Script Error on startup

Moderator: Kathy_9

Post Reply
crawdaddy
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:13 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Z27ON-WiFi
processor: Intel i7-7700
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GT 730
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4.5TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Viewsonic
Corel programs: Corel PSP Pro 19.2.0.7 x64

Script Error on startup

Post by crawdaddy »

In the last few (small number of) weeks, when my PSP Pro 19.2.0.7 x64 starts up it immediately gets into a (sort of) loop reporting a Script Error with the following text:
"An error has occurred in the script on this page
Line 0
Char 0
Error Script error
Code 0
URL http://maps.google.com/maps/api/js?clie ... uage=en-US

Do you want to continue running scripts on this page?"

I am then given an option of either Yes or No.

Regardless of which I choose (and however often I choose it) the error re-appears.

This is making the program close to unusable.

I run W10, absolutely fully up to date (Fall Creators Update came my way recently), and the System Information in the 'About PainshopPro' window is
PaintShop Pro Build Information:
Serial Number XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Build Date Friday, 24 February 2017 @ 14:51:20
Build Mode Release (13000004)

Hardware Configuration:
OEM ID: 9
Processors 8
Processor Type Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7700 CPU @ 3.60GHz
MMX Support No

Memory / Drive Status:
Memory Load Index 30 %
Total Physical Memory 15.96 GB
Available Physical Memory 11.11 GB
Total Paging Memory 18.83 GB
Available Paging Memory 13.21 GB
Total Managed Memory 20 MB
Total Handles: 200
Temp Drive Free Space 82.21 GB

Video Driver Information:
Bits Per Pixel 32
Number of Colors 16777216
DIB Output 24 BPP
Palette Size Non-Paletted
Resolution 1920 x 1080

Operating System Information:
Operating System Windows 10

Plug-in Information
Filter Plug-ins Loaded: 0
Import Plug-ins Loaded: 0
Export Plug-ins Loaded: 0
Format Plug-ins Loaded: 0

DLL Name Version Load State
CmdArtistic 19.00 None
CmdBase1 19.00 Partial
CmdBase2 19.00 Partial
CmdBevels 19.00 None
CmdClipboard 19.00 Partial
CmdColor 19.00 None
CmdEmail 19.00 None
CmdExternal 19.00 None
CmdFile 19.00 None
CmdGeometry 19.00 None
CmdHDR 19.00 None
CmdJGL 19.00 None
CmdLayers 19.00 None
CmdLighting 19.00 None
CmdNonGraphic 19.00 Partial
CmdOrganizer 19.00 None
CmdPhoto 19.00 None
CmdPhotoSharing 19.00 None
CmdPrint 19.00 Partial
CmdPyScript 19.00 None
CmdSelections 19.00 None
CmdSlideshow 19.00 None
CmdStandard 19.00 None
CmdTexture 19.00 None
CmdVector 19.00 None
CmdWeb 19.00 None
ToolArt 19.00 Partial
ToolObject 19.00 Partial
ToolPaint 19.00 Partial
ToolSelect 19.00 Partial
ToolStandard 19.00 Partial
ToolText 19.00 Partial
ToolWarp 19.00 Partial

WinTab Tablet Status
Driver Version: None

Again, this is simply on opening the program even before this humble user has tried to find an image to edit.

(As a new user I know that my first few posts have to be held to be checked by the Moderator. Fair enough).
pwm
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 10:15 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD A10-6700
ram: 8GB
Video Card: AMD Radeon HD 8670D
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer G247HYL
Corel programs: Paintshop Pro 2018
Location: Winnipeg MB, Canada

Re: Script Error on startup

Post by pwm »

I have the same problem. There's already an existing thread on this here:

viewtopic.php?f=56&t=62857
JoeB
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:04 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: LENOVO 4524PE4 ThinkCentre M91p
processor: 3.10 gigahertz Intel Quad Core i5-2400
ram: 8 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4.6 TB
Corel programs: PSP 9, X7 to 2019, 32 & 64-bit
Location: Canada

