corel video studio freezes

Moderator: Ken Berry

Chaz175
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 10:50 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: gigabyte technology bus clock 100 megahertz
processor: amd ryzen
ram: 16gig
Video Card: NVIDIA GFORCE RTX 3060TI
sound_card: NVIDIA HIGH DEF
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1500gig
Monitor/Display Make & Model: benq EW3270ZL
Corel programs: corel studio ultimate 2020

corel video studio freezes

Post by Chaz175 »

Hello , I am new to this forum messaging board. Thank you. Ok I have installed corel studio 2020 and I have used corel studio for few years now. I am navigating well on this program.. but.. I have an issue with freezing computer when I introduce a few transition effects. One that I would like to use is the "FLIP etc" When I introduce the flip, flying cube, flying board ) into edit track, everything freezes! I cant move scrubber or execute any command. I have to wait for about 5 to 7 seconds before anything is accessible again, then I continue.

Again this only happens with a few effects . Most effects work fine. I contacted corel support and apparently I am speaking to someone from India, support head office? ( I had hard time understanding support person with the accent conflict which didn't make it easy to figure the problem out). Anyways the support took over my station and began trying different solutions. He didn't end up figuring anything out to why it was happening stating he doesn't have the problem on his end. He told me re-install program and try again. I knew this wouldn't solve the problem but I did it to appease him.

Anyway all and all I still have the freezing issue. I know my computer is maxed out with the support for the program to function properly. Ps.. The support guy said sometimes an effect takes more time to render, but again I shouldn't have this problem when I meet program requirements.( shouldn't freeze computer) I thought it was a glitch in program but support stated he doesn't have this problem at his end I am assuming my computer is lacking a certain something to fix this issue. I would really like to take full advantage of corel studio without hang ups using program.

Oh ya.. I have 2 other acquaintances had this same issue with computers installed with corel studio. Their solution was to avoid using those effects as they didnt really care to use them with the projects they were creating. But now that I have a new computer maxed out enough, I was hoping it would have fixed issue. I am creating projects that would be nice to use different transitions.

So.. does anyone have a possible solution? Sorry for the lengthy note.
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21406
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: corel video studio freezes

Post by Ken Berry »

Welcome to the forum!

First off, I have moved your post from the Forum Chat area to the Video Studio forum since that is what your question seems to be about. (A note here that you should call the program Video Studio -- I will change the title of your post accordingly. This is because Corel produces another "Studio" since it took over the Pinnacle company. And they have a totally different forum to this one.)

Secondly, your computer looks as though it should not be having any problems. It certainly seems powerful enough.

Thirdly, you haven't told us anything about the video you are editing: what is its format? Was it taken on a smart phone? With a video clip in the Video Studio timeline, right click it and copy all its Properties here, please, or take a screenshot of the Properties box and upload it here as an Attachment.

Fourthly, I am wondering if, under Preferences > Performance, you have checked the boxes for hardware acceleration. If so, do you still have your problem if you untick them? Or if they are not ticked, do you have the problem when you tick them?

If SmartRender is ticked, try unticking that too...
Ken Berry
tletter
Posts: 889
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018, 2019
Location: Canada

Re: corel video studio freezes

Post by tletter »

Chaz175 wrote:One that I would like to use is the "FLIP etc" When I introduce the flip, flying cube, flying board ) into edit track, everything freezes! I cant move scrubber or execute any command. I have to wait for about 5 to 7 seconds before anything is accessible again, then I continue.
In VS2018, the Flying Flip-3D transition causes freezing exactly as you describe. If Flying Flip-3D transition is replaced with the Crossfade transition then no freezing is encountered.

Task Manager shows that during this transition-induced freezing, VS stops responding but there is little CPU activity. The Flying Flip-3D transition requires much more processing than the simple Crossfade transition but the CPU is hardly being engaged.
Chaz175 wrote:He didn't end up figuring anything out to why it was happening stating he doesn't have the problem on his end.
This sounds like a disingenuous statement by the "support guy". Perhaps you should have asked to take control of his PC to verify his claim ;)
Chaz175 wrote:But now that I have a new computer maxed out enough, I was hoping it would have fixed issue.
There are also filters, that cause VS to freeze despite little CPU activity. It would appear that certain transitions/filters are poorly implemented in VS and don't effectively leverage available processing power, i.e. adding having a faster CPU/GPU doesn't help.
Chaz175 wrote:So.. does anyone have a possible solution?
I'm afraid that as your acquaintances decided, it's best to avoid using the problematic transitions/filters in VS.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
Chaz175
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 10:50 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: gigabyte technology bus clock 100 megahertz
processor: amd ryzen
ram: 16gig
Video Card: NVIDIA GFORCE RTX 3060TI
sound_card: NVIDIA HIGH DEF
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1500gig
Monitor/Display Make & Model: benq EW3270ZL
Corel programs: corel studio ultimate 2020

Re: corel video studio freezes

Post by Chaz175 »

