No project message when inserting to timeline??

Moderator: Ken Berry

spudgun
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 11:41 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: Corel Videostudio 2020

Re: No project message when inserting to timeline??

Post by spudgun »

OK. So, an update to this problem and, for me at least, a sad farewell......


I have spent an hour today with remote assisitance from Corel. The engineer confirmed for me that as Apple has stopped providing updates and developments for Quick Time files, Videostudio can no longer process .mov files. Personally, I consider it an outrage as I have been a corel customer for 15 years and they have never intimated this probem exists. To clarify, MOV files can NOT be processed to any useable degree, certainly not 4k UHD or DCI quality files. What this means for me, personally, is that wheras I have actually used Videostudio previously in a professional capacity, it can no longer be used as such as I am now shooting 10 bit, 4-2-2 ingternally, which requires an MOV file. It begs the question, of copurse, what if ANYtHING, other video editing software is doing about this problem.
canuck
Posts: 1949
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:28 pm
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Location: Deep River, Ontario, Canada

Re: No project message when inserting to timeline??

Post by canuck »

I have no problems processing mov files (even 4K) with VS 2020. Obviously that Corel engineer is not correct.
Can you upload a short problem clip for us to test?

You should be asking your camera maker why the are using a format that is no longer supported.
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21458
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: No project message when inserting to timeline??

Post by Ken Berry »

I can only agree with canuck. What the engineer told you is nonsense. Yes, Apple no longer support development of QT for PCs. But as I told you last month, you can still load the .mov codec and use it in VS. I have just done a test using it in VS 2021, and set for 4K 3840 x 2160 at 25p. It processed quickly and produced an excellent quality .mov file...

As canuck has already said, it would be useful if you could provide a short clip for us to test on our systems. You would need to use something like Dropbox to be able to upload a large clip.
Ken Berry
spudgun
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 11:41 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: Corel Videostudio 2020

Re: No project message when inserting to timeline??

Post by spudgun »

Wow......in which case I don't know what to say. This has been an ongoing issue for some weeks now. I eventually managed to get an hour remote meeting today with Austin Larocque, an engineer at Corel. He remotely controlled my computer, did several things with the settings etc......and rendered a couple of my movie clips which were .mov 4k DCI 4096 X 2160. They were awful. Sadly, I wish I had time to copy and paste the whole conversation as he told me outright that APPLE was the reason why the files couldn't be processed. He evn emailed me afterwards advising how to get a REFUND on my copy of Videostudio!

He went on to say that a NUMBER of software companies are having the same problem and that it isn't possible to produce codecs to fix the issue because they are Apple generated. Yes, I DID wonder how camera companies were going to get by, continuing to produce equipment that records .mov format.

Of course, if some of you guys ARE editing and rendering 4k mov files then I most obviously have been ill advised or misinformed. Ken, can you advise where I can send you a clip for testing please? I will send a very short example.
spudgun
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 11:41 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: Corel Videostudio 2020

Re: No project message when inserting to timeline??

Post by spudgun »

Ken Berry wrote:
Mon Apr 12, 2021 7:39 pm
I can only agree with canuck. What the engineer told you is nonsense. Yes, Apple no longer support development of QT for PCs. But as I told you last month, you can still load the .mov codec and use it in VS. I have just done a test using it in VS 2021, and set for 4K 3840 x 2160 at 25p. It processed quickly and produced an excellent quality .mov file...

As canuck has already said, it would be useful if you could provide a short clip for us to test on our systems. You would need to use something like Dropbox to be able to upload a large clip.
PS: Yes, I DID follow your advice Ken and I did download Apple codecs
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12731
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: No project message when inserting to timeline??

Post by lata »

It appears that you are working with 10 bit mov video
I do not know anything about 10bit other than doing a google search which indicates there may be some editing issues, 10bit of course gives better colour quality compared to 8bit, again via google

Certainly I do not have a problem with the mov video I have used
A mov 10bit sample for us to test on our computers would be helpful.
Regards Trevor
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21458
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: No project message when inserting to timeline??

Post by Ken Berry »

spudgun wrote:Ken, can you advise where I can send you a clip for testing please? I will send a very short example.
As I said, you would need to upload it to a service like Dropbox or the equivalent like Google Drive, which accept large files. They allow others then to download from them.
Ken Berry
spudgun
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 11:41 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: Corel Videostudio 2020

Re: No project message when inserting to timeline??

