MovieFactory 7 Wish List For future Versions

Moderator: DVDDoug

Wim Kok
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 5:59 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD FXtm-4100 Quad-Core
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GT 520
sound_card: Realtek AC97
Hard_Drive_Capacity: C640 D500
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer AL1951 LCD
Location: The Netherlands

Re: MovieFactory 7 Wish List For future Versions

Post by Wim Kok »

My MovieFactory 7 came with some "presents" as well. I ignored them since they don't add anything, in my opinion,
to the functions of MovieFactory I need. "Copy DVD" works great in MovieFactory 7 Pro and WinDVD...... ah, it's just another media player and there are plenty of them. WMP with the right codecs or VLC player are favorite to me.
Regards, Wim Kok
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21322
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: MovieFactory 7 Wish List For future Versions

Post by Ken Berry »

I trust you realise that this thread is now somewhat passed its use-by date (Wish List for Future Version...) There will be no future versions unless Corel reverses is decision to drop this program. IMHO and in the opinion of many others, that is a mistake on their part, but they have also discontinued a number of other valuable programs such as Movie Studio Pro and PhotoImpact...
Ken Berry
eltonvon
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 3:31 pm
operating_system: Vista Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Belarc Advisor
processor: Belarc Advisor
ram: 2gb
Video Card: Belarc Advisor
sound_card: Belarc Advisor
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 80GB

Re: MovieFactory 7 Wish List For future Versions

Post by eltonvon »

My wishes:

1) Insert MP3, currently I have to convert MP3 to WAV everytime;
2) Input Asian languages (Traditional + Simplified Chinese), currently I have to switch to Google Picasa even though the image quality of MF is better;
3) Improve audio function (Audio is often dead)
4) Add a software menu bar

Wish it comes true soon, or it's just a wish!
compucat
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 10:06 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte
processor: Q6600
ram: 8GB
Video Card: ATI 5670
sound_card: Soundblaster live
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB

Adding Text

Post by compucat »

In Video Studio Pro X3 the DVD Menu Creater has the ability to add text.
I can't see why that capability was left out of MF7 and MF7 Pro.
I would like that capability included in future versions of MF.
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
Posts: 12005
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Re: Adding Text

Post by Ron P. »

compucat wrote:In Video Studio Pro X3 the DVD Menu Creater has the ability to add text.
I can't see why that capability was left out of MF7 and MF7 Pro.
I would like that capability included in future versions of MF.
VS Pro X3 does not have a DVD burning module, instead they provide DVD Factory 2010 or DVD MF7 SE. So you're statement that VS Pro X3 Menu Creater has the ability to add text, is not correct. Also with DVD MovieFactory 7 Pro you can add text, via the Edit Room.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
compucat
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 10:06 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte
processor: Q6600
ram: 8GB
Video Card: ATI 5670
sound_card: Soundblaster live
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB

Adding Text To Current Menu Feature

Post by compucat »

I stand corrected on my original post but not the adding text portion.
In DVD Factory Pro 2010 which is part of Visual Studio Pro X3 you can add text to a menu.
In Menu Editing, at the top of the page is a T+ icon. The icon tooltip states "Add more text on current menu".
The text can be added to all types of menus and works very well.
This feature should have been included in MF7 and MF7 pro.
I would like it to be included in future versions.
The Edit Room in MF7 and MF7 Pro can add text but
as part of an automated DVD creation thing and is not
as simple or elegant as the add text to current menu
feature found in DVD Factory Pro 2010 found in
Video Studion Pro X3
redsunset
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 9:57 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel i3-330Mm 2.13GhZ
processor: 5000GB Serial ATA 5400RPM
ram: 3072mb
Video Card: 512 NB Ati mobility radeon HD 545v
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3072mb

Re: MovieFactory 7 Wish List For future Versions

Post by redsunset »

eltonvon wrote:My wishes:

1) Insert MP3, currently I have to convert MP3 to WAV everytime;
2) Input Asian languages (Traditional + Simplified Chinese), currently I have to switch to Google Picasa even though the image quality of MF is better;
3) Improve audio function (Audio is often dead)
4) Add a software menu bar

Wish it comes true soon, or it's just a wish!

