v23 Encoded Video is NOT what I edited, NOT what's in Preview - what?

Moderator: Ken Berry

Post Reply
Klepper
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 9:25 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: AsRock Z390
processor: 9900K
ram: 64GB
Video Card: 960GTX
sound_card: HT Omega Claro +
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 24TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 3 X 43" 4K
Corel programs: 23.3.0.646

v23 Encoded Video is NOT what I edited, NOT what's in Preview - what?

Post by Klepper »

Never had this problem before. Never even knew it was possible.

I edit the video. Perfect, all is well. Then I export the video, and a few portions of the video, it jumps around, includes some stuff I edited OUT, jumps WAY ahead, then jumps back.

Here is a side by side of the preview in the EDIT tab, and the outputted file in VLC playing simultaneously.

https://youtu.be/n2pTtlyUWmA

You can see that they do NOT match up. I'm not talking about the millisecond difference it took me to hit play on both, I'm talking they are not the same videos. There are many segments where it's jumping around, I just included one in the video.

v23.3.0.646

I've tried switching to AVH/h.264/mpeg-4/checking and unchecking "Enable Smart Renderer" & "Enable Hardware Encode Acceleration" etc.

I can't get it to stop exporting the wrong jacked-up footage.
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12727
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: v23 Encoded Video is NOT what I edited, NOT what's in Preview - what?

Post by lata »

Strange behaviour indeed, you do not give any details of your video, the type or its properties.
Nor any details of your project properties.
Some devices record using a variable frame rate which video studio may struggle with.

My first thoughts are to disable Smart Render the option being available from the Share panel.

Of course you should be rendering using settings similar to or same as your video file.
Regards Trevor
Klepper
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 9:25 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: AsRock Z390
processor: 9900K
ram: 64GB
Video Card: 960GTX
sound_card: HT Omega Claro +
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 24TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 3 X 43" 4K
Corel programs: 23.3.0.646

Re: v23 Encoded Video is NOT what I edited, NOT what's in Preview - what?

Post by Klepper »

lata wrote:
Thu Apr 15, 2021 1:50 pm
you do not give any details of your video, the type or its properties. Nor any details of your project properties.
I wouldn't think that mattered as it hasn't mattered for the last 15 years of editing videos. But yeah that's probably it. I Will include here for future searching reference:

I used Nebula Screen Recorder Pro v2.0.2.0 : (because corel's video screen recorder program doesn't work)

Stream 0
Codec: H264 - MPEG-4 AVC (part 10) (avc1)
Type: Video
Video resolution: 1920x1080
Buffer dimensions: 1920x1088
Frame rate: 60.002400
Decoded format:
Orientation: Top left
Color primaries: ITU-R BT.709
Color transfer function: ITU-R BT.709
Color space: ITU-R BT.709 Range
Chroma location: Left
Stream 1
Codec: MPEG AAC Audio (mp4a)
Type: Audio
Channels: Stereo
Sample rate: 48000 Hz
Bits per sample: 32

Encoder: Lavf58.29.100

Maybe I'll re-encode the video first then use the edited videos next. Thanks for the reply.
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12727
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: v23 Encoded Video is NOT what I edited, NOT what's in Preview - what?

Post by lata »

lata wrote:
Thu Apr 15, 2021 1:50 pm
My first thoughts are to disable Smart Render the option being available from the Share panel.

Of course you should be rendering using settings similar to or same as your video file.
At least i know they are mpeg4 video,
You have the benifit of seeing your program and the timelines and understand your project properties, so a little info would be useful.

The properties you show do indicate a variable frame rate, a bit unusual from a screen recorder.

But as mentioned try deselecting Smart Render to see if that produces better video.

Althought you have tried a few formats, matching the video properties is probibaly the best,
Same as Project or Same as first Clip would be my choice, are you rendering to the same frame rate as the video uses at 60fps

By the way the MCCL provided with the program worked for me although you dont give any details
Regards Trevor
tletter
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018, 2019
Location: Canada

Re: v23 Encoded Video is NOT what I edited, NOT what's in Preview - what?