Post by spudgun »

lata wrote:
Mon Apr 12, 2021 9:35 pm
It appears that you are working with 10 bit mov video
I do not know anything about 10bit other than doing a google search which indicates there may be some editing issues, 10bit of course gives better colour quality compared to 8bit, again via google

Certainly I do not have a problem with the mov video I have used
A mov 10bit sample for us to test on our computers would be helpful.
Hi Trevor.
NO......the problems I am having are with 8 bit videos. I use panasonic cameras which are capable of recording 10 bit, but only in .mov format, otherwise I would simply just stick to MP4 with which I have zero issues.
spudgun
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 11:41 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: Corel Videostudio 2020

Re: No project message when inserting to timeline??

Post by spudgun »

Hopefully you guys can access this link.....

https://www.dropbox.com/h?preview=01450004.MOV
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21458
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: No project message when inserting to timeline??

Post by Ken Berry »

For some reason nothing shows when I click on your link. I notice is says "preview". Did you actually upload the test clip into Dropbox?
Ken Berry
spudgun
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 11:41 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: Corel Videostudio 2020

Re: No project message when inserting to timeline??

Post by spudgun »

Ken Berry wrote:
Mon Apr 12, 2021 10:45 pm
For some reason nothing shows when I click on your link. I notice is says "preview". Did you actually upload the test clip into Dropbox?
Try this one, Ken

https://www.dropbox.com/s/52s4a7v1k2gmq ... 4.MOV?dl=0
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21458
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: No project message when inserting to timeline??

Post by Ken Berry »

Yes. No trouble downloading that one. And no trouble inserting it in both the VS library and timeline. But trying to render it 'Same As First Video' was greyed out, and since I didn't get a message asking if I wanted the project properties to match, that option was out too. So I went to Share > Custom, and set up a profile with 4096 x 2160 using the MP4 Visual profile and 24 fps and 100% quality. It took a couple of minutes to render, but I thought it played very well indeed on VLC Player at full screen on my 32 inch 4K monitor. I also tried it with the H.264 profile, but that one came out poorly and patchy.
Ken Berry
spudgun
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 11:41 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: Corel Videostudio 2020

Re: No project message when inserting to timeline??

Post by spudgun »

spudgun wrote:
Mon Apr 12, 2021 10:48 pm
Ken Berry wrote:
Mon Apr 12, 2021 10:45 pm
For some reason nothing shows when I click on your link. I notice is says "preview". Did you actually upload the test clip into Dropbox?
Try this one, Ken

https://www.dropbox.com/s/52s4a7v1k2gmq ... 4.MOV?dl=0
Thank you, Ken.
Most curious. I am going to have a look and try again, using your settings.
spudgun
Posts: 113
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 11:41 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: Corel Videostudio 2020

Re: No project message when inserting to timeline??

Post by spudgun »

Ken Berry wrote:
Tue Apr 13, 2021 12:50 am
Yes. No trouble downloading that one. And no trouble inserting it in both the VS library and timeline. But trying to render it 'Same As First Video' was greyed out, and since I didn't get a message asking if I wanted the project properties to match, that option was out too. So I went to Share > Custom, and set up a profile with 4096 x 2160 using the MP4 Visual profile and 24 fps and 100% quality. It took a couple of minutes to render, but I thought it played very well indeed on VLC Player at full screen on my 32 inch 4K monitor. I also tried it with the H.264 profile, but that one came out poorly and patchy.
Well.........................I don't know what to say..............except.................you've only bloody fixed it, Ken! Why in god's name did the so called 'engineer' not do this? Or suggest this? It looked absolutely FINE! Of course, it is still annoying that it doesn't prompt the software to change the properties to the inserted clip but never mind. NOW all I need to do is to work out whether Videostudio can handle 10 bit files !

Ken, I've said it before.......you're a genius mate. And many thanks to all you guys insisting that you could edit and render mov files!
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21458
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: No project message when inserting to timeline??

Post by Ken Berry »

Yes. It is rather strange since Austin is normally one of the more reliable technical people at Corel...

If you want, you could also send us a small 10 bit sample via Dropbox...
Ken Berry
Post Reply