I concurr with the Chinese script issue. Actually you can cut from another document and paste but the fonts are rubbish, with the characters appearing in different sizes and thickness. Input is impossible. Even more annoying is that where Movie Factory 2010 accepted files with Chinese names, MR pro 7 does not, so have had to rename all the videos and then manually cut and paste the titles.
bigmac94
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 6:18 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS P8H67
processor: Intel 3.40 htz
ram: 8 gigs
Video Card: ATI 5750
sound_card: on motherboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 75gigs
Monitor/Display Make & Model: View Sonic 22 in.

Re: MovieFactory 7 Wish List For future Versions

Post by bigmac94 »

Hello...
Me Thinks the Capture Driver Need some work Please.... a lot of work..
Its the only thing holding me back for complete Program ... I`m Talking Movie Factory 7 Pro....
Sharona
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 8:06 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte
processor: i5 2400
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: GeForce 430GT with 1 GB RAM
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 160GB 1 TB

Re: MovieFactory 7 Wish List For future Versions

Post by Sharona »

I don't know if it is Bug or a new request. But for some reason I can't write Hebrew text into the MENU Titles. By the way the same happen in VS X4 in the DVD menu part while in the text that is not in the DVD menu it works. I used the DVD workshop version 2 and it is possible to write Hebrew text in the DVD menu Titles.
I am using Win7 64bit and tried also the 32bit the same happened.
joans
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 3:09 am
operating_system: Windows XP Home
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
ram: 1 gb

Re: MovieFactory 7 Wish List For future Versions

Post by joans »

I think it would be very helpful to have the ability to specify a TV safe area and have the program actually shrink images for slideshow down for you automatically.
As it is now, I just learned that I have to manually go into 300 photos, figure out what 10% would be (they are all dif sizes), add to the paper size and save a copy of each one.
Then I have to make 2 dif slideshows, one for flatscreen monitors/tvs, and one for old style tvs. This will involve rekeying titles for each of the pictures, and recreating my menu.
If the program could do it, it would save me tons of time.

thanks for listening,
joan
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
Posts: 12005
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter
Location: Kansas, USA

Re: MovieFactory 7 Wish List For future Versions

Post by Ron P. »

Joans,

I really don't like to dash hopes and wishes, but there's not any DVD authoring program, including the very expensive ones, that are capable of those things. This is a DVD authoring program, that provides just a tad bit of editing capabilities. What you're describing falls into either a specialty slide-show program like Pro Show Gold, or video editing programs. Further I've had my hands on numerous video editing programs, and none of them are able to determine what 10% overscan which is what the title-safe or TV-safe guides are, for each individual type of television.

The main part of video production, editing, authoring discs or creating video files to share for whatever means, is having to go through the process of resizing, touching up photos. Not to push a button and have it all done in one fell swoop. Please don't take this wrong, no offense is intended, but I would not be very proud of something that I really put no effort into. I really hope it never gets to the point of "one-click" DVDs.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
joans
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 3:09 am
operating_system: Windows XP Home
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
ram: 1 gb

Re: MovieFactory 7 Wish List For future Versions

Post by joans »

I understand Ron.
I just thought since the program knows enough to downsize all my photos to fit the same, then it could just go a step further and downsize a bit more while adding black to the excess.
But I found that it can be done in Photoshop by creating an action script to work on a batch file. Just record an action that includes resizing the canvas at a "relative" percentage.
Works well and I'm a happy camper! I also found that I can trim mp3's in Windows Movie Maker.
Now the only thing that's really bothering me is having a blank area to add text (as an option). oh well.

thanks for your replies.
joan
Metro City
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 8:09 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit

Re: MovieFactory 7 Wish List For future Versions

Post by Metro City »

Hi,
I can't believe, the music in the menu only 30 sec?

implemented the settings of Workshop Dvd 2 that they were perfect!
- Audio that lasts as long as the video or song.
- Free custom menu template, import images set text with a original setting dvd
so for example, ability to create a professional dvd with:

Play
Audio Selection
Selecting Chapters
Extras

Thanks
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12272
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: MovieFactory 7 Wish List For future Versions

Post by lata »

Hi Metro City

Video Studio has a similar authoring module and deselecting the “motion menu” option allows the music to play in full. The Motion Menu and Audio going hand in hand.
You do of course loose Motion Menu but you would not want that to be to long, that would reduce the length available for the main movie.
Regards Trevor
Metro City
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 8:09 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit

Re: MovieFactory 7 Wish List For future Versions

Post by Metro City »

Thanks I'll try ;)

so it's possible create new template in mf7?
and in the future i'll see corel whorkshop 3 :D
Post Reply