Can an existing drawn line be made wider

Corel Paint Shop Pro

Moderator: Kathy_9

User avatar
jparnold
Advisor
Posts: 991
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 10:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Z390 UD
processor: Intel Pentium i7-9700 3.6Ghz
ram: 16GB DDR3
Video Card: Gigabyte RTX2060 OC 6GB
sound_card: Onboard Realtec ALC887
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2048Gb mix
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung S27C450B
Corel programs: Videostudio X10, Paint Shop Pro X8
Location: Blue Mountains, NSW, Australia

Can an existing drawn line be made wider

Post by jparnold »

I have created a route/track in Google Earth (which I recently drove) and then taken a snapshot to open in Paint Shop Pro.
I would prefer the line of that route to show wider than it is.
Is there a method of making that 'line' wider?
John a
VS X10 Ultimate, Paint Shop Pro X8, Audacity, Panasonic HC-X920M, Nikon Coolpix S8100
Kathy_9
Site Admin
Posts: 2389
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:44 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: 8th Generation Intel Core i7 8700 3 20 GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 [6 GB GDDR6 dedicated]
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP EliteDisplay E243m 23.8-inch
Corel programs: PSPX4 ~2021; DrawX5; Painter 2018~21
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Can an existing drawn line be made wider

Post by Kathy_9 »

Sounds like you want to increase the width of a line on a screen shot and not a line you created. Is that correct?

Hard to say without seeing it but I suppose you could try to select the line and then go to Selections -> Modify -> Expand (expand to your desired width) and then flood fill the selection.
PSPX ver. 10.10, PSPX9 ver. 19.0.0.96, PSP2021 ver. 23.1.0.27, PSP2020 ver. 22.2.0.8 2019 ver. 21.1.0.22, and & PhotoMirage installed; PSPX2 thru PSP2018 owned but not installed
http://www.flickr.com/photos/37153430@N03/
Jean-Luc
Posts: 1608
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 10:50 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS Computer N751J
processor: Intel i7-4710 HQ 2.50GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M
Corel programs: PSP X7, X8, X9, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021
Location: Belgium (French speaking)
Contact:

Re: Can an existing drawn line be made wider

Post by Jean-Luc »

As Kathy says, could we have a crop (original size) so we could make some suggestions ?
THE PAINTSHOP PRO COOKBOOK
Installed PSP Ultimate: X7, X8, X9, 2018, 2019, 2020 and 2021.
brucet
Posts: 895
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:37 am
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8GB
Location: Australia

Re: Can an existing drawn line be made wider

Post by brucet »

Create a new layer and draw a new line over the top!!

regards
User avatar
jparnold
Advisor
Posts: 991
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 10:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Z390 UD
processor: Intel Pentium i7-9700 3.6Ghz
ram: 16GB DDR3
Video Card: Gigabyte RTX2060 OC 6GB
sound_card: Onboard Realtec ALC887
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2048Gb mix
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung S27C450B
Corel programs: Videostudio X10, Paint Shop Pro X8
Location: Blue Mountains, NSW, Australia

Re: Can an existing drawn line be made wider

Post by jparnold »

Thanks for your replies.
I had tried just drawing a wider 'line' over the top using the paint brush but it wasn't as perfect as I liked.
I would include the (map) image but can't remember how to embed the image here.
John a
VS X10 Ultimate, Paint Shop Pro X8, Audacity, Panasonic HC-X920M, Nikon Coolpix S8100
LeviFiction
Advisor
Posts: 5836
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 1:07 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Alienware M17xR4
processor: Intel Core i7-3630QM CPU - 2_40GH
ram: 6 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M
sound_card: Sound Blaster Recon3Di
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500GB
Corel programs: PSP: 8, 9, X, XI, X2, X8,X9, 2018, 2019
Location: USA

Re: Can an existing drawn line be made wider

Post by LeviFiction »

Just go into the Full Editor and click on the "Upload attachment" tab next to "Options" click "Browse" find the image and click "Add the file" You don't have to place it inline. Or you can upload to a service like dropbox or Google Drive and provide a link.

My recommendation would be to use vector lines. the pen tool should be close to what Google Earth uses to draw its paths. And you can edit them endlessly, making them larger, change colors, turn it into a dashed line.
User avatar
jparnold
Advisor
Posts: 991
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 10:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Z390 UD
processor: Intel Pentium i7-9700 3.6Ghz
ram: 16GB DDR3
Video Card: Gigabyte RTX2060 OC 6GB
sound_card: Onboard Realtec ALC887
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2048Gb mix
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung S27C450B
Corel programs: Videostudio X10, Paint Shop Pro X8
Location: Blue Mountains, NSW, Australia

Re: Can an existing drawn line be made wider

Post by jparnold »

The route/line is from a mapping tool I have (Garmin Mapsource) which allows you to view the route drawn in Google Earth.
I didn't draw the line it manually I just clicked on the start location and finish location in the mapping tool and the route was automatically drawn.
Attachments
route map at 950.jpg
John a
VS X10 Ultimate, Paint Shop Pro X8, Audacity, Panasonic HC-X920M, Nikon Coolpix S8100
User avatar
flagpole
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:12 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte B450 AORUS ELITE DDR4 USB 3.1 RGB
processor: Ryzen 2600
ram: 16GB
Video Card: RTX 2060
sound_card: on board
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 6.5TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Iiyama 27"
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Can an existing drawn line be made wider

Post by flagpole »

one.jpg
So this is a little wider. the technique i used is mucky.

