VS 2021 Ultimate Mercalli

Moderator: Ken Berry

Snake11
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 4:11 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI B550 GAMING
processor: Ryzen 9 5900X
ram: 32GB
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce RTX 3070
Corel programs: Corel Video Studio 2021 Ultimate

VS 2021 Ultimate Mercalli

Post by Snake11 »

Hi,
I often use Mercalli Pro 5.0 to stabilize my shots and it works great. But I have problem with Mercalli in VS 2021. Look at the picture:
I have three clips where I'm using Mercalli and the problem is: when I add Mercalli to one clip, click "Analase" and accept it - everything is okay in this clip, but another clip needs "analyse" again. So, I click "analyse" for second clip and I have the same situation for clip one which I stabilized before.
Summirizing: it is impossible to stabilize every clips - I can stabilize only one (any clip, but only one...)
I hope you know what I mean. Can you help me?
Attachments
merc.jpg
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21457
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: VS 2021 Ultimate Mercalli

Post by Ken Berry »

You don't say which of the Mercalli products which came with VS2021, you used, but I would guess Mercalli Pro since it is the only one which asked me to Analyze the clips. I haven't experienced what happened to you. I threw together a quick project with two clips and applied Mercalli Pro to both when asked. But when I went back to the first clip, I wasn't asked to analyse again, and the whole project played through with Mercalli applied. Mind you, I did get a prompt to analyse again, but it was only over the transition which was inserted automatically between the clips. So make sure you are not just seeing a prompt to analyse transitions...

But in any case I have to say I don't like any of the Mercalli products which came with VS 2021, including the new Enhanzr. Luckily I have the Mercalli 5 stand-alone and like the results it gives. It has a completely different GUI and offers far more options, though it *is* more complicated to use. Even the old Mercalli 2 which came with earlier versions of VS did a better job IMHO.
Ken Berry
tletter
Posts: 924
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018, 2019
Location: Canada

Re: VS 2021 Ultimate Mercalli

Post by tletter »

Snake11 wrote:I often use Mercalli Pro 5.0 to stabilize my shots and it works great. But I have problem with Mercalli in VS 2021.
Often? The Mercalli 5.0 plug-in only became available a few days ago in VS with VS2021. Do you have a standalone copy of Mercalli Pro 5.0?
Snake11 wrote:Summirizing: it is impossible to stabilize every clips - I can stabilize only one (any clip, but only one...)
You don't say how you're applying Mercalli in VS. Are you applying Mercalli separately to each clip, or are you copying filters between clips? If the latter, then that's a problem.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12728
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: VS 2021 Ultimate Mercalli

Post by lata »

My first tests using MP4 video replicated Snake11 findings

I opened a project containing 10 or so Mp4 video clips 24 bits, 1920 x 1080, 50 fps

Applied Mercalli Pro to the 6th clip then applied to the 9th clip
returning to clip 6 required Mercalli again

No additional edits or transitions applied just the raw video files
Project properties match the video files properties

I'll run more tests
Regards Trevor
Snake11
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 4:11 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI B550 GAMING
processor: Ryzen 9 5900X
ram: 32GB
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce RTX 3070
Corel programs: Corel Video Studio 2021 Ultimate

Re: VS 2021 Ultimate Mercalli

Post by Snake11 »

tletter wrote:
Sat Feb 20, 2021 12:12 am

Often? The Mercalli 5.0 plug-in only became available a few days ago in VS with VS2021. Do you have a standalone copy of Mercalli Pro 5.0?
Sorry, I meant Mercalii from CVS Prox 10. Everything works fine in this program.

I recorded screen, how I use mercalli in VS2021, maybe it'll be helpfull: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MR4M76H ... e=youtu.be
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12728
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: VS 2021 Ultimate Mercalli

Post by lata »

A little confusing with the reference to X10 although the YT video does show 2021.
Could you update your profile to include your vs program details to avoid confusion.

Yes i am still able to replicate the problem very similar to your experiance
I the analyse the first clip to repair that, but running analyse on the other clip corupts the first again

I have also tested using MTS video using 25fps and 50 fps with the same problems

Then a further test worked ok, I could not explain that as subsequent tests again confirmed the problem
Regards Trevor
tletter
Posts: 924
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018, 2019
Location: Canada

Re: VS 2021 Ultimate Mercalli

Post by tletter »

Snake11 wrote: I recorded screen, how I use mercalli in VS2021, maybe it'll be helpfull: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MR4M76H ... e=youtu.be
This looks very much like a bug that should be reported to Corel so that it'll be fixed either in SP1 or via a hotfix. In the meantime, as you appear to have an older version of VS installed, then either Mercalli 2 or 4 should be available for you to try in VS2021 and see if they have the same issue.

This bug should have been easily found by QA, assuming that adequate QA was performed by Corel.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12728
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: VS 2021 Ultimate Mercalli

Post by lata »

As soon as I replicated the Mercalli issue I brought Corels attention to this post, I have had no response, although it is the weekend.