Re: Script Error on startup

Post by JoeB »

crawdaddy wrote:I run W10, absolutely fully up to date (Fall Creators Update came my way recently), and the System Information in the 'About PainshopPro' window is
PaintShop Pro Build Information:
I suggest that you remove the serial number from your post.
Regards,

JoeB
Using PSP 2019 64bit
crawdaddy
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:13 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Z27ON-WiFi
processor: Intel i7-7700
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GT 730
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4.5TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Viewsonic
Corel programs: Corel PSP Pro 19.2.0.7 x64

Re: Script Error on startup

Post by crawdaddy »

pwm wrote:I have the same problem. There's already an existing thread on this here:

viewtopic.php?f=56&t=62857
Ouch! My sincere apologies. I did several searches for "Script Error" looking to see if it had already been discussed, and missed it (I guess because the Javascript thing foxed me).

If the Moderator wants to close this thread to further postings that's fine by me.
crawdaddy
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:13 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Z27ON-WiFi
processor: Intel i7-7700
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GT 730
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4.5TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Viewsonic
Corel programs: Corel PSP Pro 19.2.0.7 x64

Re: Script Error on startup

Post by crawdaddy »

JoeB wrote:
crawdaddy wrote:I run W10, absolutely fully up to date (Fall Creators Update came my way recently), and the System Information in the 'About PainshopPro' window is
PaintShop Pro Build Information:
I suggest that you remove the serial number from your post.
Thanks

I see that (guess Moderator) had already done that. That'll learn me for having tried to find as much data as possible to go with the program fault report.
patman1957
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:36 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Alienware 0XJKKD A01
processor: 3.00 gigahertz Intel Core i7-5960X
ram: 16276 mb
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti
sound_card: Sound Blaster Recon3Di
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 6986.56 Gi
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell S2716DG
Corel programs: Corel PaintShop Pro X8

Re: Script Error on startup

Post by patman1957 »

I have yet to see a workable reply to this issue of:

Corel PaintShop Pro X8 "An error has occurred in the script on this page." Line: 0 Char:00 Error: Script error. Code: 0 URL: http://maps.google.com/maps/api/is?clie ... 8.advanced 1&v=3.8&sensor=true&libraries=places&language=en-US Do you want to continue running scripts on this page?"

Is there a solution or has this program become worthless trash requiring a deletion of the program and reloading?
LeviFiction
Advisor
Posts: 5984
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 1:07 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Alienware M17xR4
processor: Intel Core i7-3630QM CPU - 2_40GH
ram: 6 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660M
sound_card: Sound Blaster Recon3Di
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500GB
Corel programs: PSP: 8, 9, X, XI, X2, X8,X9, 2018, 2019
Location: USA

Re: Script Error on startup

Post by LeviFiction »

This isn't really what this particular board is about. That error had to do with Google maps which comes from the map location function in manage mode. And deals very specifically with how the built in browser control is interpreting the JavaScript and html of the Google maps page

I honestly don't think we can fix that because as Google updates its maps code older browsers won't be able to run it.
harald
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2020 5:52 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Script Error on startup

Post by harald »

I also have the same annoying issue, so I disabled the whole Google map integration with Paintshop Pro. The latest version I am running is 2018, and the script fails with an undefined variable/object Google.

Someone better at debugging javascript may have a look at this, but the solution to disable it is as follows - this is on Windows 7 Pro 64 bit - Paintshop installed as 32 bits.

Go to the folder: C:\Program Files (x86)\Corel\Corel PaintShop Pro 2018\Languages\EN\GeoTagging
(or to \Program Files\ if you have the 64bit install).

Make a copy of GoogleAdvanced2.htm

Edit the file above to comment out the following lines - like below:
<!--
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://maps.google.com/maps/api/js?v=3. ... "></script>
script type="text/javascript" src="../../EN/GeoTagging/js/GoogleAdvanced1.js"></script> -->

This will make this htm file do nothing - hence script problem is gone.

Editing system files are of course on your own risk !!!

regards, Harald
Post Reply