Edit in PSP directly from Adobe Lightroom v 4.2

Corel Paint Shop Pro

Moderator: Kathy_9

Post Reply
RoseW
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 6:00 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS AMD 880G -Usb3
processor: AMD FX 8150 8 core 3.6 GHZ cpu
ram: 16GB
Video Card: ATI Radeon7750 1Gb
sound_card: AMD High Definition Audio Device
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W27f3V
Corel programs: Psp7-Psp9

Edit in PSP directly from Adobe Lightroom v 4.2

Post by RoseW »

Previous versions of Psp would smoothly receive an image sent as 'Edit in external software and Psp.exe was the choice) The image goes out as a tif to be edited in an external editor of choice. The save action allows the tif to return to Lightroom's database with the changes.

Today with PspX5 installed I set up the preferences in Lightroom to have the external editor be PspX5. A copy has to be created because Psp does not accept the tif directly but in this case with Pspx5 the copy never gets opened.
I then retried that action with PspX4 and with no delay the image opened in V4

I need the contact link to report or ask about this directly to Corel.
Where do I find that url to inquire about the software operation?

Rose
Windows 7-64bit; Lightroom 6, Psp7,
Canon 6d, Canon 7d
kaymann
Posts: 238
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 5:25 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS P8P67 PRO REV 3.1
processor: Intel i-7 6800K
ram: 32 GB
Video Card: NVidia GeForce RTX 2060
sound_card: Onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3.5 T
Monitor/Display Make & Model: MSI MAG 341CQ & Dell 2470
Corel programs: PSP 2019 Ult, Painter 2020, CorelDraw X7

Re: Edit in PSP directly from Adobe Lightroom v 4.2

Post by kaymann »

Mine works just fine using LR 4.2 and PSPX5 and Win7 Pro....
pdxrjt
Posts: 459
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 4:30 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel Core i7 - 4.2 GHz
ram: 32 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 10TB Int.
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer 32 inch x2
Corel programs: Paint Shop Pro 2018
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: Edit in PSP directly from Adobe Lightroom v 4.2

Post by pdxrjt »

Mine works as well. I would go here to seek an answer to your question via Corel: http://corel.force.com/index..... but I would more likely consider LR as an issue and check with them.
Adverts for Corel products when you close PSP don't bother me.
RoseW
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 6:00 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS AMD 880G -Usb3
processor: AMD FX 8150 8 core 3.6 GHZ cpu
ram: 16GB
Video Card: ATI Radeon7750 1Gb
sound_card: AMD High Definition Audio Device
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W27f3V
Corel programs: Psp7-Psp9

Re: Edit in PSP directly from Adobe Lightroom v 4.2

Post by RoseW »

I can export from Lightroom and have V5 open to receive both 16bit and 8 bit tifs which come from Canon 7D dng format files.

Perhaps there is a specific preference that I have overlooked in the Lightroom edit in external editor panel. I haven't done anything differently than in the past versions.
V4 can be set as the external editor of choice, the request to 'edit a copy with Lr adjustments' pops up and the process continues with V4 opening the image.

In V5 after the 'edit a copy' choice popup occurs then the 'preparing image' bar sits and sits so the image never gets over to V5.

If your 'edit in' works perhaps you could share your configuration preferences in Lightroom and anything related in V5 so I can compare.

Rose
Windows 7-64bit; Lightroom 6, Psp7,
Canon 6d, Canon 7d
pdxrjt
Posts: 459
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 4:30 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel Core i7 - 4.2 GHz
ram: 32 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 10TB Int.
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer 32 inch x2
Corel programs: Paint Shop Pro 2018
Location: Portland, Oregon

Re: Edit in PSP directly from Adobe Lightroom v 4.2

Post by pdxrjt »

Just tried it again to be sure and no problems. I have lots of settingsin LR....can't think of anything particularly related to this issue. Sorry.
Adverts for Corel products when you close PSP don't bother me.
RoseW
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 6:00 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS AMD 880G -Usb3
processor: AMD FX 8150 8 core 3.6 GHZ cpu
ram: 16GB
Video Card: ATI Radeon7750 1Gb
sound_card: AMD High Definition Audio Device
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W27f3V
Corel programs: Psp7-Psp9

Re: Edit in PSP directly from Adobe Lightroom v 4.2

Post by RoseW »

Last night I took a stab at reducing a bunch of Windows 'visual' effects....transparency and a few other desktop niceties..
Did an 'edit in' V5 with 8 bit....and it worked.
Repeated another export in 16 bit and it worked.
Today I will put those Windows 7 extras back in place and see if that was a total coincidence .