Thank you everyone! I soo much appreciate your feed back.. I will try suggestions but most I have done. Also I was expecting to use everything corel video studio offered as it is a platform to be working and usable properly with computer specs met! Mind you the technician stated he doesn't have these problems..I question that at this point. So I figured it was my computer. Yes some transitions take a bit more effort to introduce but again...Ps.. I used the video clips that this platform came with and adding the transitions to them.( avoiding question about my video clips I introduced.) As stated in prior suggestion of avoiding these transitions well I am a bit stubborn and want to figure this out.. or not! No solution maybe... except a flaw in this program. sad..But again.. support stated he didn't have this issue I am having which leads me a solution is out there. So I keep searching for more solutions. Again thankyou very much for input. I plan on being part of this forum often to help if possible as well as looking for support.
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12614
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: corel video studio freezes

Post by lata »

Hi Chaz
First my pc is not the fastest and I do have to use Smart proxy when working with the 4K samples
Are you saying the freeze happens when trying to add a transition, or afterwards when playing the timeline across the transition
If you were to create a test project using the libraries samples, try a few with Images, then video, there are a couple of HD most are 4k
You can zip the project to attach to your post, we can try that on our computer to compare

But there are quite a few transitions that are somewhat slow to work with not only adding them but rendering, this is the same for all versions of Video Studio
Things have improved, I recall Album transitions being particularly demanding on the pc’s resources
Regards Trevor
Chaz175
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 10:50 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: gigabyte technology bus clock 100 megahertz
processor: amd ryzen
ram: 16gig
Video Card: NVIDIA GFORCE RTX 3060TI
sound_card: NVIDIA HIGH DEF
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1500gig
Monitor/Display Make & Model: benq EW3270ZL
Corel programs: corel studio ultimate 2020

Re: corel video studio freezes

Post by Chaz175 »

Hi Trevor, nice to hear from you. I did what you mentioned and added to 2 jpegs instead in library. I introduced the "FLIP" example .. transition again and it did same thing, Only freezes when it is in timeline not before. The scrubber freezes and any executions 5 to 7 seconds, then it releases and I was able to continue editing. Again, anytime I pass the effect in time line with scrubber before.. and after the transition would flow perfectly but when I let go of the trigger on mouse and try to grab it again it would freeze everything. (ps not the mouse giving me grief, I tried other mouse ) I hope I explained well enough. I have tech support on it as well but with no prevail at this time. They guaranteed a solution at end of this.. mmm we will see. But until then I need to try other welcome input from others. Once again thanks for helping Trevor.
Chaz175
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 10:50 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: gigabyte technology bus clock 100 megahertz
processor: amd ryzen
ram: 16gig
Video Card: NVIDIA GFORCE RTX 3060TI
sound_card: NVIDIA HIGH DEF
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1500gig
Monitor/Display Make & Model: benq EW3270ZL
Corel programs: corel studio ultimate 2020

Re: corel video studio freezes

Post by Chaz175 »

Hi Treavor, I tried to do a smart package of video edit but when I tried attaching to post, it didn't recognize attachment.
Chaz175
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 10:50 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: gigabyte technology bus clock 100 megahertz
processor: amd ryzen
ram: 16gig
Video Card: NVIDIA GFORCE RTX 3060TI
sound_card: NVIDIA HIGH DEF
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1500gig
Monitor/Display Make & Model: benq EW3270ZL
Corel programs: corel studio ultimate 2020

Re: corel video studio freezes

Post by Chaz175 »

Just to add.. I borrowed a buddies computer which is well stocked with power. I downloaded the program corel studio 2020 on it. I was hoping for a solution doing this but guess what.. The same issue happened on his computer.. freezing when introducing the "flip" and few other transitions. Exactly the same issue I am having on mine! Is my program corrupt? It is a download from online when I upgrade? Why 2 computers? I just don't understand when the tech. support states they don"t have this issue on their end. Kind of frustrating! Any thought???
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12614
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: corel video studio freezes

Post by lata »

If you downloaded the 2020 program to the other computer then you have the latest installation files.

You mentioned Smart Package, maybe a little confusion as those will be far to big for the forum attachment
If however you create a new project add sample clips from the library and apply transitions
Save the project as a VSP, then zip the vsp, you should be able to attach a zip file to your post.
Otherwise rename the vsp example "Chaztest.vsp" to "Chaztest.vsp.txt"
we can attach txt files to the post.

However I have tested using the sample images and the flip transition
I can drag the cursor / scrub the timelines over the transition, when I release the mouse then select that clip the mouse is active, there may be a short delay, less than one second, but the clip is selected.
I can play the timelines over the clip, very smoothe.

The flip transition is actually the Album transition which in the past was very slow to react, at that time there were several album options, Corel changed that to the one, but allowed us to customise.

