Possible to reactivate MSP8?

Post Reply
betwixt1
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 11:54 pm
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte X58A-UDR3
processor: Intel i7-950
ram: 6GB
Video Card: Nvidia GTX8800
sound_card: Realtek AC97
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG E2250V
Location: West Wales, UK
Contact:

Possible to reactivate MSP8?

Post by betwixt1 »

I've just bought a new computer to add to my collection and I'm shuffling software around so the fastest system is now my editing machine. They are all running either XP or Linux quite happily. When I came to install the MSP8 "TBYB" it will only work in "try" mode because entering the activation code returns "Activation was unsuccessful. The activation code is incorrect".
Q. Have Corel shut down the activation servers? If so, does anyone know a way of circumventing the activation? I do have a legitimate code and it was entered correctly.

Brian.
RickinSav'h
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 2:47 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Toshibia P55T-B5360
processor: Intel Core i7-4710HQ
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Radeon R9 M265X - 2GB DDR5
sound_card: On Board
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1 TB
Location: Savannah, Georgia - USA

Re: Possible to reactivate MSP8?

Post by RickinSav'h »

If you search "Media Studio pro" on the corel.com site it will link you to a page where you can still purchase the software. I would like to think that they will be accepting the software keys for the foreseeable future.
Some ULead software (upgrades) require the prior software key before the current key. Is your copy of MSP 8 an upgrade?
MSP 7/8 | VS 8/11.5 | DVD MF 2/3.5/4/7 Pro | VGL 1 | PI-X3 | Painter Essentials 3 | Audacity | Pinnacle Studio DV/7/8/10 | Adobe CS2, PS, PE, AE | PhotoDex Producer 9.0 | ACDSee 9 | Nikon S8100 |
betwixt1
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 11:54 pm
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte X58A-UDR3
processor: Intel i7-950
ram: 6GB
Video Card: Nvidia GTX8800
sound_card: Realtek AC97
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG E2250V
Location: West Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Possible to reactivate MSP8?

Post by betwixt1 »

I can't see any link to MSP and their support system only accepts current products. Looks like I'm going to have to junk it and my past video productions. My only hope is that I still have a backup copy of the original computer files, I don't want to restore it to the new system because that would cause even more problems with the Windoze license and hardware differences but I might be able to retrieve keys from the registry from it and transfer them to the new computer. Does any one know where MSP and VGLab stored the activation data??

Brian.
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
Posts: 12005
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Re: Possible to reactivate MSP8?

Post by Ron P. »

I have the Upgrade version not the TBYB, so the only number I show in my Registry is the Serial Number. It's found at:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Ulead Systems\Ulead MediaStudio Pro\8.0\Installer.

You might look around that registry key for the activation code.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
Post Reply