Tightening up the Space (Toolbars) at the Top of the Screen...

Corel Paint Shop Pro

Moderator: Kathy_9

suplex
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2020 1:53 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASRock ATX DDR3 1600 AMD AM3+ 970 PRO3 R2-0
processor: AMD FX-8320 CPU [8x 3-50GHz-8MB L3 Cache]
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 730 - 2GB
sound_card: 3D Premium Surround Sound Onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer SB220Q 21.5" Full HD (1920 x 1080)
Corel programs: Pain Shop Pro 2021 Standard

Tightening up the Space (Toolbars) at the Top of the Screen...

Post by suplex »

Hello Everyone,

I am new here, but I have been using Paint Shop Pro since it was version 7 (back when the versions were numerically numbered before they changed to using the year). I received PSP 2021 (Standard Edition) for Christmas this year, love it so far, and I am configuring it so that it matches the layout I was using in my previous version (I love the "Workspace" that you can create, save, and load on another version of the software).

What I am trying to do now, is tighten up the space at the top (I will include a screenshot, with some added text to explain better) where you would normally put Toolbars. The Toolbars that I use, by the way, are: "Standard", "Status", & "Tools". On my last version of PSP, using the 2019 version, I had only two bars visible at the top, with no spaces between them (top to bottom), and my current PSP, 2021, there is an empty bar that I would like to remove.

Here is the screenshot which better explains it. If anyone may know how to do this, I would appreciate your assistance.

Thank you.
Paint Shop Pro 2021 - Top Row Spacing.jpg
migf1
Posts: 485
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 3:09 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Tightening up the Space (Toolbars) at the Top of the Screen...

Post by migf1 »

Hi suplex, welcome to the forums!

That's kinda odd. Row 2 should get automatically vanish since there is nothing on it. You can check the View -> Customize | Toolbars dialog to see if there is an empty toolbar active in there, though it should show a handle on row 2 if there was. In that dialog you can try to reset all toolbars, or even reset the whole PSP by holding down the Shift key the next time you launch it (make sure you save your custom workspaces first, so you can load them back after the general reset).
Good Unofficial PaintShop Pro Tutorials: Creation CasselMake Shop ProHEC Image EditingLeviFiction PSP Basics
(plus my own Gimp & Stuff)
Jean-Luc
Posts: 1676
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 10:50 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS Computer N751J
processor: Intel i7-4710 HQ 2.50GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M
Corel programs: PSP X7, X8, X9, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021
Location: Belgium (French speaking)
Contact:

Re: Tightening up the Space (Toolbars) at the Top of the Screen...

Post by Jean-Luc »

Try File/Reset/Workspace

You may also drag the toolbars and Menubar manually.
THE PAINTSHOP PRO COOKBOOK
Installed PSP Ultimate: X7, X8, X9, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021.
suplex
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2020 1:53 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASRock ATX DDR3 1600 AMD AM3+ 970 PRO3 R2-0
processor: AMD FX-8320 CPU [8x 3-50GHz-8MB L3 Cache]
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 730 - 2GB
sound_card: 3D Premium Surround Sound Onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer SB220Q 21.5" Full HD (1920 x 1080)
Corel programs: Pain Shop Pro 2021 Standard

Re: Tightening up the Space (Toolbars) at the Top of the Screen...

Post by suplex »

I will give resetting the Workspace a try, but dragging them manually hasn't gotten me anywhere yet.
suplex
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2020 1:53 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASRock ATX DDR3 1600 AMD AM3+ 970 PRO3 R2-0
processor: AMD FX-8320 CPU [8x 3-50GHz-8MB L3 Cache]
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 730 - 2GB
sound_card: 3D Premium Surround Sound Onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer SB220Q 21.5" Full HD (1920 x 1080)
Corel programs: Pain Shop Pro 2021 Standard

Re: Tightening up the Space (Toolbars) at the Top of the Screen...

Post by suplex »

Jean-Luc wrote:
Wed Dec 30, 2020 12:02 pm
Try File/Reset/Workspace
I checked on mine, I don't have: File>Reset>Workspace. But I do have: File>Workspace>Reset Workspace

The only trouble is, that "Reset Workspace" is greyed out and not selectable.
Kathy_9
Site Admin
Posts: 2448
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:44 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: 8th Generation Intel Core i7 8700 3 20 GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 [6 GB GDDR6 dedicated]
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP EliteDisplay E243m 23.8-inch
Corel programs: PSPX4 ~2021; Painter 2018~21
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Tightening up the Space (Toolbars) at the Top of the Screen...