I also had changed the 'saved user workplace ' so that is factor I have to consider. My original saved workplace might have had a glitch in it.

Now whenever Corel customer service gets back to me (according to their email) I can say 'Its working now <LOL!>'

Rose
Windows 7-64bit; Lightroom 6, Psp7,
Canon 6d, Canon 7d
teknisyan
Posts: 2422
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 4:18 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Sony Corporation VAIO
processor: Intel Corel i5
ram: 4 GB
Video Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650
sound_card: Realtek HD Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 GB
Location: Riyadh, KSA
Contact:

Re: Edit in PSP directly from Adobe Lightroom v 4.2

Post by teknisyan »

Thank you for letting up know that you were able to fix the problem.
Like reading blogs?
About Tech
About Sports
Pnoy.Me - A URL Shortener
Follow me on Facebook & Twitter
RoseW
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 6:00 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS AMD 880G -Usb3
processor: AMD FX 8150 8 core 3.6 GHZ cpu
ram: 16GB
Video Card: ATI Radeon7750 1Gb
sound_card: AMD High Definition Audio Device
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W27f3V
Corel programs: Psp7-Psp9

Re: Edit in PSP directly from Adobe Lightroom v 4.2

Post by RoseW »

The reply I received from Customer Service was to uninstall and reinstall the programme.
I had got it working by the time this reply came in.

I did throw in a statement regarding that Corel guide popping up at most startups and the reply included that there was a shut off selection on the home part of this popup. The only shut off I see is the X on the top right corner of the box. It doesn't respond because the 'loading' button' goes on ....and on.
I've purchased the software there is no need to keep after me.
This feature is likely the cause of the 'loading circle' that revolves and nothing can be done until it is finished.

Rose
Windows 7-64bit; Lightroom 6, Psp7,
Canon 6d, Canon 7d
Kathy_9
Site Admin
Posts: 2431
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:44 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: 8th Generation Intel Core i7 8700 3 20 GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2060 [6 GB GDDR6 dedicated]
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP EliteDisplay E243m 23.8-inch
Corel programs: PSPX4 ~2021; Painter 2018~21
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Edit in PSP directly from Adobe Lightroom v 4.2

Post by Kathy_9 »

I'm not sure how many times you have launched the program but we were told by a Corel employee on another forum that the Corel Guide appears on every third launch of the program. Additionally they said a fix was inputted to add a check box to turn the guide off but it would not appear until the third time you see the guide. So, if the guide launches every third time and you need to see the guide three times before the fix is implemented that equates to 9 program launches. I know it's very screwy :roll: but eventually I did see the check box on the guide when it launched. Since I checked it I haven't been bothered by the guide. Good luck!!
PSPX ver. 10.10, PSPX9 ver. 19.0.0.96, PSP2021 ver. 23.1.0.27, PSP2020 ver. 22.2.0.8 2019 ver. 21.1.0.22, and & PhotoMirage installed; PSPX2 thru PSP2018 owned but not installed
http://www.flickr.com/photos/37153430@N03/
RoseW
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 6:00 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS AMD 880G -Usb3
processor: AMD FX 8150 8 core 3.6 GHZ cpu
ram: 16GB
Video Card: ATI Radeon7750 1Gb
sound_card: AMD High Definition Audio Device
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W27f3V
Corel programs: Psp7-Psp9

Re: Edit in PSP directly from Adobe Lightroom v 4.2

Post by RoseW »

I had restarted many times and found in the registry what could be the running record of start ups. There was a number in that section...22...
I had registered within my Corel account and then I figured 'register within this Corel guide'....so I registered TWICE <LOL!>
In the AppData folder there is a long list in the Corel Messages folder. I deleted and I think they just reappear again.
Through this last week the check box appeared and the Corel Guide does not appear.
Sometimes it is ready to go at load, other times the blue ball revolves.
I have deleted the database reference in the Local AppData folder.

I guess I'm comparing to the V4 install and operation because I did that in September so its not a long time frame before v5 was put in place. The only thing different is I made sure no pictures were in the Documents folder when the V4 was installed and I didn't do that in V5 and I did have a look at how the Organzer could be used. Since then in preferences I have turned everything off connected to Cataloging but I may have opened the door in the first place <grin>
Windows 7-64bit; Lightroom 6, Psp7,
Canon 6d, Canon 7d
Post Reply