number plate blur

For VideoStudio, MediaStudio Pro, VideoGraphics Lab, Cool3D

Moderator: Ken Berry

MIGNOON

number plate blur

Post by MIGNOON »

Hey guys I am new with this forum hope you guys can help me I am really trying to blur these no plates on my movie and i just cant find a way i tried to use some feedback that you guys gave me but it just didn't work is their an option or a graphic were we can just highlight a spot and get it to follow or something. please help me and feed back would be much appreciated thanks. :D :D :D :D :D :D :wink: :wink: :lol: 8) :? :shock:
sjj1805
Posts: 14419
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB
Location: Birmingham UK

Post by sjj1805 »

Try this.
Although my sample effort is not that spectacular is was knocked together in about 10 minutes. with a bit of time and effort you should be able to tweak it so that it is much better.

The sample I have used is of my wife bobbing about in a helicopter, I wouldn't think the number plate you are trying to disguise will be bobbing about as severely as the sample I have used.

Firstly download this small zip file and extract it so that both files are located at
c:\Projects\blur01.vsp
c:\projects\blur02.vsp

Edit: VSP file for VideoStudio 9 users here.

Now download the file 03.wmv from this link
http://www.mediamax.com/sjj1805/Links/21ED3FFB34

Please do not at this time download the other files.
My MediaMax account allows me to share 1GB of stuff per month and every time someone downloads something it eats up a bit of that 1GB.

Place it in the same directory as the two vsp files above
c:\projects\03.wmv

Now open VideoStudio and then open blur02.vsp

Briefly what I did was to take the clip of my wife and place two filters onto the clip to act as a mask. This was then saved as blur01.vsp.
I then started a new project and placed the same clip onto the timeline with the modified clip on the overlay track.

Image
sasha_moe

Post by sasha_moe »

I am using Ulead Video Studio 10 and i want to be able to blur faces. I cannot understand what you did, What filetrs did you use? I have a blur one but i wants to blur out the whole picture i just want it to blur out faces. Thank you!
sjj1805
Posts: 14419
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB
Location: Birmingham UK

Post by sjj1805 »

An alternative method of blurring out faces, number plates and so on involves the use of a photo editor such as PhotoImpact or Adobe Photoshop.

Please view:
MediaStudio/VideoStudio: Use A Video Sequence File
sasha_moe

Post by sasha_moe »

sjj1805 wrote:An alternative method of blurring out faces, number plates and so on involves the use of a photo editor such as PhotoImpact or Adobe Photoshop.

Please view:
MediaStudio/VideoStudio: Use A Video Sequence File
What does number plates mean sorry im new to this. Any more info on this subject would thanks.
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
Posts: 12005
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Post by Ron P. »

Number plates are the License Plates attached to motor vehicles. It is common for television documentaries to blur out these plates.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
sasha_moe

Post by sasha_moe »

I dont understand how that gonna help me.
sjj1805
Posts: 14419
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB
Location: Birmingham UK

Post by sjj1805 »

I have provided you with two completely different methods.
For the first method I have supplied you with sample vsp files that you simply download and then open with VideoStudio so that you are able to see exactly what I did and what was used.
Asian89

Post by Asian89 »

hi, i have Ulead 11 and i cant open your .vsp files. i too want to blur some faces but i don't understand.

i tried some stuff on the overlay track or w/e its called but did not have much success. can you show me or give a detailed tutorial please.

will be much appreciated.
Simon Jenkins

i need help does it come in braile

Post by Simon Jenkins »

i can't see very well is there are tutorials in braile?
i have home video of me and the wife and i want to blur the wifes face, so i can sell the video to my chums at the legion and they wont know who it is can anyone help ? i am 67 years old so please have some patience with me
sjj1805
Posts: 14419
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB
Location: Birmingham UK

Post by sjj1805 »

I have now created a Video Tutorial showing how to blur faces, number plates etc. It lasts for 2 minutes 40 seconds.

(Video) How to Blur faces etc with VideoStudio
Simon Jenkins

Post by Simon Jenkins »

very good chap, it took me 4 hours to download the video my 28k connection a bit slow mind you, think of buying a new 57k modem
sjj1805
Posts: 14419
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB
Location: Birmingham UK

Post by sjj1805 »

O my God.... a 28k Modem!!

I would suggest that when you upgrade you consider Broadband rather than a 56k modem. The monthly charge for Broadband with my internet provider
Virgin Cable (Previously Blueyonder) is about ¢G1 per month different to a Modem connection with them.
Simon Jenkins

Post by Simon Jenkins »

think i will have to upgrade to broadband as i can't get ISA modems, my son thinks i should change the whole computer i've had it 12 years
MrA
Posts: 452
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 1:29 am
Location: New Olreans LA

Post by MrA »

Simon Jenkins wrote:think i will have to upgrade to broadband as i can't get ISA modems, my son thinks i should change the whole computer i've had it 12 years
WOW 12 years! I'd have that one dipped in bronzed and hang it on the wall... :)
Post Reply