Post by Kathy_9 »

suplex wrote:
Sun Jan 03, 2021 4:16 pm

The only trouble is, that "Reset Workspace" is greyed out and not selectable.
In that case, try option 2 on the following link: https://forum.corel.com/viewtopic.php?f=56&t=67616
PSPX ver. 10.10, PSPX9 ver. 19.0.0.96, PSP2021 ver. 23.1.0.27, PSP2020 ver. 22.2.0.8 2019 ver. 21.1.0.22, and & PhotoMirage installed; PSPX2 thru PSP2018 owned but not installed
http://www.flickr.com/photos/37153430@N03/
Jean-Luc
Posts: 1676
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 10:50 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS Computer N751J
processor: Intel i7-4710 HQ 2.50GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M
Corel programs: PSP X7, X8, X9, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021
Location: Belgium (French speaking)
Contact:

Re: Tightening up the Space (Toolbars) at the Top of the Screen...

Post by Jean-Luc »

suplex wrote:
Sun Jan 03, 2021 4:16 pm
I checked on mine, I don't have: File>Reset>Workspace. But I do have: File>Workspace>Reset Workspace
The only trouble is, that "Reset Workspace" is greyed out and not selectable.
That's correct.

If no workspace is selected, it will stay grey. Click on Complete and "Reset Workspace" will be available.
Workspace greyed.jpg
workspace reset enabled.jpg
THE PAINTSHOP PRO COOKBOOK
Installed PSP Ultimate: X7, X8, X9, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021.
suplex
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2020 1:53 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASRock ATX DDR3 1600 AMD AM3+ 970 PRO3 R2-0
processor: AMD FX-8320 CPU [8x 3-50GHz-8MB L3 Cache]
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 730 - 2GB
sound_card: 3D Premium Surround Sound Onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer SB220Q 21.5" Full HD (1920 x 1080)
Corel programs: Pain Shop Pro 2021 Standard

Re: Tightening up the Space (Toolbars) at the Top of the Screen...

Post by suplex »

Click on Complete and "Reset Workspace" will be available.
Interesting. I did that (Clicked on "Complete") and it actually tightened up the space of which my original concern was. But when I reloaded my saved Workspace, it put that Row in the top that I can't get rid of again (reference my original picture where I labeled three "Rows").

Looks like I will probably have to wait until I have more time and re-build my workspace how I like it, after selecting "Complete" (to get rid of that row) and just do it that way. I truly wish there was just something I could fix, if I could just figure out what it could be.

You don't think it's possible that it's happening because I have the Standard version of PSP 2021 and not Ultimate, do you? I used to use Ultimate and then realized there is stuff in that version I really don't use, so I decided to save some money with Standard this time.
JoeB
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:04 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: LENOVO 4524PE4 ThinkCentre M91p
processor: 3.10 gigahertz Intel Quad Core i5-2400
ram: 8 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4.6 TB
Corel programs: PSP 9, X7 to 2019, 32 & 64-bit
Location: Canada

Re: Tightening up the Space (Toolbars) at the Top of the Screen...

Post by JoeB »

The PSP program is the same in standard and Ultimate. Just more extras like the Creative Content stuff and a few extra filter type programs available.
Regards,

JoeB
Using PSP 2019 64bit
migf1
Posts: 485
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 3:09 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Tightening up the Space (Toolbars) at the Top of the Screen...

Post by migf1 »

Hi suplex,

did you try my suggestion to check out the View -> Customize | Toolbars dialog for any bogus toolbars in there? I had a similar issue in the past (with PSP 2020 or 2019, I don't remember) but I think I had caused it when I loaded in the newer version a custom workspace created in an older version. No matter what I tried I couldn't fixed it, so I ended up re-creating my custom workspace from scratch in the newer version of PSP.

I had made a post here, and Levi suggested that probably the registry got screwed up. Since there were many bogus toolbars that wouldn't go away, I figured it would be wiser to uninstall the newer version of PSP, install it again and create the workspace from scratch.
Good Unofficial PaintShop Pro Tutorials: Creation CasselMake Shop ProHEC Image EditingLeviFiction PSP Basics
(plus my own Gimp & Stuff)
suplex
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2020 1:53 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASRock ATX DDR3 1600 AMD AM3+ 970 PRO3 R2-0
processor: AMD FX-8320 CPU [8x 3-50GHz-8MB L3 Cache]
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 730 - 2GB
sound_card: 3D Premium Surround Sound Onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer SB220Q 21.5" Full HD (1920 x 1080)
Corel programs: Pain Shop Pro 2021 Standard

Re: Tightening up the Space (Toolbars) at the Top of the Screen...