Post by tletter »

Your profile doesn't list the version of VS that you're using.
Klepper wrote:I wouldn't think that mattered as it hasn't mattered for the last 15 years of editing videos.
Apparently it does matter, since after "15 years of editing videos", there is a problem.
Klepper wrote:I can't get it to stop exporting the wrong jacked-up footage.
No idea what "jacked-up footage" is, but if you create a preview range and then render using the "Create preview range only" option, you should be able to determine what part of your VSP is causing the issue.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
Klepper
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 9:25 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: AsRock Z390
processor: 9900K
ram: 64GB
Video Card: 960GTX
sound_card: HT Omega Claro +
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 24TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 3 X 43" 4K
Corel programs: 23.3.0.646

Re: v23 Encoded Video is NOT what I edited, NOT what's in Preview - what?

Post by Klepper »

tletter wrote:
Thu Apr 15, 2021 10:37 pm
Your profile doesn't list the version of VS that you're using.
So? I put it in the post. Did you read the post?
tletter wrote:
Thu Apr 15, 2021 10:37 pm
Apparently it does matter, since after "15 years of editing videos", there is a problem.
Yeah no ##!# That's... why... I'm.... posting. Corel dropped the ball on this version. This has never happened to me before.
tletter wrote:
Thu Apr 15, 2021 10:37 pm
No idea what "jacked-up footage" is,
Did you see the video? And how the rendered version jumps all around?
tletter wrote:
Thu Apr 15, 2021 10:37 pm
but if you create a preview range and then render using the "Create preview range only" option, you should be able to determine what part of your VSP is causing the issue.
Like I said in the post (did you read it?) I tried that option. No change.
Klepper
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 9:25 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: AsRock Z390
processor: 9900K
ram: 64GB
Video Card: 960GTX
sound_card: HT Omega Claro +
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 24TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 3 X 43" 4K
Corel programs: 23.3.0.646

Re: v23 Encoded Video is NOT what I edited, NOT what's in Preview - what?

Post by Klepper »

lata wrote:
Thu Apr 15, 2021 1:50 pm
But as mentioned try deselecting Smart Render to see if that produces better video[/b].
Like I said in the post I tried that.
lata wrote:
Thu Apr 15, 2021 1:50 pm
By the way the MCCL provided with the program worked for me although you dont give any details
Yeah, https://forum.corel.com/viewtopic.php?f ... 9&p=386905 that's another issue, but besides the point. v23 should be able to edit video as previous version did without this weirdness.
tletter
Posts: 923
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018, 2019
Location: Canada

Re: v23 Encoded Video is NOT what I edited, NOT what's in Preview - what?

Post by tletter »

Klepper wrote:Did you read the post?
Did you see the video?
Like I said in the post (did you read it?)
Sorry that you're having a bad day. Good luck with your issues.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
Klepper
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 9:25 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: AsRock Z390
processor: 9900K
ram: 64GB
Video Card: 960GTX
sound_card: HT Omega Claro +
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 24TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 3 X 43" 4K
Corel programs: 23.3.0.646

Re: v23 Encoded Video is NOT what I edited, NOT what's in Preview - what?

Post by Klepper »

lata wrote:
Thu Apr 15, 2021 1:50 pm
Some devices record using a variable frame rate which video studio may struggle with.
That insight helped because I just re-encoded to get rid of the VRBness it and now the videos work fine. thanks for the help.

Corel should still fix this but whatever.
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12727
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: v23 Encoded Video is NOT what I edited, NOT what's in Preview - what?

Post by lata »

A little strange why the Nebula Screen Recorder Pro v2.0.2.0 created a video using a variable frame rate, maybe a setting you could change there which should avoid any other problems.

Good to hear you have a work round.
Regards Trevor
Post Reply