood the issue but it could be some of your View settings, under File -> Preferences -> General Program Preferences: http://prntscr.com/wstx4l

EDIT. Just saw this was already suggested by Kathy, and you said everything is set to "fit to window". The screenshot above shows my settings, which is pretty much every box checked in the View dialog. Would it be possible for you to share a small video or screen-cast, showing the issue you are having?

Re: Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Posted: Tue Jan 19, 2021 4:42 pm
by Linda Lou
Thank you for the additional suggestions. It may be my mouse settings on the new computer. I don't have the problem with my older one. I'll check those. Thanks, @patara.

Re: Window>Fit to Image Driving Me Crazy

Posted: Mon Mar 01, 2021 6:04 pm
by Linda Lou
Finally no more "Fit to Image" problems. Believe it or not, it must have been the way PSP installed on that computer.
I have a new computer for testing. PSP 2018 is installed on it with the same settings, same external mouse - same everything. This most recent PSP 2018 install is from the same installation media and is normal (except for bugs that were not fixed on Corel's end.) Now I'm wondering if a "Repair" on the other computer will fix the Window issue. I'm tending to think not since it was doing that since Day 1. Strangest thing I've ever seen! :shock:

Now it's such a pleasure to use PSP again.