Post by suplex »

migf1 wrote:
Tue Jan 05, 2021 1:44 pm
Hi suplex,

did you try my suggestion to check out the View -> Customize | Toolbars dialog for any bogus toolbars in there? I had a similar issue in the past (with PSP 2020 or 2019, I don't remember) but I think I had caused it when I loaded in the newer version a custom workspace created in an older version. No matter what I tried I couldn't fixed it, so I ended up re-creating my custom workspace from scratch in the newer version of PSP.

I had made a post here, and Levi suggested that probably the registry got screwed up. Since there were many bogus toolbars that wouldn't go away, I figured it would be wiser to uninstall the newer version of PSP, install it again and create the workspace from scratch.
Hello. You know something? I wonder if it's giving me trouble because I left my older version on my computer and installed the new one, which essentially has both versions available. My old one was PSP 2019 Ultimate, and the new is PSP 2021 Standard and I did take a Workspace from 2019 Ultimate and used that to configure 2021 Standard. I wonder if I had uninstalled 2019 first, then did 2021 if the Workspace would have worked correctly? I will try your suggestion (to see if there are bogus toolbars floating around) and see how that goes. Otherwise, when I have time to dedicate to it, I will be building it from scratch if it has to come down to that.
suplex
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2020 1:53 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASRock ATX DDR3 1600 AMD AM3+ 970 PRO3 R2-0
processor: AMD FX-8320 CPU [8x 3-50GHz-8MB L3 Cache]
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 730 - 2GB
sound_card: 3D Premium Surround Sound Onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer SB220Q 21.5" Full HD (1920 x 1080)
Corel programs: Pain Shop Pro 2021 Standard

Re: Tightening up the Space (Toolbars) at the Top of the Screen...

Post by suplex »

Well, I finally just decided to reset it and build the workspace over again, but now I have a new question (I will include my question in a screenshot), and it's about how you get information on the very top bar where it says: "File, Edit, View, etc...". If you go into Customize, you can pull things out of that bar, but how do you get them back in? Here is my screenshot explaining what I would like to do now.
Attachments
Picture.jpg
Kathy_9
Site Admin
Posts: 2448
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:44 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: 8th Generation Intel Core i7 8700 3 20 GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 [6 GB GDDR6 dedicated]
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP EliteDisplay E243m 23.8-inch
Corel programs: PSPX4 ~2021; Painter 2018~21
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Tightening up the Space (Toolbars) at the Top of the Screen...

Post by Kathy_9 »

I'm confused. You say you accidentally removed palettes but palettes is still there in your screen shot (left of User Interface).
PSPX ver. 10.10, PSPX9 ver. 19.0.0.96, PSP2021 ver. 23.1.0.27, PSP2020 ver. 22.2.0.8 2019 ver. 21.1.0.22, and & PhotoMirage installed; PSPX2 thru PSP2018 owned but not installed
http://www.flickr.com/photos/37153430@N03/
migf1
Posts: 485
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 3:09 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Tightening up the Space (Toolbars) at the Top of the Screen...

Post by migf1 »

Hi again suplex. As Kathy pointed out, your screenshot shows the Palettes menu being in place already. In any case, you can always reset the default menus via the View -> Customize | Menu | Application Frame Menus [Reset] button.

As for multiple PSP versions installed on the same computer, it is fine (many of us have it like that). The issue I described was due to the fact that I loaded into a newer version of PSP a custom workspace created in an older PSP version.

That may not be the case for you, but if you cannot disable any bogus toolbars from within the View -> Customize | Toolbars dialog (or you cannot Reset all Toolbars to their default from that dialog), it is probably a good idea to fully uninstall PSP 2021, then install it again and create your custom workspace from scratch just for PSP 2021.

In my experience, it is better to re-create any custom workspaces from scratch, instead of loading ones made with earlier versions of PSP.
Good Unofficial PaintShop Pro Tutorials: Creation CasselMake Shop ProHEC Image EditingLeviFiction PSP Basics
(plus my own Gimp & Stuff)
suplex
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2020 1:53 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASRock ATX DDR3 1600 AMD AM3+ 970 PRO3 R2-0
processor: AMD FX-8320 CPU [8x 3-50GHz-8MB L3 Cache]
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 730 - 2GB
sound_card: 3D Premium Surround Sound Onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer SB220Q 21.5" Full HD (1920 x 1080)
Corel programs: Pain Shop Pro 2021 Standard

Re: Tightening up the Space (Toolbars) at the Top of the Screen...

Post by suplex »

Kathy_9 wrote:
Wed Jan 06, 2021 2:37 am
I'm confused. You say you accidentally removed palettes but palettes is still there in your screen shot (left of User Interface).
You are correct, I took the picture when I still had "Palettes" in the top toolbar. I saw instructions on how to reset that to get it back to original and they worked great.
Post Reply