Tutorial: PhotoImpact: Creating DVD Menu from scratch

For PhotoImpact, Paint Shop Pro, PhotoExplorer, PhotoExpress, GIF Animator & WebUtilities

Moderator: Ken Berry

sjj1805
Posts: 14419
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB
Location: Birmingham UK

Post by sjj1805 »

I think you need to download the components
http://www.ulead.com/pi/esd.htm
ShortStack

Re: Tutorial: PhotoImpact: Creating DVD Menu from scratch

Post by ShortStack »

what is the benefit of "importing existing assets into photoimpact"? what will happen if i do/dont??
also Ulead PI 12 doesn't have "My Workspace".
thanks in advanced
sjj1805
Posts: 14419
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB
Location: Birmingham UK

Post by sjj1805 »

The benefit of importing existing assets into PhotoImpact is the same benefit afforded by downloading and installing "Extra Content."

You can do without them if you want to create everything you do from scratch. I think it is easier if you have lots of ready made material that can be used as building blocks.

Think of it as a game of Lego. You have your various bricks of various shapes and sizes and then use them to create something of your own design.
marmari

Post by marmari »

Will this tutorial work for Ulead Picture Show software? If not, could you direct me to a link, where I might learn how to create home made Dvd menus for my software(which is also a ULEAD family, thus, SHOULD BE SUPPORTED IN THIS FORUM)
sjj1805
Posts: 14419
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB
Location: Birmingham UK

Post by sjj1805 »

There are 45 FREE menus for CD&DVD PS4 Here

I haven't had chance to study placing new menus into CD&DVD PS4 as yet.
Neil Goodwill
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 11:35 am
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by Neil Goodwill »

I am trying to use the PhotoImpact 12 trial version to make a custom text menu for Movie Factory 5 Plus. I have successfully exported it with your plug-in, but everytime I try to open it in MF5 the prog crashes. Is it because DVD Workshop is the only prog listed in the plug-in?
sjj1805
Posts: 14419
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB
Location: Birmingham UK

Post by sjj1805 »

Neil Goodwill
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 11:35 am
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by Neil Goodwill »

Thanks for you reply.
I have tried that alternative, and it is working fine except I don't understand how to assign objects etc. when adapting an existing template. I can add objects so I am leaving the ones that are already there well alone until I learn more.
sjj1805
Posts: 14419
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB
Location: Birmingham UK

Post by sjj1805 »

Extract from link http://forum.corel.com/EN/viewtopic.php?p=143268#143268
KPPang wrote:Am trying to create 16x9 menu from PI 12 export to VS 11+ -

On check detail ID assign ... I keep getting
object background size not correct!

Have resize image to 1024x576 for 16x9 menu but still no go!

Actions taken to resize was done in PI 12 while in DVD menu maker mode.

Have tried resizing in Photo edit mode and importing - some error - background size is not correct.

Ta
KimPen
Two things to check.

First to make sure the background image itself rather than the entire DVD Menu is the correct size use the layer manager and select the bottom but one item "IMG_BG......." then on the menu bar select Adjust, resize.
Make sure that you then select "Apply to selected object" and then check and if necessary adjust the size.

Image

Second thing to check is that the background image is centered on the DVD Menu. Again use the layer manager and select the item "IMG_BG..." and then right click, Align, Center both.

Image
Last edited by sjj1805 on Sun Dec 21, 2008 8:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
sjj1805
Posts: 14419
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB
Location: Birmingham UK

Post by sjj1805 »

Extract from link http://forum.corel.com/EN/viewtopic.php?p=143182#143182
Ken Berry wrote:I have been meaning to ask this before, Steve, but where would it go in VS11 or MF6? I have just copied it into the 16x9 > Customise > Scene Selection Layout folder of VS 11 (there is no Bonus folder, as you would know)... but when I started VS11, it did not show up under 'All'. I notice, by the way, that that folder had a separate little 'settings' file... but I suspect one would have to change one of the .dat files elsewhere... (running in Vista).
You can use the existing folders below these locations or if you prefer create a new custom folder below these locations.

