.tga "problem"

Corel Paint Shop Pro

Moderator: Kathy_9

Monteiro
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 4:49 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

.tga "problem"

Post by Monteiro »

Hi

Why do I in Paintshop pro see a .tga image like this

ImageImage1 by José Monteiro, no Flickr

Instead of like this?

ImageImage2 by José Monteiro, no Flickr

Can someone help me?

TKS
Last edited by Monteiro on Wed Aug 26, 2020 1:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
migf1
Posts: 474
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 3:09 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: .tga "problem"

Post by migf1 »

Hello, your links aren't working for me. They say "Access Denied".
Good Unofficial PaintShop Pro Tutorials: Creation CasselMake Shop ProHEC Image EditingLeviFiction PSP Basics
(plus my own Gimp & Stuff)
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21429
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: .tga "problem"

Post by Ken Berry »

Same for me -- though there was also a button saying "Request Access" which I pressed. (I have been a long time user of Google and gmail since it first started in 2004.) I pressed that button and got a message saying a message was sent requesting access.
Ken Berry
User avatar
Scribzy
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2020 1:41 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: N/A

Re: .tga "problem"

Post by Scribzy »

I can see the images. They are not displaying alpha channels correctly.
Which version of psp are you using?
Monteiro
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 4:49 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: .tga "problem"

Post by Monteiro »

Try it now.
Monteiro
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 4:49 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: .tga "problem"

Post by Monteiro »

Scribzy wrote:I can see the images. They are not displaying alpha channels correctly.
Which version of psp are you using?

Corel PaintShop Pro 2018
Monteiro
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 4:49 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: .tga "problem"

Post by Monteiro »

No one?
migf1
Posts: 474
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 3:09 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: .tga "problem"

Post by migf1 »

Monteiro wrote:No one?
Hi Monteiro,

as mentioned above, seems like an alpha channel misreading. Would it be possible for you to upload the original .tga file somewhere, so we can test it?. I do not have PSP 2018 myself, but chances are other members do. However, I could test it for you in PSP 2020, 2021 and X7.
Good Unofficial PaintShop Pro Tutorials: Creation CasselMake Shop ProHEC Image EditingLeviFiction PSP Basics
(plus my own Gimp & Stuff)
Monteiro
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 4:49 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: .tga "problem"

Post by Monteiro »

migf1 wrote:
Monteiro wrote:No one?
Hi Monteiro,

as mentioned above, seems like an alpha channel misreading. Would it be possible for you to upload the original .tga file somewhere, so we can test it?. I do not have PSP 2018 myself, but chances are other members do. However, I could test it for you in PSP 2020, 2021 and X7.
Yes!

Here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/15k-ZPQ ... sp=sharing

Tks my friend for help.
migf1
Posts: 474
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 3:09 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: .tga "problem"

Post by migf1 »

You are very welcome!

I am not sure what is going on with that picture!

PSP X7/2020/2021, Gimp, XnViewMP, and nomacs, they all show this picture with transparency. From the static image editors/viewers I have, only Photoshop shows it without transparency.

On the other hand, every video editor/viewer I have, show the picture without transparency. These include: Media Player Classic Home Cinema, SM Player, DaVinci Resolve and Shotcut.

Really weird!
Last edited by migf1 on Fri Aug 28, 2020 6:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
Good Unofficial PaintShop Pro Tutorials: Creation CasselMake Shop ProHEC Image EditingLeviFiction PSP Basics
(plus my own Gimp & Stuff)
User avatar
Scribzy
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2020 1:41 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: N/A

Re: .tga "problem"

Post by Scribzy »

I think this is due to having other data encoded on to the alpha channel like specular map or diffuse.
Monteiro
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 4:49 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: .tga "problem"

Post by Monteiro »

the second screenshot was taken from Photo-paint from Corel Draw
LeviFiction
Advisor
Posts: 5959
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 1:07 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Alienware M17xR4
processor: Intel Core i7-3630QM CPU - 2_40GH
ram: 6 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M
sound_card: Sound Blaster Recon3Di
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500GB
Corel programs: PSP: 8, 9, X, XI, X2, X8,X9, 2018, 2019
Location: USA

Re: .tga "problem"

Post by LeviFiction »

As Scribzy says, it's what's built into the Alpha channel. Why? No idea. Could be specular or defuse maps, could be just an ugly alpha channel. But that would be software specific. Whatever it was designed for would have to know to use it for that purpose. Where did you get this file by the way?

A quick hex-based rundown of the file settings. It's a TGA 2.0 file, 32-bit depth, and the attribute bits are set to be an Alpha Channel specifically not an "unknown" type. It was made with the use of the Developer's Image Library(DevIL) but doesn't list anything else about the app that used DevIL to save the image.

But yeah, that's why it imports like that into PSP. Because it has attribute bits that it specifcally indicated were meant to be used as an alpha channel. PSP saw that and assumed it was important and loaded that info into the layer.
Monteiro
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 4:49 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: .tga "problem"

Post by Monteiro »

LeviFiction wrote:Where did you get this file by the way?
https://drive.google.com/drive/mobile/f ... =drive_web

https://youtu.be/lvuAYHZt7Sc
LeviFiction
Advisor
Posts: 5959
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 1:07 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Alienware M17xR4
processor: Intel Core i7-3630QM CPU - 2_40GH
ram: 6 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M
sound_card: Sound Blaster Recon3Di
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500GB
Corel programs: PSP: 8, 9, X, XI, X2, X8,X9, 2018, 2019
Location: USA

Re: .tga "problem"

Post by LeviFiction »

Interesting, so they loaded it into Photoshop and then after editing it, saved it as a 24-bit TGA file deleting the alpha channel. A channel that, between the fact that it's designed for 3D and having gotten a good look at, I think it is a specularity map like Scribzy suggested.

In The GIMP after opening the image I just have to go to the channels palette and turn off the alpha channel and it goes away. I can make edits and save it out. Pretty easy.

So, how do we deal with this in PSP? I don't think we can. At least not in the newer versions. And not without using scripts.

In older versions of PSP we used to be able to "Un-erase" transparency that already existed. It essentially turned the alpha channel completely opaque. But they decided to "improve" the eraser a few versions ago, now it respects previous transparency and the eraser tool will only "unerase" what it has already "erased" from the image. With a little time and effort I could make a simple script that would replace the alpha channel manually, but I don't think there is any setting built into PSP that will let us open the image without the alpha channel.
Post Reply