Copy/Paste vector selection

Corel Paint Shop Pro

Moderator: Kathy_9

Copy/Paste vector selection

Postby TomG » Mon Dec 25, 2017 1:10 am

PSP 2018 refuses to copy a vector selection, for example, with a circle on a vector layer selected, pressing ctl+C results in the cursor changing to a red circle with line through it as soon as I press ctl. Selecting copy from the Edit menu, then paste as vector selection also does nothing.

Is this just a problem with my installation or have other seen this too?
TomG
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 4:46 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Corel programs: Paint Shop Pro 2018

Re: Copy/Paste vector selection

Postby hartpaul » Mon Dec 25, 2017 9:35 am

Unclear what you are trying to do and how you are doing it. I have made the assumption that you have made a vector circle on a transparent layer using the Preset Shapes tool or the Ellipse tool associated with that tool. You want to copy that and then paste it as a ne vector layer on another image / document

What I did
1. New Document, Preset Shapes tool drew a circle. Circle is bounded by a box like the pick tool.
2. Right click on the title bar and select Copy.
3. Right click the other image title bar making it active and choose Paste as new layer.
No problems here I finish with new vector layers with the circle on them. Works if I choose the Ellipse tool as well.
Is this what you are trying to do and having problems with?
Systems available Win7, Win 8.1,Win 10 Version 1607 Build 14393.2007 & version 1809 Build 17763.615
User avatar
hartpaul
Advisor
 
Posts: 2782
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:38 pm
Location: Australia
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK P7P55D STRIX B240F GAMING
processor: IntelCore i7 7700 3.60 Ghz
ram: 8 Gb
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050
sound_card: Nvidia High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1000 Gb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: AOC
Corel programs: PSP8,X2 to X9,2018,2019,2020

Re: Copy/Paste vector selection

Postby LeviFiction » Mon Dec 25, 2017 2:12 pm

This is a known issue in 2018. Was brought up on these forums a few months ago. No known workaround or fixes exist. Waiting on Corel to address it.
LeviFiction
Advisor
 
Posts: 5631
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: USA
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: PSP: 8, 9, X, XI, X2, X8,X9, 2018, 2019

Re: Copy/Paste vector selection

Postby TomG » Mon Dec 25, 2017 6:43 pm

hartpaul - you're describing pasting the vector object into another image, which I've found does work, but what doesn't work is being able to copy/paste a vector object into the same layer. It appears the problem starts with copying since, as I noted above, when you try to copy using ctrl+C, when you press ctrl the cursor changes to a red circle with line through it (it also does not work using the Edit menu 'copy' and 'paste as new vector selection'). As far as I can see, this occurs with any vector object, shape or text. In addition to pasting as a new image, one can paste as a new layer, but, again, not as a new vector object (selection) into the same layer.

LevFiction - Thanks for advising this is a known problem. Discouraging it's been know for a few months without a fix as there are times when I use vector copy many times in a picture and want these to be on a the same layer, not having to create many new layers.

Corel, if you're listening, where is the fix?
TomG
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 4:46 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Corel programs: Paint Shop Pro 2018

Re: Copy/Paste vector selection

Postby hartpaul » Mon Dec 25, 2017 9:03 pm

I had no problem pasting as a new Vector Selection . You get a circle showing where it is going to paste , move that around to where you want it and left click and you get the copy there. Finished with 5 copies on the one vector layer. Don't use the shortcut keys as that seems to be the bug.

EDIT : While the above works with the original version 20.0.0.132 when I updated a version with a fresh download from Corel on my laptop to 20 .2.0.1 it would not work. So there is a bug introduced with the update.
Systems available Win7, Win 8.1,Win 10 Version 1607 Build 14393.2007 & version 1809 Build 17763.615
User avatar
hartpaul
Advisor
 
Posts: 2782
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:38 pm
Location: Australia
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK P7P55D STRIX B240F GAMING
processor: IntelCore i7 7700 3.60 Ghz
ram: 8 Gb
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050
sound_card: Nvidia High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1000 Gb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: AOC
Corel programs: PSP8,X2 to X9,2018,2019,2020

Re: Copy/Paste vector selection

Postby Ravelli » Sun Jan 28, 2018 8:25 pm

Hi all,

I have the same problem. Hope it will be fixed in next update. For those who haven't seen this happening, here a short video:
http://www.torsten-funk.de/content/proj ... pro/90.mp4

Happy Sunday,
Ravelli
User avatar
Ravelli
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 10:53 pm
Location: Altenbeken
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: GigaByte GA-970A-UD3P Rev. 2.x
processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 1050 Ti GAMING X 4G
sound_card: ESI Maya44 eX
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 7.4 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: BenQ G2222HDL
Corel programs: PSP

Re: Copy/Paste vector selection

Postby Radim » Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:44 pm

Ravelli wrote:Hi all,

I have the same problem. Hope it will be fixed in next update. For those who haven't seen this happening, here a short video:
http://www.torsten-funk.de/content/proj ... pro/90.mp4

Happy Sunday,
Ravelli


Video is quite small, what program do you used to make it?
User avatar
Radim
 
Posts: 542
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 5:54 pm
operating_system: Windows 8
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit

Re: Copy/Paste vector selection

Postby Ravelli » Mon Jan 29, 2018 7:10 pm

Hi Radim,
the video has a size of 1280x720 pixel, which should be enough to present the issue. I used Bandicam for recording and XMediaRecode for the encoding, both with self-made profiles for PSP tutorials. I haven't made this video for the forum here, but for another project.
Wish you a nice day/evening,
Ravelli
User avatar
Ravelli
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 10:53 pm
Location: Altenbeken
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: GigaByte GA-970A-UD3P Rev. 2.x
processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: MSI GeForce GTX 1050 Ti GAMING X 4G
sound_card: ESI Maya44 eX
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 7.4 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: BenQ G2222HDL
Corel programs: PSP

Re: Copy/Paste vector selection

Postby AnthonyD » Thu Mar 08, 2018 9:09 pm

Thank you all for posting this. I'm not new to PSP but am to 2018 and was afraid they had changed something that I was missing. Glad to know it's a bug and not me being dense. I am currently on ver 20.2.0.1 x64. I guess for now I will have to duplicate the entire vector layer and drag the vector I need into the working layer and then delete my duplicate. Hope they fix this soon.
AnthonyD
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:56 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: PSP 18


Return to Paint Shop Pro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: KraftyTO and 2 guests