C:\Program Files\Ulead Systems\Ulead VideoStudio 11\Content\Menu Template\4x3
C:\Program Files\Ulead Systems\Ulead VideoStudio 11\Content\Menu Template\16x9
C:\Program Files\Ulead Systems\Ulead VideoStudio 11\Content\Menu Template\HD Basic\16x9\HD Basic

C:\Program Files\Ulead Systems\Ulead DVD MovieFactory 6\Ulead DVD MovieFactory 6\Content\Menu Template\4x3
C:\Program Files\Ulead Systems\Ulead DVD MovieFactory 6\Ulead DVD MovieFactory 6\Content\Menu Template\16x9
C:\Program Files\Ulead Systems\Ulead DVD MovieFactory 6\Ulead DVD MovieFactory 6\Content\Menu Template\HD Basic\16x9\HD Basic
Last edited by sjj1805 on Sun Dec 21, 2008 8:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
KPPang
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:59 pm
Location: Hobart, Tasmania

Post by KPPang »

2log wrote:
There is a beta DVD Menu Plug-in for PhotoImpact 12:

http://www.explorecommerce.com/members/ ... 1&ID=10109


am unable to download plugin for PI 12 Beta....

Keep getting session time-out due to inactivity???

Have been trying for three days now....!!!
Help as have downloaded the Plugin for PI 12 and don't seem to be able to see new menus in VS 11+

Have saved new menus to
C:/programs/Uleadsystems/UleadVideoStudio11/content/menutemplate/16x9/mymenus

Can see folder in Save as mode but no file when accessing view thru program file!
sjj1805
Posts: 14419
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB
Location: Birmingham UK

Post by sjj1805 »

:?:
KPPang
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:59 pm
Location: Hobart, Tasmania

Post by KPPang »

2log wrote:
There is a beta DVD Menu Plug-in for PhotoImpact 12:

http://www.explorecommerce.com/members/ ... 1&ID=10109
:cry: sorry, wrote query in haste...

Am unable to download plugin for abovesaid PI 12 Beta.... keep getting time-out message! Have Ulead deleted this Plug-in?

KimPen
sjj1805
Posts: 14419
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB
Location: Birmingham UK

Post by sjj1805 »

The plug in is found at this link
http://www.ulead.com/pi/plugin.htm
KPPang
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:59 pm
Location: Hobart, Tasmania

Post by KPPang »

The plug in is found at this link
http://www.ulead.com/pi/plugin.htm
Have done this and also saved/exported newly created menu (text only) and nothing in thumbnail view from VS11+'s Menu box!

Did according to your instructions to save
C:\Program Files\Ulead Systems\Ulead VideoStudio 11\Content\Menu Template\4x3
C:\Program Files\Ulead Systems\Ulead VideoStudio 11\Content\Menu Template\16x9
C:\Program Files\Ulead Systems\Ulead VideoStudio 11\Content\Menu Template\HD Basic\16x9\HD Basic
Nothing showing in VS 11 + Create Disc program content!
even with extension /My Menu

In PS 12, I have tried saving thru Menu Bar Save As and also exporting via DVD Menu Maker.... still nothing showing the created new menu!

Do I have to load something else??
also Ulead PI 12 doesn't have "My Workspace".
I think you need to download the components
http://www.ulead.com/pi/esd.htm
Okay, now probably, another silly question (I am new to all these!) which one should I download, there are two - Site 1 and Site 2 - I getting confused.... I too don't have "MY Workspace" and did cut and paste via diff programs into My Library in PI 12 which is oK and usable when applying to constructing my new menus... (hope you understand what I am getting at..)

Kind Regards and thankyou for yr patience....
KimPen
ps hve read and saved your tutorial on PI 11's Creating menu from scratch! TA. :)
Post Reply