As my tests cannot replicate the long delay I think your VSP will also play ok on my pc, unless the vsp itself is corrupt although I see no reason for that.
Regards Trevor
Chaz175
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 10:50 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: gigabyte technology bus clock 100 megahertz
processor: amd ryzen
ram: 16gig
Video Card: NVIDIA GFORCE RTX 3060TI
sound_card: NVIDIA HIGH DEF
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1500gig
Monitor/Display Make & Model: benq EW3270ZL
Corel programs: corel studio ultimate 2020

Re: corel video studio freezes

Post by Chaz175 »

ezyzip.zip
(1.68 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
I saved as zip file. hope you get it.. A solution is out there as you mention you are not experiencing the problem I am having. thnx for all your help. Ps.. My cpu hardly blinks.when using corel effects..and also when I bought studio 2020 I saved file and serial number in case of issues in future. So I have been reloading it when needed. if that means anything.
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12614
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: corel video studio freezes

Post by lata »

Hi Chaz
That project seems to work for me the delay being under 1 second

I noticed that the project properties are different to the video properties
Project Properties
MPEG-4 Files
24 bits, 1920 x 1080, 30.008 fps – this to me indicates a variable frame rate????
Attached image shows the details from messages, Project Properties and Video Properties
Also attached VSP using matched properties, just rename by removing the .txt
Although I do not think this will be any better for you, but worth a try
Attachments
click image for larger view
click image for larger view
Lata VSP file flip.VSP.txt
rename by removing .txt, opens using VS2020
(32 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
Regards Trevor
Chaz175
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 10:50 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: gigabyte technology bus clock 100 megahertz
processor: amd ryzen
ram: 16gig
Video Card: NVIDIA GFORCE RTX 3060TI
sound_card: NVIDIA HIGH DEF
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1500gig
Monitor/Display Make & Model: benq EW3270ZL
Corel programs: corel studio ultimate 2020

Re: corel video studio freezes

Post by Chaz175 »

Hello, I appreciate your response to "variable frame rates" ( video clips from library) but as this happens with jpegs as well that I used from library. I'm still having the delay with freezing after transition executed. I also updated (windows) just something else to try. ( they were up to date) ps.. I use firefox in search engine. google.. would that have an effect on issue? should I be using chrome? I know I am getting desperate for a solution. Now that you and (Tech support I was discussing with a while ago), do not have this issue states something definitely not right with BOTH computers that I am using. Again MY NEW computer specs are well above studio demands for running. I reinstalled corel studio 2020 twice now in past and everything should be default when installed and ready to use I assume.( acceleration on or off, proxy on or off) tried both..So introducing those particular transitions with even jpegs from library and having freezing happening right away in time line editing, pushes me to the fact my computer rendering is slow for these particular transitions. ps( my cpu/ ram is powerful enough obviously) I dont get it.. Im at a loss. again especially when you do not have this delay on your end..definitely a conflict in my applications..or computer(s). Anything else you can suggest? Again thank you for taking the time to try and resolve my persistence in this issue.
Chaz175
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 10:50 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: gigabyte technology bus clock 100 megahertz
processor: amd ryzen
ram: 16gig
Video Card: NVIDIA GFORCE RTX 3060TI
sound_card: NVIDIA HIGH DEF
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1500gig
Monitor/Display Make & Model: benq EW3270ZL
Corel programs: corel studio ultimate 2020

Re: corel video studio freezes

Post by Chaz175 »

Just wanted to add something else that I notice with the transition (flip.. one of few) does. I went to the transition library and right clicked on the (flip) and "applied effect to video track" and it freezes even doing that. It takes about 5 seconds before it is added to the video track and freezes again 5 seconds before I can move scrubber. One more thing. I can load an example.. 1 jpeg into video track and add the transition "flip" to the end of that jpeg and it still freezes, even if it is not transitioning into another jpeg... what a stumper I am having.
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12614
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: corel video studio freezes

Post by lata »

My images were 9 seconds duration and Flip at 2 seconds
Trying with 7 images
Including dropping flip at the end of an image

My first try did have a slight delay of 2 / 3 seconds, surprised at that I rebooted the program to test again, very little or no delay
Tested several times with no delay
I also switched to Storyboard view to add transitions there which did seem a little slower to refresh

As a thought can you turn off Media library Animation from F6 Preferences – general tab

When installing video studio have you installed to the default location on the C Drive
Regards Trevor
Chaz175
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2021 10:50 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: gigabyte technology bus clock 100 megahertz
processor: amd ryzen
ram: 16gig
Video Card: NVIDIA GFORCE RTX 3060TI
sound_card: NVIDIA HIGH DEF
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1500gig
Monitor/Display Make & Model: benq EW3270ZL
Corel programs: corel studio ultimate 2020

Re: corel video studio freezes

Post by Chaz175 »

A quick note. I used another computer (laptop) I had for general use at work. (older one i3 processor) I downloaded the Corel studio 2020 on it and launched it. I introduced the jpegs in library and added the (flip) as I have been using to demonstrate on other pc's. To my surprise ,the transition did not hang up. It was a smooth video with the transition. I passed through the transition several times with no hang up. So why is it working in my older less powerful computer laptop. The 2 other computers I loaded with studio were PC's which did not perform the transition properly. Is the resolution of monitors on pc's affecting performance? My laptop is a (1366x768 res.) recommended. just a thought. (just the couple transitions..(flip..flying board..flying flip..flying fold..flying box only issues ). They all work properly on older, slower laptop. Maybe this will narrow down the problem. (both New PC solid state i7 ) vs ( old laptop..i3 hard drive).
Post Reply