Snake11, it may be best if you also reported this problem

My understanding of the problem
It appears the proDADMercalli4.vft used in earlier versions is also being used with 2021 even though the name seems to have changed

I believe the problem is with the actual Video Studio program and not the actual Mercalli filter, so using any version will display the same problem

I am sure Corel will sort this hopefully before the official release date, at least I hope they will.
Regards Trevor
pepegota
Posts: 905
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:49 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS TUF Z390-Plus
processor: Intel i9 - 9900k
ram: 64 GB
Video Card: GTX 1660 6GB
sound_card: On board sound
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Ben Q, "21" LCD
Corel programs: VS 2018, VS 2019, VS 2020
Location: USA

Re: VS 2021 Ultimate Mercalli

Post by pepegota »

Ken said:
  • "But in any case I have to say I don't like any of the Mercalli products which came with VS 2021, including the new Enhanzr."
So one uses the stand version or goes to VS 2020 to use Mercalli. What a shame.
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12728
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: VS 2021 Ultimate Mercalli

Post by lata »

As i said, my understanding

There are a few changes to ProDad stuff
A new Picture Enhancer
And a Mercalli Real Time Video Stabilizer
The existing Mercalli Stabilizer is the one causing this problem, now called Mercalli Pro

I have checked the installation files and they are identical to the Mercalli4 files used with 2020.
In fact the above 3 prodad Stabilizers are available to use with 2019 and 2020, of course you will have to install 2021 to see those
Regards Trevor
tletter
Posts: 924
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018, 2019
Location: Canada

Re: VS 2021 Ultimate Mercalli

Post by tletter »

lata wrote:I have checked the installation files and they are identical to the Mercalli4 files used with 2020.
Strange as Corel claims that in VS2021, video stabilization is enhanced with V5 Mercalli. If the Mercalli plugin in VS2021 is not V5 then Corel's claim is misleading. proDAD states the Mercalli V5 is a technological update of V4 with the same features as V4. In fact, if you own Mercalli V4 SAL, you can upgrade to Mercalli V5 SAL free of charge.
lata wrote:I believe the problem is with the actual Video Studio program and not the actual Mercalli filter
Undoubtedly, as the parameters from a Mercalli analysis of a clip are stored in the VSP and it's Corel that creates and updates the VSP when filters are used/changed.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21457
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: VS 2021 Ultimate Mercalli

Post by Ken Berry »

I just repeated my experiment, this time with a HD .mts file 1920 x 1080 at 50 fps and a HD mp4 at 60 fps (both clips progressive). I applied Mercalli to both sequentially, and when I went back to clip 1 I was required to analyze it again, which I did. When I then went back to clip 2 I was NOT required to analyze it again. Then I went back to clip 1 and again was NOT required to analyze it again. I went back again to clip 2 and still was not required to analyze it. So yes, I got one repeat request to analyze, which probably should not be happening, but after that things appeared to settle down and no further analyses were required.

Anyway, I am wondering if Snake11 analyzed his first clip again, and then went back to the next clip, and was he asked to analyze that again. His first post is not completely clear on this point.
Ken Berry
snowstorm
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 5:33 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ACPI x64 Based PC
processor: AMD RYZEN 5 1600 Six Core
ram: 16GB
Video Card: RADEON RX560
sound_card: REALTEK HIGH DEFINITION AUDIO
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 Tetra
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung SyncMaster 2494HM
Corel programs: VS2018,VSX9,VSX8,VSX6
Location: Laval,Québec Canada

Re: VS 2021 Ultimate Mercalli

Post by snowstorm »

For me none of the Mercalli features are working.;Picture Enhanz;Mercalli Pro;Mercalli RT
Mercalli Pro tells me to press the Analyze Button.....
Unless I am totally blind I can't find this button.....

Any ideas...

snowstorm
Attachments
Screenshot 2021-02-20 144902.jpg
Pepi
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 10:45 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS TUF Z270 MARK 1
processor: Intel i7-7700K
ram: 32GB
Video Card: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
Corel programs: VideoStudio 2020; PaintShopPro 2019

Re: VS 2021 Ultimate Mercalli

Post by Pepi »

Could it be so, that the mark "Analyze Required" is up to luck (actual some issues when VS communicate with Mercalli)?

I tested this with five mp4 videos. When I was clicking between the clips in one time analyze was required and the button was green. Then after few clicks and it was not anymore required. Then later, it became required again. This could be the reason why you might have a different behavior with it.
--
Don't Panic
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12728
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: VS 2021 Ultimate Mercalli

Post by lata »

Ken,
I analysed clip 6
Then analysed clip 9
Clip 6 then needed analyse again, did that.
Both clips ok
Analyse clip 9 again even though not required
Clip 6 needs analysing again

I tested using mts and mp4 with various frame rates and could duplicate the problem

From the 2021 files I can only find Prodadmercalli4 file, unusual, maybe they are using that to access Mercalli5, if i remove Mercalli4 file then MercalliPro is removed from the 2021 program
So why have ProdadMercalli4 within the 2021 files
Regards Trevor
Post Reply