The actual best way is to do it in google earth... Right click on the path > properties > Style color > change it to whatever you like.
photodrawken
Posts: 684
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 8:40 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 16Gb
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 324Gb
Location: USA

Re: Can an existing drawn line be made wider

Post by photodrawken »

If what you have to work with is a single, flat raster image, LeviFiction's suggestion of creating a vector line(s) is the best for the reasons he mentioned.

Additionally, by having the new vector line(s) on a separate layer, you can do all sorts of things to enhance the background image:
Route 66 01.jpg
Ken
Yes, I think it can be eeeeeasily done...
Just take everything out on Highway 61.
User avatar
jparnold
Advisor
Posts: 991
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 10:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Z390 UD
processor: Intel Pentium i7-9700 3.6Ghz
ram: 16GB DDR3
Video Card: Gigabyte RTX2060 OC 6GB
sound_card: Onboard Realtec ALC887
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2048Gb mix
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung S27C450B
Corel programs: Videostudio X10, Paint Shop Pro X8
Location: Blue Mountains, NSW, Australia

Re: Can an existing drawn line be made wider

Post by jparnold »

Thanks 'flagpole',

Why didn't I think of playing around with Google Earth instead as you have? I know remember that you can do tracks (routes) in Google Earth so maybe that was another way and not use my mapping tool as an 'input' for Google Earth. I just used Google Earth to select the route/line/track with right click and changed the width in the properties. FANTASTIC.

Not sure where you live but the route displayed is what I drove a few weeks ago following as much of Route 66 (USA) as I could and it was fantastic.
The map is for the video I have started to create/edit.

BTW here is a screen shot from the mapping tool (Mapsource) which is great even if you only use it to create Google Earth images for a route.

mapsource route.jpg


Thanks again

John
John a
VS X10 Ultimate, Paint Shop Pro X8, Audacity, Panasonic HC-X920M, Nikon Coolpix S8100
User avatar
flagpole
Posts: 526
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:12 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte B450 AORUS ELITE DDR4 USB 3.1 RGB
processor: Ryzen 2600
ram: 16GB
Video Card: RTX 2060
sound_card: on board
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 6.5TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Iiyama 27"
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Can an existing drawn line be made wider

Post by flagpole »

jparnold wrote:Thanks 'flagpole',

Why didn't I think of playing around with Google Earth instead as you have? I know remember that you can do tracks (routes) in Google Earth so maybe that was another way and not use my mapping tool as an 'input' for Google Earth. I just used Google Earth to select the route/line/track with right click and changed the width in the properties. FANTASTIC.

Not sure where you live but the route displayed is what I drove a few weeks ago following as much of Route 66 (USA) as I could and it was fantastic.
The map is for the video I have started to create/edit.

BTW here is a screen shot from the mapping tool (Mapsource) which is great even if you only use it to create Google Earth images for a route.

mapsource route.jpg

Thanks again

John
UK sadly :cry:
pdxrjt
Posts: 459
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 4:30 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel Core i7 - 4.2 GHz
ram: 32 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 10TB Int.
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer 32 inch x2
Corel programs: Paint Shop Pro 2018
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: Can an existing drawn line be made wider

Post by pdxrjt »

Hmmmmm. This looks like a very interesting idea for one of my travel books. Never thought of it and don't use Google much. So, before I jump off the pier and download software that may not do what I want: You can download Google Earth, select places you have been and get a map with interconnected lines?.... then you can get that as a jpeg? or do you have to get it as a screen shot or ?????? Sounds like this could be part of my next travel book! TIA
Adverts for Corel products when you close PSP don't bother me.
User avatar
jparnold
Advisor
Posts: 991
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 10:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Z390 UD
processor: Intel Pentium i7-9700 3.6Ghz
ram: 16GB DDR3
Video Card: Gigabyte RTX2060 OC 6GB
sound_card: Onboard Realtec ALC887
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2048Gb mix
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung S27C450B
Corel programs: Videostudio X10, Paint Shop Pro X8
Location: Blue Mountains, NSW, Australia

Re: Can an existing drawn line be made wider

Post by jparnold »

'Flagpole'

Nothing wrong with the UK. In fact I will be heading for Brecon, Bath, Looe, New Forest area in October for 16 days and not the first visit to the UK.

'Pdxrjt'

I think you can download basic versions of Google Earth but not sure it you can get it to drawn routes between places.
Try Googling the question - I think Google Earth call routes 'tracks' not sure.
John a
VS X10 Ultimate, Paint Shop Pro X8, Audacity, Panasonic HC-X920M, Nikon Coolpix S8100
pdxrjt
Posts: 459
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 4:30 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel Core i7 - 4.2 GHz
ram: 32 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 10TB Int.
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer 32 inch x2
Corel programs: Paint Shop Pro 2018
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: Can an existing drawn line be made wider

Post by pdxrjt »

What is the alternative to Google Earth? TIA
Adverts for Corel products when you close PSP don't bother me.
User avatar
jparnold
Advisor
Posts: 991
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 10:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Z390 UD
processor: Intel Pentium i7-9700 3.6Ghz
ram: 16GB DDR3
Video Card: Gigabyte RTX2060 OC 6GB
sound_card: Onboard Realtec ALC887
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2048Gb mix
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung S27C450B
Corel programs: Videostudio X10, Paint Shop Pro X8
Location: Blue Mountains, NSW, Australia

Re: Can an existing drawn line be made wider

Post by jparnold »

Googling 'earth maps' revealed -
http://www.earthviewmaps.com/
https://www.bing.com/maps/
I have no idea if they are any good

Also try 'googling' free mapping software that also finds stuff

Never underestimate the power of a google search!
John a
VS X10 Ultimate, Paint Shop Pro X8, Audacity, Panasonic HC-X920M, Nikon Coolpix S8100
Post Reply